We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! read this review please!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stand Rock Campground
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My family has a seasonal camper here, We purchased last April(2011). Before we got a seasonal we use to come up atleast twice every summer! We know the staff pretty well now. They are very friendly, keep the place up very nice, and make you feel comfortable. They are always trying to make the campsite better by either taking out trees that are rotted, planting flowers around the store, cleaning the pool, keeping the paved roads that go around the campsite nice and safe, mowing the lawn, and much more, they love to make the campground the best it can be! There are so many things to do. There is even more than the site lists.(http://www.standrock.com/) There is two ponds, Where you can go fishing in, or just take a relaxing walk around, and find little shells washed up in the sand, or even just dip your toes in the cool water. You can go on a long hike, where if you go far enough there is beautiful sandstone formations, and even a slow waterfall, and a stream. You can go mini golfing, which is always fun! Basket ball court, volley ball court, horse shoe throwing, bean bag tossing, new, and updating playground. The pool is great, they even re-paint it every year to keep it looking its best and clean. There are many places to bike/scooter/etc. the trails in the back of the campground, and there are all the paved roads. And they just improved their bathrooms about 4 years ago now i think and they are always clean, and so are the showers! The campground store has a resturant, bar, and a store with everything you could need and even if they dont have the thing you need, you can head over to walmart (6 miles away down 94) or walgreens (3.2 miles away by downtown dells). The resturant has GREAT food, and there is even a soft serve ice cream maker in the store where you can get a tasty sundae or a cone, with a choice of many toppings. The resturant/bar even has a friday fishfry. You can always bring your ipod, iphone, laptop, etc. up to the resturant and sit at a table outside in the sun or inside at a booth, and check facebook, twitter, or check the weather. There is also a gameroom inside the resturant/bar, with a pool table and other games. The sites for camping are huge! and grassy and have shade from trees. I have read some of the reviews on this site, and yes there are misquitos if you get the wrong lot, This campground is quiet, and peaceful, but still has many activities. Its a very nice campground in my opinion! The only bad things I have to say is, yes sometimes there is bugs not many though, The bathrooms close to the playground and on the hill, are not very clean and are neglected, they are not updated and are old, I would take the extra wallk to the much nicer bathrooms near the store and in between lots 28, and 25. I hope ive helped (:

Room Tip: Stay away from lots around the heavily wooded areas (like those around the treelines, or in the comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

The campground was fairly open, but had large trees for shade.

The laundry was right next to the pool, which was very handy. The shower/washroom building was the nicest that I've ever seen.

Only a quick 10-minute ride into downtown Wis Dells.

Would definitely stay again (maybe even this summer already!).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank spanielrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here with our toddler, and my sister-in-laws familiy (4 kids), and grandparents. Their RV sites was sufficient, but close to the other sites. We were at a tent site, which I was nervous about after a previous bad experience in the Dells, but I was pleasantly surprised. The gates were in fact closed at 10 pm, so you don't get car lights flashing in the tent all night long, and people actually respected quiet hours (THANK YOU!). The pool looked very nice, but it was a cool June day when we were here. Best part was the clean bathrooms. They seemed to be newly renovated, and were kept clean with daily cleanings (ie, there's a marked hour every day where each bath house is closed for cleaning, and we saw them cleaning it!).

Room Tip: The closer to the river the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I'll start out with the good. This is probably one of the cleanest campgrounds I have ever stayed at. The sites were huge and wooded, grassy and flat. The bathrooms were the cleanest and nicest also that I have ever seen at a campground. The pool is very nice. For those issues alone I would rate this EXCELLENT. Our site was #30 and right across so was great with 5 kids. The owners were fine with us having 2 large tents on our site and we also had a large screen tent and there was still a lot of room with all of that. We took the kids fishing at the pond and actually caught some nice fish. (it is catch and release).

The negative for us is that it was just too quite. There were no planned activities at all for the kids. If it were not for the pool, they would have been bored out of their minds. I suppose being so close to the dells the owners feel most people don't hang around during the day but on this weekend, the people that were there seemed to stay there. We went out for dinner on Satuday night and came back early and thought we would go to the bar and have a drink but when we got back at 8:45 pm it was closed. We were out of ice and the store was closed too. The website says they stay open until 10:00. I'm not sure what the deal was with that but it was very disappointing since the nice restaurant and bar was one of the reason's we chose this particular campground. Both Friday and Saturday night we were all so bored we were in bed by 10:00 p.m. Road noise and train noise was an issue too, but mainly so noticeable because the place was so deadly quite.

If you are looking for a nice, UBER QUITE, relaxing, un-eventful camping experience, this is the place for you. I'm not sure if you are bringing kids and plan on staying at the campground for the majority of the stay, that this is a good choice as you and your kids may find themselves pretty bored after a while.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This campground has it all. Great sites with a lot of trees, tons of things to do...mini golf, pool, fishing pond, etc. It was clean, especially the sites, bathrooms and showers. We really enjoyed our stay at this quiet, peaceful, fun campground. Do not hesitate to stay here, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family7Lakeville_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.8 km away
Arrowhead RV Resort
Arrowhead RV Resort
#2 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
195 reviews
1.9 km away
Edge-O-Dells Resort
Edge-O-Dells Resort
#7 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
74 reviews
9.8 km away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#13 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
3,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Chula Vista Resort
Chula Vista Resort
#49 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
2,287 reviews
9.2 km away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#26 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
328 reviews
4.1 km away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stand Rock Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stand Rock Campground

Address: N570 County Rd N, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9122
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: ₹ 2,203 - ₹ 16,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Stand Rock Campground Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing