We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful stay”
Review of Hamilton House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamilton House B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitewater B&B and Inns
Springfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A peaceful stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay in May, 2012, to celebrate our anniversary and my husband's birthday . Kathleen was a gracious hostess . Our breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. We enjoyed the luxury of our suite. Earl and Judy

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoverofBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
46
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Hamilton House is beautiful, elegant, comfortable and quiet. Kathleen the innkeeper does everything to make sure you feel at home and that you have all your needs met. I have come here ten times to run various races in the area. It's the perfect spot to get a great night's sleep before a race, and it's the perfect spot to unwind after a run. There's a fantastic book selection too and great food. It's also a very romantic get away!

Room Tip: The Monet is on the ground floor and has a soaking tub - perfect for sore post-race legs. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed and the B&B for 7 days during new years and let me tell you that place is incredible. The rooms are so wonderful decorated and immaculate. I was there on a business trip and the owners will make you feel at home. They will go out of their way to accommodate your needs, Cable TV, Internet, (business trip I need all that ).I will highly recommended even if you are going on a business trip it is worth it. It is extremely relaxing after a long day at work.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

So . . . we just stayed at Hamilton House for two nights over the weekend. The quality of this place is top notch. The house is unique with interesting history, immaculate decorating and painting without all those gross doilies regular in old houses, and quite romantic.

In regards to the unrealistic 2 star rating, the discount thing may have been socially uncomfortable for the writer, but I doubt that the host really downgraded the room with a price increase and wasn't willing to have a conversation about it. The service simply is not 1 star, 4 . . . maybe on a bad day. Breakfast was fun to talk with the hostess and other guests, made us feel very at home. The food was gourmet, but not a buffet from Country Kitchen for those so us who are used to eating to gain weight in WI. Regarding the other subpar unrealistic ratings, the location is what it is. How do you stay at a place in a town that is quaint on the main street all the while well knowing what it is like ahead of time and then give location a 1 star? A 1 star for the rooms rating is a lie. Look at the online pics.

My only qualm is the price: it is steep. We stayed at a small downgrade from this place in Green Lake with a jacuzzi for $89/night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have stayed here several times. It keeps getting better and better. Our reason for coming to Whitewater is to be with family. With family comes highs and lows, sometimes we need to change reservations and sometimes we need to change things at the last minute, Kathleen handles our crises with ease. Her breakfasts are always something we look forward to as they are going to be something different and very enjoyable. There's always tea, coffee or soda on hand during the day. It's like this is an extention of your own home. Nice touches of cookies or wine left out at night. I could go on and on. You really have to experience this for yourself. If you do have a few moments for yourself --- with our busy family schedule is hard --- read what other people wrote about staying in that particular room dedicated to a painter.
Kathleen is very knowledgable about what's going on in town, too. She can tell you where to find things. At one point, she called someone late to keep his store open as my husband needed something. What a resourse!!! As you can tell, we really like our stays at the Hamilton House!

Room Tip: There's not much traffic at night so don't be worry about Main Street. Rooms are large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayzel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitewater
16.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Atkinson
1.9 km away
Super 8 Whitewater WI
Super 8 Whitewater WI
#1 of 2 in Whitewater
199 reviews
1.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Whitewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
326 reviews
25.8 km away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
981 reviews
34.1 km away
Lazy Cloud Inn
Lazy Cloud Inn
#4 of 11 in Lake Geneva
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton House B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton House B&B

Property: Hamilton House B&B
Address: 328 W Main St, Whitewater, WI 53190-1958
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Whitewater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitewater
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,501 - ₹ 12,692
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamilton House is dedicated to providing outstanding comfort and personal service to the leisure and business travelers. Guest rooms features include; whirlpool tub, gas fireplace, wireless internet, CD player, and private bath. Enjoy morning coffee in your room followed by a full breakfast in the formal dining room. Common areas offer assortment of games and places to relax. Complementary evening refreshments. In room massage and in room breakfast available. Short drive to a variety of entertainment, shopping, and outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamilton House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing