We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not that great but nice view”
Review of Mexicali Rose

Mexicali Rose
Ranked #77 of 197 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 2 October 2017

we were in there friday the 29th for supper first off the guy seemed like he couldnt understand english very well (tall skinny man with blonde hair) we ordered chicken chimichanga and shrimp fajitas, the shrimp came out with still the tails on them husband said something to him about it and he just looked at us and said oh the cook must not know so he had to pick each one off to be able to put it on his tortilla $18.00 for this and not served with any beans or rice my chicken chimichanga $13.00 it was very different the chicken was chunked I never said anything just thought that is how they fix it here we got our bill and there was a $1.49 charge I asked what it was for he said for your chicken I was like what so your chimichangas dont come with chicken you have to pay extra he said no you got a different kind I said I never ordered a different kind I just said chicken chimichanga he says oh I was like really so you just assume and then charge people for it SURPRISE, we left half of the food it wasnt that great I would not recommend it and will never return

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ladybug698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your visit, Ladybug698. I am very sorry to hear that our food did not meet your expectations. Please email us with a phone number or email address so our Restaurant Manager can discuss your issues personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Decent prices and the outdoor tables give you a view of the river and the damn. We had the chicken fajitas for two. Food was good and there was plenty. Margaritas were generously sized and tasted good.

Thank Gigi72011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your positive comments, Gigi72011. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us! I hope your next visit is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Oh my WORD! The BEST margarita, Presidente, that I've had in YEARS!

The lunch steak faijata bowl was VERY good! Lots of meat that was NOT dried out, awesome avocado slices, and just LOVELY!

Yes, go here!

Thank KosiKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2017

Thanks for your review, KosiKo. So happy to hear you love the margarita and steak fajita bowl. Hopefully we can serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Went here for my birthday and had a great meal, had the mexican fiesta plate and all 3 items were great. Pitcher of margaritas, and free deep fried ice cream for my b-day. Wife and friends meals were also great. Thanks for a great birthday.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank djbjconstruction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2017

We are so happy to hear that we could add to you having a great birthday, djbjconstruction! We are fans of the fiesta plate as well! Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you and your party again! Thank you for the review. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Parking is a little tight, might need to walk.

Good steak fajita! The taco salad was heavy on the meat.

Staff members were all friendly. Nice outside seating. Nothing extraordinary about the place.
RRR

Thank P5529KRbobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2017

Thanks for leaving us a review, Bob. We appreciate all your feedback - good and bad - because we will use the information to continue to improve our guests' experiences! Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mexicali Rose also viewed

 

Been to Mexicali Rose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing