We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Head Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Cody
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
73
29
10
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
29
10
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyellowstone national parkeast entrancenice cabinstep back in timepleasant staywould definitely stay here againvisiting yellowstonedebbierendezvousmileshorsestrailridebearswildlifegrizzlyporch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

What an oasis of calm....close to the Eastern gateway to Yellowstone National Park. Forget ''social media'' of any form and step back in time.

The cabins, nestled into the hillside, are comfortable and clean and cater for single people, couples and families of various sizes. Their décor is delightfully 'Western' and cosy and if you require anything just ask the staff who are friendly and accommodating. There is a communal lounge if you wish to trade stories with other travellers and an excellent dinning room - well worth a visit. The food is delicious and well prepared - with lots of it.

Wild life abounds in this area. Naturally so as it's on the doorstep of the Yellowstone National Park. I had a tick list and pretty much got it covered except for a Wolverine.

One day I will return to Elephant Head Lodge but until I do I have wonderful memories and an abundance of photographs.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dragonflydancer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Quiet comfy cabins right outside of Yellowstone. No tv or cell phone service is available which is exactly what we needed. We really enjoyed just sitting on our deck with a glass of wine and soaking up the beautiful scenery, peace and quiet and fresh air!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The only redeeming factor of this place was the two wild male bison that spent the night about 75 feet from our cabin! We saw them nearly too close in the morning! The cabin was tiny, extremely rustic, very poorly kept/constructed, and the bathroom was dirty. The shower curtain bar fell down, the hot water ran out after 1 shower, the bed was smaller than the queen advertised plus old and uncomfortable, and the only heat was a portable electric unit. Food from their kitchen was barely edible. All this for about triple what the price should have been...total rip!!!

Room Tip: Stay away!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cpcjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Close to east entrance of Yellowstone. The Cabin was small but very comfortable. No cell service, no TV, no Internet (TV and internet is available in the lounge). A perfect opportunity for cribbage on the front porch with a magnificent view. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and courteous. Dinner and breakfast in the dining room was excellent and the sack lunch was very good. I highly recommend this place. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KC_Friar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We loved our stay at Elephant Head Lodge. Location is very convenient to Cody, Wy and to Yellowstone. The owner and her staff were wonderful. It is beautiful, quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful every morning. The owner even visited our cabin to warn us that a grizzly bear was in the area, so beware. We did not get to see the grizzly however! Did see a bison at breakfast one morning and that was a treat! Would definitely stay there again. While there is no cell service there, she has phone, computer and tv available if needed. We enjoyed watching Univ of Texas football game with others staying at the Lodge and enjoyed happy hour with them. Great personal attention while staying at the Lodge.

Room Tip: Wonderful cabins with beautiful views.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 123melanieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews