We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremely Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We are generally a Kalahari or Wilderness family. However, we wanted something lower key on our most recent visit to the Dells. After reading the terrific reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided on the Black Hawk. We were very pleasantly surprised with how clean and updated our rooms were and the price is very affordable. The location is easily within walking distance to the downtown area of the Dells. Very important to our teens. The only critique I could possibly make is that there are no coffee machines in the rooms. However, there is coffee available in the office. The pool is not a "destination" spot. But, who goes to the Dells to hang out at the motel pool? We will most certainly return to the Black Hawk. Thank you for the warm welcome and the clean, comfortable stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaddabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us! It's great to hear that we won out over the Kalahari and Wilderness...both great places to stay, but like you said...we are more low key and we're happy that we can provide a different lodging option for guests visiting the Wisconsin Dells area. We were close to adding in room coffee to all of our guest rooms for 2012 as it's a requested amenitity on our comment cards. We choose agaisnt this after I was talking with our head housekeeper and she stated the cost, cleanup but most of all...we would lose some of that personal interaction with our many repeat guests and new ones as well. I always enjoy taking a few minutes to talk w/ a guest named George about how the Packers are going to do this season, Jerry tells me what's happening in Sheboygan, Mary always tells me she's the coffee runner for her roommates. We may add in room coffee at some point, but until then we'll have it in the office and if a guest needs a eye opener at 11:30 pm, we're more than happy to make a fresh pot. We also offer FREE Water Park passes to Chula Vista for all registered guests and our outdoor pool has one of the last remaining diving boards in the area. Thanks again and have a great summer and we hope to see you again soon! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    247
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
855
398
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

As others have said, their beds really ARE extremely comfortable. You really get a lot for the price, too. Very conveniently situated a short walk from the downtown area, just far enough away from the crowds.
And I must say, this was the quietest hotel that I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaGapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! My wife and our two young boys sleep on the same bed as in all our rooms...and we must say that the Sealy CSS (Comfort Sleep System) Encore Plush is one comfortable bed. Our property to spread out over four sections and the majority or our rooms are off the highway and in a residential neighborhood. Thanks again for choosing Black Hawk Motel and we hope to see you in the near future and let us know of your room preference and we'll do our best to accommodate you! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Fulton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Recently my husband and I visited the Dells for the first time. We came across an ad in one of the many tourist books we received while planning our trip. We chose the Black Hawk Motel and were very pleased with our choice. The property was very well kept and our rooms were extremely clean. (This is so very important to us.) We needed 2 rooms that adjoined and our request was taken care of immediately and we were very pleased with the fridge and microwave that were in our rooms. The shower was great. The only people we came in contact with was Tina and Brad (owners or managers) and they bent over backwards to make our stay there everything we would want. The new mattresses are exceptional. The most comfortable we ever slept on. NO BACK ACHE!
We will definately stay at this hotel the next time we visit the Dells.

Room Tip: There wasn't a room over us so it was very quiet and any of the rooms are just steps from the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeorgette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for your great review and for your recent patronage! We're glad that we were able to provide you with the adjoining rooms to help you get a restful night sleep. We do have 30 different room types, some of which offer various adjoining options. I was very nice visiting with you during your stay and talking about the great state of Tennesse...can't believe how low your property taxes are and we hope to visit your great state sometime soon. Thank you again for your review and we hope to accommodate you sometime soon, perhaps during the fall months when we also have great off season rates. Thanks again, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My parents would take the family to this hotel each summer when I was growing up. It's been about 25 years since my last visit, and this hotel is still as excellent as it was when I was a kid. The rooms are spotless and updated and BIG! The pools, as well as the entire grounds, are well kept. The owners/managers are wonderful folks with a real passion about serving their guests and ensuring the best experience for each guest. A short walk to downtown, free passes to a waterpark, and a short commute to almost anywhere...plus a drive-in theater right around the corner. My kids are already asking when we're coming back! Can't wait for our next visit. Will surely stay at this hotel whenever in the Dells.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Hello Mike, Thank you so much for writing us a review and reliving childhood memories while revisiting the Black Hawk and the Wisconsin Dells area! It was great to see you again and meet your family! Sounds like everyone had a good time,....especially visiting one of the last remaining drive in movie theaters in the state of Wisconsin. We are just a short 1.5 mile drive from the Big Sky Drive In which shows a double feature each night during the summer months.
Thanks again and have a great summer and we hope to see you and your family soon! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I just returned home from taking my grandaughter to the dells for a few days. This was my first time at Black Hawk Motel and the next time I go, I will be staying here! And also recommending to anyone I know going. The rooms were immaculately clean and the beds could not of been more comfortable! We loved that it was within walking distance to downtown and still only a short drive to the other attractions. Staff was extremely friendly and the pools were very nice. Travelers, if you are looking for a clean, but affordable room, I have stayed at many types of hotels in the dells, and finally found the one that I would return to everytime! Thank you Black Hawk for the nice stay!! Pam

Room Tip: We stayed in the room that had 2 double beds, which I guess is suppose to be a little smaller than s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamvillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Pam, Thank You for your recent stay with us! It's makes our day to learn that you were very happy with your stay and would return to us everytime after trying many different lodging properties in the Dells. We're glad to hear that you found your room w/ two double beds to be more than adequate in size. We recently remodeled these rooms and we choose to install counter tops to help utilize space and we have had so many compliments on the countertops that we starting adding them in a few other rooms. We hope your granddaughter enjoyed our poolslides and diving board and also perhaps our main playground and retro arcade. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you soon! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.6 km away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
3.1 km away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
2.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.4 km away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,748 - ₹ 12,537
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing