We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Head Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$ 120
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Bear Motel(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Cody(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cody Legacy Inn(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$ 141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
73
29
10
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
29
10
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyellowstone national parkeast entrancenice cabinstep back in timepleasant staywould definitely stay here againvisiting yellowstonedebbierendezvousmileshorsestrailridebearswildlifegrizzlyporch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

The lodge was supposed to have dinner available nightly in their restaurant-style dining room. However, all 3 nights of our stay, there was no dinner. It was rotten to come back from a long day in the park with 3 tired, hungry kids, to be told, sorry, no dinner. We had to drive all the way to Cody to get food, because the meal we had eaten the night before at a neighboring lodge was terrible and expensive, so we didn't want to make that mistake again. We ate breakfast at the lodge one morning, and it was mediocre at best. The staff seemed nice enough. The cabin was perfect for what we needed- just beds and a bathroom. You have to drive a lot in Yellowstone, so staying 11miles outside of the park adds a little more time to an already lengthy trip. We will definitely plan ahead to stay inside the park if we return.

Room Tip: Cabin was hot although it was cool outside
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BecfromIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Sorry for the inconvenience of our restaurant being closed - we are trying to get it back up and going ASAP. We do have other options of restaurants or grocery/convenient store shopping in the area, in Cody, and in Yellowstone, and people have been informed of the situation. Your cabin had a microwave and refrigerator, plus we have charcoal grills and picnic tables available, which you used. Other cabins have kitchenettes as well. Many of our guests are finding the fun of cooking outdoors and a little western adventure - cook a hotdog, roast a marshmallow, have a picnic, have a family bonding time, etc. We also offer ice for coolers if guests need that. No one needs to go hungry, have fun with it.
Next time if you want to stay in the Park, be sure to book more in advance instead of waiting until a couple weeks before you travel. Yellowstone is a large park, so plan for the miles.
Glad to hear you had a perfect cabin with beds and a bathroom. Other eating options were available right here even though the restaurant was closed.
Hope your family had a lovely trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

The cabin was clean and cozy and was a welcome stop after a cold rainy day in the park. Only disappointment was that the restaurant on site was not open. Limited eating options close by. Nearest city, Cody, 40 miles.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank bluecrab123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for coming to stay with us. Sorry the restaurant was closed, hope to get it back up and going soon. Continue to enjoy your trip. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Total quintessential cabin, nicely appointed, tucked off the road ten miles from the east entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Staff was super and we enjoyed dinner and breakfast for two days. So nice to return back to the lodge after a long day in Yellowstone to a nice meal and glass of wine and an added bonus...bison roaming and eating in the front yard! Website states that there's is no tv or wifi but we enjoyed the quiet and read books so that was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Enjoyed meeting you. Glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Adorable cabins! East Entrance before entering Yellowstone. Clean. Cozy. Like a trip back in time. DELICIOUS homemade food. Very friendly staff. Perfect for couples! Definitely will go back on our next vacation!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank ChristinesMOM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Small but romantic,cozy,rustic,charming, and most importantly...spotless! A step back in time. Dinning and service were excellent. Just a delight and a welcome surprise. Loved the Hostess! All the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinesMOM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely comments. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews