We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
74
31
10
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
31
10
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast entrance of yellowstonenice cabinfront porchpleasant staywould definitely stay here againvisiting yellowstonedebbiemileshorsesparktrailbearsrideadorablewilderness
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Lobo and the cottage was clean and quant. There was not much to choose from because of location and minimal restaurants so we chose this lodge because they served dinner and breakfast. Upon arrival they were not serving dinner and the breakfast was continental but you still had to pay $8. There was no wifi, phone service, or electronics in the room (phone, tv, or microwave.). It would have been nice to know these things prior to arrival especially either the price of the room being fairly steep. With that being said, the staff was very friendly and the room was very clean and functional.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Sorry if we were not serving dinner when you got here - but I believe in taking care of my employees and they need time off too. The continental breakfast was a choice of a $6 or $8 choice depending on the food offering. We wanted to offer something for our guests, but allow employees time off. Otherwise we generally offer cold and hot breakfast items off the menu. Technology options are advertised as to our offerings, unless you are shopping off the road last minute and not checking/asking upon arrival when you are informed of our offerings. We supply our guests that true get-away from technology for that dream vacation. We take pride in caring for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Located 11 miles fro the east entrance to Yellowstone .Easy ride back to hotel after a day exploring the park. Rooms are clean but rustic. Our queen size bed was in the corner. The toilet an sink were close together so there was adaptions to be made for comfort. in both area, But the fresh air from the open windows and the sound of the animals made it worthwhile. Know there is no WIFI, phone access etc. Phone line, computer and TV are available in the office and sittting area. The food was not a selling point.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank newjersey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Yes, we are that short trip from Yellowstone - very enjoyable especially if looking for beautiful country and wildlife viewing potential. We are a historic lodge, so the cabins run on the small side, but we do have larger cabins for those who need more space. Fresh air and animals are a plus here. Technology is available in moderation. We are known for our good food, so not sure what the issues were there, hope you try us again. Thanks for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a mini vacation to Yellowstone. The cabins were nice and fairly comfortable however the description said the cabin would sleep 7 but it should have said 4 adults and 3 children as two of the beds were to short for anyone over 6 foot. The restaurant left lots to be desired. Food was cold and not consistent we had breakfast and the half the eggs came out undercooked and the other half over cooked on the same plate. Same with the bacon. Would I stay here again yes would I eat here again no.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

All of our cabins are unique and have their own qualities. The cabins are historic and run on the small side, as is stated in our advertising and website. We do have cabins to accommodate taller people and different bed arrangements. Bed arrangements are described in advertising, and can be discussed with a phone call. #12 Homesteader is for a family with small children - if you are 6 foot tall or more, I would not recommend bunk beds or our lofts. Sorry if there were food issues, but those can be corrected at the time. Hope you give us a second chance, as we are known for our good food. Thanks for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We decided to to go to Yellowstone National Park on a family trip. Instead of staying inside the park we elected to stay near the eastern gate at the Elephant Head Lodge. We are really glad we did.

The lodge is scenic, rustic, homey and has everything you need. We stayed in the "Homesteader" room which was a log cabin design with master bedroom, kitchen, front sitting room, and a nice deck to sit and have coffee in the morning.

The lodge is located about 11 miles from Yellowstone's eastern gate and about 40 miles from Cody. We were able to easily get to both spots. The owner "Debbie" was a true delight and helped make the stay enjoyable by serving some nice drinks in the lounge and by helping set up a Horseback riding tour for us.

The room itself was very tidy, clean and comfortable, including stove, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher and coffee maker. While not overly large, the master bedroom had both main bed and bunk beds as well as pull out beds in the front room.

The bathroom had a single vanity and stall shower, which due to the Shoji style doors was decent sized and easily accessible. There were numerous cooking utensils as well as pots and pans, and we cooked twice while there. The Homesteader could use a little TLC, as the ceiling fans were a bit noisy, but this is picking nits given the overall beauty of the lodge and the amenities it offers. The Homesteader was the perfect size for the three of us.

One thing to keep in mind is there is no cellular phone service in this area of Yellowstone and the lodge does not have WiFi. However, Debbie has a satellite phone for the guests to use and she also has a computer in the lounge as well. I was able to send some emails and make the necessary calls while there. Candidly, being able to get away from the electronic leash helped make the vacation enjoyable.

The lodge serves breakfast and dinner, as well as packing a sack lunch if you like. The ribeye steak I had for dinner was excellent, as was the young lad's burger and wife's salad. We had breakfast the next day which was not my favorite but in fairness I am a very picky eater. The sack lunch we got for the young lad was excellent. Prices for all items, including food and drink, were more than fair.

This is a truly nice place to stay if you are looking to visit Yellowstone or the surrounding area. The atmosphere is very country and if you are looking for a city hotel experience then this is not for you. However, if you want a more rustic setting, in one of the most beautiful pieces of country on earth, then this is where to go. We are sure glad we did.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Thank you for bringing out the joy, peace and quiet of our lodge. Glad we helped you have an enjoyable stay. Hope our paths cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

The next best thing to camping in Yellowstone. Nothing fancy but clean, very peaceful, staff nice and accommodating, and only 11 miles outside of the East Entrance. There is a restaurant which was okay but we did a lot of our own meals, which I preferred. We were in the Rendevous cabin - could use a full size fridge/freezer and better pots/pans but overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews