We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mountain View Historic Hotel(Centennial)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Corral Hotel(Centennial)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 172
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 216
US$ 172
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 155
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Rawlins)
US$ 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
199
15
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
15
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssusan and arthurromantic getawaymedicine bowwonderful hostscharming hotelmodern conveniencessitting roomtrained chefold westroad tripcordon bleu trainedin towndenveraccommodationsevansbridgermiles
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

While Wyoming has other historic hotels, the Elk Mountain Hotel is unique in so many ways: The hotel and each of its lovely rooms all have their own stories; the setting in the tiny town of Elk Mountain really is an experience for urban folk who may have never spent time in a real western town of 191; and the atmosphere, cuisine and wines offered by the hosts is on the par of the best hotels in the state. The area is beautiful, with walks, fishing and relaxing in the hotel to pass the time. A circuit of the Snowy Range Scenic Highway to Saratoga to Elk Mountain from Denver makes a perfect trip.

We have now stayed at the Elk Mountain Hotel four separate times, tried three different charming rooms, and enjoyed every dinner and breakfast. One of the owners is a Cordon Bleu trained chef and her menus are exciting and and memorable. The wine cellar probably rivals ones in the best restaurants in Jackson. The staff is warm and genuine. The building is authentic, but is comfortable and beautifully furnished.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TXK4133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Wow, thank you for the accolades. It is a team effort and we could not achieve this level without the valuable help of our staff, so I will be sure to let them know you appreciate their efforts.
Until next time then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

The Hotel is picture perfect and a classic ! You must meet the Chef and have dinner ; she is outstanding ! Wine and spirits, and great food, along with a taste of Wyoming - for us Atlanta folks we had a wonderful stay and hope to return soon. A great stay while touring the National Parks.

Room Tip: We stayed in Louie Armstrong's Room - a King ....what a wonderful life-enjoy!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 629clarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thanks a lot. Glad you had a good time in our beautiful state. You are welcome back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

If you like historic inns and hotels, the Historic Elk Mountain Hotel won't disappoint. We needed a place to stay between Denver and Red Lodge, Montana. We try to find interesting hotels if possible, and this one is that and much more. Susan and Arthur are wonderful hosts; they have lived all over the world and Susan is a Cordon Bleu-trained chef. Arthur helped my husband find a place to park our little 1954 travel trailer (or as the British call it, "caravan"). They both have a typically British dry sense of humor and take pride in their wonderful hotel. The hotel was built in 1905 and has changed hands several times, including a complete remodel not long ago. There used to be a dance hall on the property; top-notch big bands and jazz and country singers appeared there, including Louis Armstrong, Tex Williams, and Harry James. Their photographs hang on the wall in the sitting room. We stayed in the Jim Bridger room; like the rest of the hotel, the decor is Victorian. The bathroom was very nice; new tile and fixtures and nice thick towels. The restaurant (don't forget to make a reservation!) is wonderful -- I had the beef stroganoff and my husband had the venison steak. It's amazing that such a small place can serve such quality meals. All in all, an unexpectedly wonderful experience in such a tiny town.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rightintime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thanks for your kind remarks. Ruby was a colorful addition to our carpark. She will be welcome any time as will you!
Happy Trails!
Susan and Arthur - Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We stayed here 2 nights. It is in a very quiet town. The hotel is comfortable and the hosts Susan and Andrew are very welcoming, warm and funny. We stayed in the John Fremont room. It is the only one with an outside patio and access. The room is very comfortable clean. Coffeemaker in the room. No TV but we did have wifi. The hotel does have a common area with a TV. The restaurant is wonderful. Susan works with you if you have any food concerns. She is a trained chef and it is reflected in her food. She does well with celiac disease as well. Her food is fresh and delicious. We wanted to explore the area "off the beaten path" so to speak. She helped us with recommendations and we had a great day as a result. There is a large meadow on property with a gazebo. Great in the morning and evenings. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we loved the general John Fremont
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peacefuldb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Arthur and I thank you for your kind remarks. Glad you had a pleasant stay and hope the flight home was comfortable for you. Until next time! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

This amazing hotel was a big stop on the road west for many famous musical groups. You can enjoy that history in the comfort and charm of an impeccably restored property. And then enjoy wonderful cuisine in the historic dining room prepared to perfection by a Cordon Blu chef/owner. She and her husband are charming hosts. It would be a special stay anywhere and an amazing surprise just off I-80 in back of beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay, it was fun talking to you. It is always a pleasure to cook for people who enjoy their meals. The hotel is and always has been a special place so it deserves looking after and such great guests! Come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews