We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
202
15
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
15
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssusan and arthurromantic getawaymedicine bowwonderful hostscharming hotelmodern conveniencessitting roombooked this hoteltrained chefold westroad tripcordon bleu trainedin towndenveraccommodationsevansbridger
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped for one night from the Tetons en route to Estes Park.
The owners are English but perhaps better described as international (well travelled and successful in other ventures) - the hotel appears to be of real pride to them.
The whole place is characterful and takes you to a past era; the room was comfortable and very quiet.
Saving the best to last - the food was fantastic, absolutely top class.
We would have liked to have eaten our way through the menu; truly high end cooking but unfussy.
Both dinner and breakfast were the best of a 2 week trip; worth the stop alone.
Thanks!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thanks a lot, will share your comments with our staff as it is always nice to know the team's efforts are appreciated. Happy Trails! Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I loved our stay at the hotel. Historic items and displays, with modern comfort.Each room is unique, and we loved the decor in ours. The restaurant had a superb menu and prepared by the Cordon Bleu trained chef and Innkeeper Susan. We took Susans suggestions for a side trip home and were rewarded with a wonderful experience. If you are a geocacher-even this little town has some finds for you.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beverly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thanks for the kind remarks. Look forward to seeing you maybe next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We've lived in WY for many years but were delighted to discover this hotel. It was impeccably renovated, clean, nostalgic and a true delight in a town we barely knew existed! Additionally, the dining experience was fabulous. How could we have not known about this place before? Susan, with helpers Melissa and Shannon (and Arthur behind the scenes) was not only a wonderful hostess, but a superb chef. 12 rooms altogether, we've got only 11 to go! We really appreciated the history provided by our hosts regarding the famous and infamous persons for whom the rooms are named. We are going to tell our friends all about this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Try every one!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philschiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks for the great remarks. Will definitely share with the staff. We are blessed to have such a good team in our out-of-the-way place and it is nice to know that we can achieve what we strive for - guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We enjoyed everything about our stay here. The rooms were neat and cared for. The atmosphere was quite and calming. We enjoyed the walk around town and exploring the Inn. We are history buffs and appreciated the care that had been taken to keep the inn good condition, yet maintain its history. You should be aware that rooms do not have AC or TVs, but that was not problem for us. You really do not need AC at 7,000 ft with windows open at night and the balcony was a great place to sit and read the news or a book. There is a little bit of a haunted history to add to the fun of the inn.

We did have dinner at the restaurant there and the food was by far some of the best that we have ever had. The Chef(Susan) is amazing. Her bread pudding with white chocolate was off the charts.

We are planning on making this a regular destination for us to get away to for a night. It was only 3 hours from Denver and yet felt a world away.

Room Tip: The Eliza Swian Room or the Evan Suite
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedm0nds0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks for the accolade. It was fun to have you here and it goes without saying that you will be welcome, whenever you get the chance to return. Our whole team works very hard to maintain the property to a high standard, so I will pass on your kind thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel! Everything from the quiet, relaxing atmosphere, the comfortable and well done rooms, to the delicious dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Our hosts and their staff were very gracious and welcoming! I would definitely return for another stay, and will recommend the Elk Mountain Hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dennisschildhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks for the lovely comments the owners and staff will be happy to see you, you were both model guests! Have fun in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews