We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible...spend your money elsewhere!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt. Olympus Resort
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Muskego, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible...spend your money elsewhere!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Every year we take the family to a waterpark resort somewhere in Wisconsin. This year we chose Mt. Olympus resort because it "seemed" comparable to other resorts in the area. What we found upon arriving was that the resort was falsely advertised. The room that the internet stated could accomodate eight of us could really only sleep 6. When we complained they were able to find us another room on a nearby property that they owned. Upon moving over there we were disgusted to find that it was a motel-like accomodation and the rooms were "bare-bones" and the hallway carpets and tile floors were filthy. The water park was much too crowded and the doors to the outside were open all of the time making it very cold for the little kids when they were soaking wet! The outdoor amusement park had very few rides open which in turn, made the lines for the ones that WERE open extraordinarly long. The indoor park was not much better. I am very disappointed with this resort and would never visit it again or recommend that anyone else stay there either! The owners should be more concerned with making their existing properties better rather than focusing on purchasing every property up and down Wisconsin Dells Parkway!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BriannaA1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    270
    354
    343
    547
See reviews for
1,178
108
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

Arrived last night. We stayed in the main building with hardwood floors and bunk beds Here are a few issues we had:

1. Despite the online reservation, they had us checking in the night before. Good thing we had our reservation confirmation.

2. The bunk beds were not made. When we inquired, the front desk staff said that was because some people don't use the bunkbeds. (or is it that it takes less of the housekeeper's time to actually make the beds?)

3. Only a sheet and light bedspread on the king sized bed. (less work/cost to wash the blankets? Absolutely if there isn't any)

4. No hand towels. (but we got 5 small bath towels.) I think the towel qualiity is a bit sup-par, but I'm not really knocking them for that.

5. Limited housecleaning service during you stay. Again another cost cutting move. (one that I don't actually mind since I don't like others in my room).

I found the staff to be as you expect, some are really nice, others less so. As a spring break destination, I anticipate that he hotel will try to nickel and dime you, ala the arcade in the lobby. The one really nice feature is that the indoor pool and park are included. These areas are not huge, but large enough for the two kids to have a great time.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Chesterton, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Where to start first off we had a 2 queen bed w/bunks room mini fridge & a mini microwave so small you cant even pop a bag of popcorn in. There is no kind of a little dresser or night stand with a drawer for you to put anything. The hallways are dirty I was there 3 days & never saw anyone vacume the floor. Now to the indoor waterpark not very big & the water was cloudy also not enough tubs for the slides when you have to wait by the lazy river for 20 minutes to get a tube something is wrong especiall when there arn't that many people there. If you were a little kid you never would have got one! Next is the Theme park if you say its gonna be open weather permitting & its 60 and sunny I would call that weather permitting but what they dont tell you is that its just select rides not all of them. Moving on to the Indoor theme park was so so for what i got to see the problem here is that they close it at 7pm now this area has the bigger arcade and the jungle gym w/the balls for the little kids. Now most people i know would leave the water park around 5:30 or 6 to take the kids to get cleaned up and eat by the time your done so is the Indoor theme park. So now you have about thirity 12-16 year olds with nothing to do but run up & down the hallways. Next lets move to the arcade by the lobby was not to bad but the people working there not very child friendly. I dont think i have ever met a 5 or 9 year old that has ever made up their minds on what they want out of that cabinet full of toys and candy they get to pick from the first go around. So as we were still standing at the counter getting help from the impatiant worker my daughter decided she wanted something else for the same amount of tickets & the girl tells her no shes stuck with what shes got. That was the last straw never again will i return there to spend another dime. So to end this review the next morning WE checked out a day early not caring obout them keeping the money for my last night went down to the GREAT WOLF LODGE which is very nice by the way & enjoyed the last night of my vacation. P.S. the game room there had no problem exchanging something.

THANKS FOR NOTHING MT.Olympus

Room Tip: Stay some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Doodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked our trip for march 29th to the 1st of April. 2 days before we were to leave I found out the Poseidon village is actually about a half mile down the road from the waterpark. So I called the hotel and got us a room in hotel Rome which is much more expensive. When I booked it they said it was going to have 2 queen beds and a bunk bed but when we walked into the room there was no bunk bed.
Also, we had a room next to the elevator and you can here every word people are saying out in the hall. There were teenagers running up and down the hall all night screaming and we hardly got any sleep because it was almost like they were standing next to your bed talking.
Another thing about the hotel is that the elevator is way too small for such a huge hotel. We decided to stay at the hotel for one night because it was so expensive and I'm happy we left.. But when we were leaving there was a line for the elevator! We waited there for about 20 minutes just to get in the elevator. You can maybe fit 6-8 people in it.
The waterpark was a joke too!! It was too small for that amount of people. They don't have nearly enough tubes for the lazy river so we just walked around it and people were bumping into us and splashing and the lifeguards did nothing about it. There was one main way into the lazy river and it was nuts trying to get in and out of it. Also to rent a locker is $10! But you get $5 back which is still nuts for a tiny little locker. After the lazy river I went into the hot tub and the max capacity is 20. I counted at least 40 people crammed into the one hot tub they have there. We didn't even go into the theme park because we were afraid of how nuts it would be
The advice I give to anybody that has booked a room there is DON'T DO IT!! GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!! We went to the Skyline across the street. Much more peaceful

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sierra544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Where to begin? My wife booked a suite at Hotel Rome in February for a two night spring break trip March 27-29. Comparing prices with other waterpark resorts in the Dells for that week the price seemed like a good deal, but on check in we found out why. The two bedroom suite with living room and full kitchen we thought we had reserved and paid a 50% deposit on had turned into a two room family suite for the same price. When we pointed out we had been given lesser accomodations than what we requested over the phone (and thought we had booked), we found out that the employee that took the reservation made a mistake entering our reservation and we were given a lesser room with no corresponding reduction in the price. At the time we made the reservation and paid a 50% deposit, the price shown on their website for the room we requested was lower than what the employee said the price was in their reservation system. My wife asked her to look on their website and she acknowledged she saw the same price we were looking at and promised to give us that price (and that suite or so my wife thought) when making the reservation for us. Somehow that didn't happen though and we got a lesser room at check in and the hotel managment would only give us a 10% credit rather than the 30% difference between the room values. Of course they were basically full with only single rooms available, so the suite we had wanted wasn't available. We understood that meant we were not going to get the suite, but definetly felt we were overpaying for the rooms we occupied even after the credit they offerred. I was ready to fight for a complete refund and cancellation, but we were stuck because they had our money at this point and we had no where else to go. The kids did not want to leave of course after driving all day to get there. The rooms we did get were very basic too. I think the managment is unclear on the concept of Hotel "Rome." Rome was known for oppulance and extravagence. The rooms and service (or lack thereof) was more "Spartan" like than "Rome" in my opinion. I cannot recommend this property as they failed miserably to deliver any value.

Room Tip: Avoid this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.7 km away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.5 km away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.8 km away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.5 km away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#32 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Property: Mt. Olympus Resort
Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,329 - ₹ 17,337
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing