We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This renovated Victorian hotel is a gem! Easy to get to....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2017

If you like historic inns and hotels, the Historic Elk Mountain Hotel won't disappoint. We needed a place to stay between Denver and Red Lodge, Montana. We try to find interesting hotels if possible, and this one is that and much more. Susan and Arthur are wonderful hosts; they have lived all over the world and Susan is a Cordon Bleu-trained chef. Arthur helped my husband find a place to park our little 1954 travel trailer (or as the British call it, "caravan"). They both have a typically British dry sense of humor and take pride in their wonderful hotel. The hotel was built in 1905 and has changed hands several times, including a complete remodel not long ago. There used to be a dance hall on the property; top-notch big bands and jazz and country singers appeared there, including Louis Armstrong, Tex Williams, and Harry James. Their photographs hang on the wall in the sitting room. We stayed in the Jim Bridger room; like the rest of the hotel, the decor is Victorian. The bathroom was very nice; new tile and fixtures and nice thick towels. The restaurant (don't forget to make a reservation!) is wonderful -- I had the beef stroganoff and my husband had the venison steak. It's amazing that such a small place can serve such quality meals. All in all, an unexpectedly wonderful experience in such a tiny town.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rightintime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thanks for your kind remarks. Ruby was a colorful addition to our carpark. She will be welcome any time as will you!
Happy Trails!
Susan and Arthur - Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017

We stayed here 2 nights. It is in a very quiet town. The hotel is comfortable and the hosts Susan and Andrew are very welcoming, warm and funny. We stayed in the John Fremont room. It is the only one with an outside patio and access. The room is very comfortable clean. Coffeemaker in the room. No TV but we did have wifi. The hotel does have a common area with a TV. The restaurant is wonderful. Susan works with you if you have any food concerns. She is a trained chef and it is reflected in her food. She does well with celiac disease as well. Her food is fresh and delicious. We wanted to explore the area "off the beaten path" so to speak. She helped us with recommendations and we had a great day as a result. There is a large meadow on property with a gazebo. Great in the morning and evenings. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we loved the general John Fremont
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peacefuldb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Arthur and I thank you for your kind remarks. Glad you had a pleasant stay and hope the flight home was comfortable for you. Until next time! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

This amazing hotel was a big stop on the road west for many famous musical groups. You can enjoy that history in the comfort and charm of an impeccably restored property. And then enjoy wonderful cuisine in the historic dining room prepared to perfection by a Cordon Blu chef/owner. She and her husband are charming hosts. It would be a special stay anywhere and an amazing surprise just off I-80 in back of beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay, it was fun talking to you. It is always a pleasure to cook for people who enjoy their meals. The hotel is and always has been a special place so it deserves looking after and such great guests! Come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Nicely remodeled hotel keeping to its vintage era. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Susan was warm and welcoming. Stayed for the 5 course Mothers Day meal and it was incredibly delicious. Definitely a master chef. I'm sure we will be finding a reason to return.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drgrayrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thanks for the kind remarks it was a pleasure having you stay. Keep an eye on our website to see what special events we are planning or sign up for our newsletter that goes out 3 to 4 times a year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

My wife and I spent a weekend getaway here to celebrate our anniversary. The accommodations were vintage of the era of the hotel's history but with modern conveniences. Susan and Arthur were very pleasing and thoughtful hosts. The food in the restaurant was outstanding, Susan took the time to chat with us about the various dishes. The service was outstanding; it was a very relaxing weekend. We definitely plan on staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for your kind remarks, it is always a pleasure to meet interesting people like yourselves. I will share you remarks with my very small staff who likes to know that efforts are appreciated.
Thanks again and hope to see you sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel

Address: 102 East Main Street, Elk Mountain, WY 82324
Region: United States > Wyoming > Elk Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Price Range: ₹ 10,413 - ₹ 10,478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a small Victorian country inn (est 1905) in its own grounds next to the Medicine Bow River. Located midway between Laramie and Rawlins and just 3 miles south of the I-80. We are an adult facility with no accommodation for children or pets. The hotel has a dining room offering full service breakfasts and gourmet style dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing