We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
22
52
59
50
181
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
52
59
50
181
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Less than mediocre rooms. The rooms at a standard hotel are nicer than what these are and I'm supposed to be in a suite. Bathrooms are dirty and we had to ask for a do not disturb sign three times before we finally got one the next day. And Ops, they forgot to put the coffee pot in our room and have been too busy to thaw the freezer in the dormitory size fridge so it's got to inches of ice build-up all around it

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bazooka-Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin S, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your visit, but appreciate your feedback. I have forwarded your information to our Operation's Manager so that they may analyze areas for improvement. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We had a nice room. Everything was great. We checked in on a Sunday. You gotta give these new owners some credit. It must be difficult to have to gain seasonal staff every year in an area where anyone can find a seasonal job. The pools are well located. This place is in the heart of it all.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank raddad1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin S, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had a queen suite for 6 people, this came with 2 queen beds and 1 king size bed. The king size bed was in one room and the queen size beds in another with a small table for 2, microwave, refrigerator and sink, also one bathroom. . Not big enough for 2 adults and 4 teenagers unless you plan on spending time there just to sleep that's it! We wish they had a option of a discount on the room if you did not want the water park passes as we have season passes to the water park, a great Christmas gift we received from grandma! There was also no couch/sofa to sit on and not a big enough table and chairs for 6 people. We had to call guest services as we had no towels in our room but they did come asap!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeACB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin S, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the size of your room, but appreciate your feedback. I have forwarded your experience to our Operation's Manager so that they may analyze areas for improvement. Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Flamingo Motel when we heard that you got free tickets to Noah's Ark water park included in your stay. We paid $180.00 for one night for the room that was clean but VERY dated, however, that included four tickets to Noah's Ark, a $120 value. The hotel was with in walking distance to the water park and had several pools for the kids to play in. If I was staying for any length of time, I would prefer to stay somewhere else, but it was great for what we needed which was a place to sleep and shower.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank adunst05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin S, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with the amenities we provide. Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

knowing this property's reputation and reading recent reviews, they performed better than I expected. Heard horror stories about check-in and it must be timing because when we arrived at 6 pm we were the only ones in the lobby and the workers (Armen and ?) were great! The room was about as expected - this is a Motel folks, and not a chain property - so think road trips with mom and dad circa 1975 for amenities -

specifically the rooms (at least ours) DO NOT HAVE the following:
1. NO coffee maker
2. NO hair dryer
3. NO bedside lamp
4. NO mirror outside of the bathroom

Would agree with previous criticism of the bathroom venting - very poor ventilation. Also most modern hotels will locate the sink and mirror outside of the bathroom or at least put a 2nd mirror so you can get ready int he morning when someone else is using the bathroom. Beds were reasonably comfortable - we had 5 in a room with 2 queens and bunk - the TV is small compared again to most modern chain hotels. We were there only to sleep so it was fine - again reminded with of the motels I would stay in with my parents in the 70's when we would go on family vacations. I believe this proper has acquired adjacent properties that were not originally theirs so the style and quality of rooms seems to vary significantly.

With all of that I WOULD stay here again - the perks:
#1 - free Noah's Ark wristbands that are good both the day you check in and out
#2 - free Chula Vista wristbands that are good both the day you check in and out
#3 - walking distance to Noah's Ark saving you $15 parking fee
#4 - mini fridge and microwave in room

So we checking in at 6 pm - got our wristbands with no waiting dropped of our stuff in the room and drove straight out to Chula Vista to enjoy the indoor waterpark. the next morning we walked over to Noah'a Ark right at 10 a.m. - no lines for rides!! stayed until lunch time then walked back to hotel - (if we had planned well and were staying more than one night you could easily walk back for meals or even snacks) drove to get something to eat then head back to Chula Vista again for a little of their in and outdoor parks then drove back to Flamingo parked in the lot closest to the walkway and headed back to Noah's Ark.

Again pretty sure we'll go back and stay 2 nights next time and take advantage of being able to get out Noah's Ark during the busiest times and for meals.

Biggest problem we had in addition to the amenities they did not have as listed above was that the small freezer compartment in the fridge was completely frozen over - I had purchased a case of water and had wanted to freeze a few bottles so we would have cold water to drink the next day - don't expect daily maids to defrost the fridge but this does need to be done - we also did not call the front desk as it was 10 pm when realized and what cold they do..

so management, if you read this please:
#1 defrost the refrigerators!
#2 spend $10 for an additional mirror outside of the bathroom
#3 - spend another $10 for a bedside lamp

Bottom line for $134 plus taxes and fees (we got a better rate by calling) 5 people had a room and entrance to both Noah's Ark and Chula Vista for 2 days! even if you get the cheapest rates on Noah's Ark website - one day for 5 people would be $100. Sleep cheap and spend the money you save enjoying some of the other attractions in the area!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIdwestMom2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin S, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities we provide, and appreciate your feedback regarding the negative aspects you perceived. I have forwarded your experience to the Operation's Manager so that they may analyze areas for improvement. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews