We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome area and fantastic hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Garden Cottage at Meadowlark Ridge.  Guests love the large covered porch and hummingbirds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Garden Cottage at Meadowlark Ridge.  Guests love the large covered porch and hummingbirds.
Surrounded by gorgeous perennials, with lots of songbirds and great views from every window. Sunrise with perennials in full bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Garden Cottage at Meadowlark Ridge.  Guests love the large covered porch and hummingbirds.
Surrounded by gorgeous perennials, with lots of songbirds and great views from every window.
Sunrise with perennials in full bloom.
Enjoy the professionally-landscaped grounds and the shared veggie garden.
Meadowlark Ridge - Named for the resident meadowlarks.
Inside, soft colors and comfy seating.
The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need, including coffee and tea.
View of the veggie garden and our organic crop field.  Guests often see deer and turkeys.
The cottage has a sunny dining area with beautiful views of the east valley and the barns.
View of the former dairy barn from the cottage.
Comfy king-sized bed and a nice closet for your clothes with extra blankets and towels.
Large tile walk-in shower with shampoo and body wash.  We use and provide unscented soaps.
The modern bathroom has a hairdryer, soap and lotion.
Guests can help themselves to seasonal fruits and veggies in our garden.
Guests can book a massage in the owner's home.  Wayne is a licensed massage therapist.
Peak of fall at the cottage, mid October.
Enjoy hiking and canoeing on the Kickapoo near Wildcat Mt. State Park, Ontario.
A nearby trout stream.
Excellent fly fishing.
The cottage overlooks a beautiful valley to the east.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Viroqua, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kimberly...
1 review
“Awesome area and fantastic hosts!”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wonderful hospitality and beautiful area. Highly recommend. Wayne and Sherrie are wonderful hosts. Try the Driftless Cafe, food is locally sourced.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cher J
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wisconson Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a incredible experience we had staying at The Cottage at Meadowlark Ridge. We booked the cottage for 2 days, and so enjoyed it, we extended our stay 2 more days! The accommodations, as comfortable as home, and Wayne and Sherrie are the cream of the crop. The use of their wonderful garden and herbs was an added treat. The views were breathtaking, and the hummingbirds so entertaining.

A return visit will be a must, especially for the best of all massages....thank you Wayne!! We are already looking at their availability for a Fall getaway. The town is 5 miles away, great local artist shopping, varied restaurants (The Cheese Shop for the best sandwiches and the Driftless Cafe a must stop! No detail missed for your needs in the Cottage and the bonus for us, new friends to cherish!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julieza13
Sartell, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful place!”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

If you're looking for peace & quiet in a beautiful setting, you should seriously consider this cottage! Everything was perfect--clean, comfortable & nice. The owners provided recommendations on local attractions & answered any question I had. We had such a relaxing weekend & we hope to be back soon. This is an amazing beautiful part of Wisconsin.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thank you Julie and Kris for your kind review. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to your return. Wayne & Sherrie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P
2 reviews
“Would return in a heart beat!!! ”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My husband and I stayed at "The Garden Cottage at Meadowlark Ridge" this past week. We had a wonderful stay. The cottage is clean, spacious and relaxing. The hills and trees that surround the property are indescribably beautiful.
Sherrie & Wayne are very nice hosts. Sherrie made the best cherry dessert for us. Wayne has a massage therapy business in their home. After bicycling some of the hills in the driftless region, I scheduled a massage and was so glad I did. This provided me with a great night sleep and happy muscles the next morning. While in the area, check out The Driftless Cafe for a delicious meal. If you bicycle stop by Bluedog Cycle. Pete is one great mechanic and a heck of a nice guy. He has a bicycle map of the area that you must get. We also enjoyed Kickapoo Coffee for both great food and coffee. Take a trip to the Kickapoo Reserve where you can bike ride and hike. This is one beautiful area with so much to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B
San Rafael, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and Beauty in the Driftless Region”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

While we have visited Wisconsin in the past, we have never experienced a farm stay quite like the cottage at Meadowlark Ridge. We were welcomed upon arrival by our hosts, Sherrie and Wayne and their handsome cat Joe. The cottage was fully equipped with all amenities and the decor was lovely---great shower, a coffee maker and a tea kettle (as a tea drinker, I often have to boil water in a microwave at places we stay in--not so here!) Extra warmer blankets and lighter blankets in the closet, always great to see---VERY comfortable bed! The gardens, both flowers and vegetables, were gorgeous, as were the walks down the country road. Viroqua is a lovely hip town, we ate a great dinner at The Driftless Cafe, we kayaked on the Kickapoo River, we saw fabulous theater at the American Players and visited the renowned Taliesin, all within an easy drive of our farm cottage. Our hosts were kind and very knowledgeable of the terrain, the water, the soil, the plants, the animals and the harmony of their land. We highly recommend this quiet cottage in firefly wonderland. Kathryn & George

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the gardens
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing