We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside and Great Northern Railway
Save
Review Highlights
Fun

This was some great low key fun for the family. The train is small but has a real coal fired... read more

Reviewed 15 August 2018
josephradi25
,
Branson, Missouri
via mobile
Hidden gem in the Dells

I've been to the Dells since the 80's and I had no idea this place even existed!!! We were looking... read more

Reviewed 13 August 2018
Susan B
,
Chicago
Read all 151 reviews
  
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
103
33
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
33
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews run by volunteers steam engine train lovers gift shop train car volunteer staff narrow gauge real steam train every hour on the hour historical facts picnic lunch fun stop all ages history lesson nice ride great attraction great for kids
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

the station is perfectly designed to look like an original, old-time train station. the train itself is low to the ground so perfect for kids, a bit challenging for tall adults though. the ride isn't long which is also great.
it's a real steam train that operates on coal and with a real whistle (nice and loud, makes you jump sky-high if you're not prepared)
it would have been nice to hear a history of the place, the train. the brochure didn't give too much detail.
definitely recommend it!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank AyeletMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

because of the kids, so we go there to take the steam train, the ride is not too long, and nothing special scenery to see along the train ride, when it goes to the other end, the passengers are needed to get off and listen to some talk, about the train, and the engine needs to turn around, then go back, so one way is about 15-20 min ride. the ride is rather expensive, $12/adult, but it's run by the volunteer, I appreciate their enthusiastic about the steam train and make effort to keep running it.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank ELKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

we went to the railroad to ride the little train. it is a nice 30-40 minute ride with a little break through the scenery of the Dell's. our conductor was great, the volunteer talking about the history was a bit long winded but he was very informative. it made for a good afternoon and we should have packed a picnic lunch.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Abigail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Our hat's are off to the volunteers who built and maintain not only the 15 gauge engines and railway, but all the buildings and structures that make this an outstanding experience for steam train buffs of all ages. We were the only adults on this little railway not accompanied by children. While the young children enjoyed the fun experience, as older adults, we could definitely appreciate the years of love and hard work that went into the building of the Riverside and Great Northern Railway. It is outstanding.
This is a must for small steam train enthusiasts.

*Parents, be forewarned, midway through the train ride everyone is unloaded from the train while the engine is turned and put at the front of the train for the return trip. Passengers sit on benches in an open air tent for a twenty minute briefing about the history and purpose of the Riverside and Great Northern Railway, as well as a solicitation for donations which young children may not understand or appreciate. *

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank GinNBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

This is a great little place to take the little ones while the big kids are zip lining. It's not a thrill ride, but to sit and relax and see some beautiful nature it is wonderful. We even had to stop for a deer crossing the tracks. The place is run by volunteers, and thank you to them for keeping this place alive. It was raining when we went, so we weren't able to have a picnic, but it looked like it would have been a great place for one had the sun been out. There is some history to look at inside, and there was even a kid's train set for my grandson to play with while we waited. It was nice to just sit back and look around.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews