We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
201
15
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
15
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssusan and arthurromantic getawaymedicine bowwonderful hostscharming hotelmodern conveniencessitting roombooked this hoteltrained chefold westroad tripcordon bleu trainedin towndenveraccommodationsevansbridger
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We stayed here 2 nights. It is in a very quiet town. The hotel is comfortable and the hosts Susan and Andrew are very welcoming, warm and funny. We stayed in the John Fremont room. It is the only one with an outside patio and access. The room is very comfortable clean. Coffeemaker in the room. No TV but we did have wifi. The hotel does have a common area with a TV. The restaurant is wonderful. Susan works with you if you have any food concerns. She is a trained chef and it is reflected in her food. She does well with celiac disease as well. Her food is fresh and delicious. We wanted to explore the area "off the beaten path" so to speak. She helped us with recommendations and we had a great day as a result. There is a large meadow on property with a gazebo. Great in the morning and evenings. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we loved the general John Fremont
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peacefuldb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Arthur and I thank you for your kind remarks. Glad you had a pleasant stay and hope the flight home was comfortable for you. Until next time! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

This amazing hotel was a big stop on the road west for many famous musical groups. You can enjoy that history in the comfort and charm of an impeccably restored property. And then enjoy wonderful cuisine in the historic dining room prepared to perfection by a Cordon Blu chef/owner. She and her husband are charming hosts. It would be a special stay anywhere and an amazing surprise just off I-80 in back of beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay, it was fun talking to you. It is always a pleasure to cook for people who enjoy their meals. The hotel is and always has been a special place so it deserves looking after and such great guests! Come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Nicely remodeled hotel keeping to its vintage era. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Susan was warm and welcoming. Stayed for the 5 course Mothers Day meal and it was incredibly delicious. Definitely a master chef. I'm sure we will be finding a reason to return.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drgrayrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thanks for the kind remarks it was a pleasure having you stay. Keep an eye on our website to see what special events we are planning or sign up for our newsletter that goes out 3 to 4 times a year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

My wife and I spent a weekend getaway here to celebrate our anniversary. The accommodations were vintage of the era of the hotel's history but with modern conveniences. Susan and Arthur were very pleasing and thoughtful hosts. The food in the restaurant was outstanding, Susan took the time to chat with us about the various dishes. The service was outstanding; it was a very relaxing weekend. We definitely plan on staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for your kind remarks, it is always a pleasure to meet interesting people like yourselves. I will share you remarks with my very small staff who likes to know that efforts are appreciated.
Thanks again and hope to see you sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

It was great to arrive here after the hustle and bustle of Denver. Susan and Arthur were extremely welcoming, even though we had turned up early. This hotel wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea because there is literally nothing else around it apart from wide open space and a few houses. Our room was clean and comfortable. Susan offered us a cup of tea/coffee on arrival and a bottle of water each. We had a delicious 3-course meal cooked by Susan in the evening and a very good breakfast the next morning. The hotel had a lot of character and history. Susan and Arthur were brilliant hosts and I would definitely stay there again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siriol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thanks for the kind remarks. Glad you had a good time and I hope the rest of your stay in our state was just as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews