We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms - Needs updated”
Review of Hitching Post Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hitching Post Inn
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Cheyenne
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Huge rooms - Needs updated”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here for only one night as a place to rest between Denver and Mt Rushmore. The staff was friendly. Our room was huge. The decor was very outdated. It was a fairly clean. We didn't get to see much of the hotel. It was a good place to sleep for the night. Reasonable rate. Average hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    9
    16
    36
See reviews for
29
16
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fish Haven, Idaho, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a very old motel that has been vacant for many years. Most of the complex has been torn down and only two of what was several including a bar and restaurant. Some one has reopened it and at this point all that has been done is paint and carpet in the rooms. Nothing has been done on the outside. they only have a canvas banner. We arrived after dark and it was only by chance that we found it. It is also close to the railroad and there is nothing else close to it. It is cheap and at the time we stayed there it had not been reviewed and we took a gamble. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheyenne hotels

Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have stayed at this propery occasionally for over 40 years but this is the first time since the fire that took out the main building.
The owners obviously do not care about maintainence. There are missing light bulbs from lamps, the toilet flapper does not seat and will keep running unless you manually fix it.
I appears that only one building is being used.
It is sad that what was once 'The' place to stay in Cheyenne has headed downhill this bad.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seminoebrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My family stayed at the Hitching Post Inn several years ago and had high reviews. We stayed there recently, and were not impressed. We were glad to find a room in Cheyenne that accepts pets. The room rate was good. With the front building burned down and poor illumination or signage in the parking “area” we weren’t sure if we had even found the right place. Though clean in appearance, the room had a faint but un-ignorable animal urine smell to it. The shower was remodeled to a European style with no basin or tub. However, the floor masonry did not slope into the drain allowing the water to pool below the sink. Also, I was hoping to bathe my children that night and couldn’t because there was no bathtub. Only one of the lights above the sink illuminated.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We set our GPS for Best Western, but could not find it. According to the receptionist, the cocktail lounge out front burned down, and Best Western Franchise left this facility, and this was the old Best Western. Pros: the appointments were terrific quality--front and back door, extra sink, fridge and MW, high quality furniture, Corian countertops, Sunbeam drip coffeemaker (bring extra coffee). Clean. Because the lounge is gone, its set back from the road so its real quiet.
Cons: Towels and sheets getting a little threadbare. So is the furniture. Breakfast just sweet rolls, OJ(?) and coffee (which I couldn't find).
This place should be a good deal for the next few years

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the back door onto the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capndrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeza P, Manager at Hitching Post Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review about our hotel on tripadivsor!!! We appreciate your feedback. It is valued guests like you help us provide excellent customer service and help us do better when next time you stay with us.
Please let us know if we can do anything better to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable!!!! Your patronage is greatly appreciated!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheyenne hotels
0.4 km away
My Place Hotel-Cheyenne, WY
2.4 km away
Radisson Hotel Cheyenne
Radisson Hotel Cheyenne
#17 of 33 in Cheyenne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 33 in Cheyenne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Cheyenne Southwest/Downtown Area
1.1 km away
Days Inn Cheyenne
Days Inn Cheyenne
#3 of 33 in Cheyenne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cheyenne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitching Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitching Post Inn

Property: Hitching Post Inn
Address: 1600 W Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001-3313
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Cheyenne
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,103 - ₹ 3,879
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hitching Post Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located 2 miles off I-25 on exit 9 (Lincolnway) and is about 2.5 miles from Cheyenne Downtown which offers a wide variety of restaurants and tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hitching Post Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing