We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
74
31
10
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
31
10
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast entrance of yellowstonenice cabinfront porchpleasant staywould definitely stay here againvisiting yellowstonedebbiemileshorsesparktrailbearsrideadorablewilderness
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016

The next best thing to camping in Yellowstone. Nothing fancy but clean, very peaceful, staff nice and accommodating, and only 11 miles outside of the East Entrance. There is a restaurant which was okay but we did a lot of our own meals, which I preferred. We were in the Rendevous cabin - could use a full size fridge/freezer and better pots/pans but overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This place is located close to Yellowstone National Park and Cody, Wyoming.
Kevin, who is 1/2 Shoshone indian, and his wife run a very clean and charming Lodge and cabins. My wife and I stayed there in 2008 with our 3 small children and her parents. Our cabin had a loft that the 3 children slept in and there were 2 other beds.
The restaurant staff brought us breakfast one morning to our cabins enclosed porch.
We watched deer and there was a Moose that hung around the Gazebo. In the evenings we would eat wonderful food at the dining room then roast marshmallows for smores at the roaring firepit in the front of the lodge. Kevin makes Shoshone artwork for display and they are wonderful people. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

My wife and I have an item on our bucket list to visit as many National parks and monuments as we can and are still able to travel. We were visiting yellowstone National Park and found that we needed a place to spend the night after seeing the park all day. My wife found Elephant head lodge in the AAA book and called them and rented a cabin for the night.
This place is tucked away off the hiway a short distance so road noise is minimal.
We had cabin no. 5 . Everything we needed and more.
Deb met us on our arrival and was warm and welcomming. Made us feel comfortable right away.
The cabins have a private bath no wifi no tv no phone but you can still get these from the lodge community room which is open until 10 pm.
A wonderful restraunt right there a short walk from your cabin.
We had two mule deer grazing behind our cabin in the morning when we went to the restraunt for breakfast. Food there is totally awesome.
We would staythere again and would like to spend a few days there the next time.

Room Tip: We would highlyrecommend this getaway spot to everyone.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Such a pleasure to meet you guys. Glad you found our unique, hidden place away from the crowds. Thank you for your kind words. Hope our paths across again. It was an honor to help complete your bucket list.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We made a reservation request for this hotel for a one night stay in August. As we didn't get a confirmation, we cancelled the next day in the morning. We received a confirmation the same day we cancelled but in the evening. The hotel had charged the full amount of the deposit. After complaining by email, Debbie refunded part of the deposit but retained 50 dollars. We argued once more by email that we had cancelled the reservation before the booking was confirmed and requested a full refund of the deposit. We have been ignored and the hotel has retained 50 dollars of our money. We have had no replies from Debbie to our complaining emails except for the one telling us they were partly refunding the deposit they had taken. They have ignored all subsequent communication.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

My husband and I originally booked lodging at the property next door, but due to a family emergency that lodge was partially closed, so we chose to move to the Elephant Head Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Elephant Head Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. We were warmly welcomed by the owner who showed us our cabin prior to booking our stay. The log cabin was built in 1913, but was very clean, fresh, and cozy, although small.

The night we arrived we enjoyed an outstanding dinner in the restaurant. Interestingly, we ran into a woman a few nights after we left the lodge, who lives near the lodge, and said the Elephant Head Lodge Restaurant is her very favorite place to go out to dinner. No surprise! My husband and I will definitely be back to Yellowstone and will stay at the Elephant Head Lodge again.

The only disadvantage to this property is that they don't have horses available. The owner was very gracious to book a dinner ride for us at a neighboring ranch ,so we were able to enjoy the whole Wyoming experience! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

It is always a pleasure to share our hidden treasure of a location here at the Elephant Head Lodge. It was nice to meet you and hope our paths cross again some time. We like to help our guests have a wonderful stay while enjoying our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews