We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“RELAXING, PEACEFUL, FUN FISHING GETAWAY”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tomah, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rodex
Madison, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adequate, but needs updates”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We went here for a family reunion. The other cabins were nice and updated, but this one was very dated, and had a water leak occur in the bathroom while we were staying. The hot tub was also yellowed (the plastic), and many parts were old and broken on it. The owner fixed the leak that night, but the cabin smelled after the repair. The kitchen was ok, but sparse on cooking utensils. If you want to do a lot of cooking, plan on bringing some extra items.

The lake was nice, and so was the field for volleyball and bad mitten.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Sorry you were disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightseer...
1 review
“RELAXING, PEACEFUL, FUN FISHING GETAWAY”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We just returned from a week's stay at the ranch. We had a wonderful time. This was our second time staying here. We love the deck on the lake. We could walk down just a few steps from the cabin and fish. We brought an ultra lite rod & reel , and used all live bait (mini crawlers, red worms and wax worms). We caught tons of blue gill -- Some bigger than my hand! and some bass. With the light rod & reel we used, the action was great. It would be a good first fishing experience for children , as it's a guarantee they will catch fish and a lot of them.

The cabin is very quiet, relaxing and private. We enjoyed the hot tub every night. It was nice to get away from work and the electronic world and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the Tomah area. The scenery with rolling hills, the Amish farms and the bluffs in the distance is beautiful. We are avid cyclists, so the nearby bike trails ( Elroy Sparta and the trail in Lacrosse) were excellent.
It's rare to find a place that has this much to offer . Our hosts have done an excellent job in creating a place that is so inviting, in a locale that can't be beat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are right about kids and fish. Many a child has caught their very first fish at Birch Lake.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HUGE Disappointment & Lake is GROSS”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Rented the Ranch over the week of July 4th. Booking the property was simple. The owner was quick to respond to email and took our reservation over the phone. He sent out a packet of information quickly as well. Asked him specifically if the lake was clear to which he responded "yes". This was not true at all. So, we arrived around 6PM on Saturday, July 2nd. Procedure is to call from house phone to "check in." So we did and owner was kind enough to offer directions to nearest grocery store. Later that night, we had problems with the satellite TV not coming in. Satellite kept losing signal. Also the "free" Wi-Fi SUCKS big time. We did call the owner to inquire about both on Monday. Found out the antenna is down the drive at the owner's house...too far from the Ranch to get a good signal. They should have a repeater to boost the signal if they are going to say they offer Wi-Fi. The satellite antenna is blocked by a tree. So the signal is already weak and if the wind blows, it goes out. He also said he would come down and check out the satellite. Still waiting for him to show up LOL. In fact, the owner seemed to disappear after we arrived and we did not see anyone do anything around the property until late Wednesday afternoon. So that means the aerators for the lake were not running and the algae sweeping did not take place for 5 days!!!! The lake is DISGUSTING. Not sure what the owner's definition of clear but in my opinion it was NOT CLEAR. I repeat NOT CLEAR AT ALL. In fact, it was so gross, we only spent a couple of hours on the lake TOPS and only using the row boat the ENTIRE length of our stay. Neither one of us was willing to go into the water it was so nasty. Significant algae growth, snapping turtles about a foot in diameter, as well as box turtles and other creatures inhabit the lake. There are 2 spots at either end where they try to corral the algae but it still is not swimmable in my opinion. Unless you don't care about getting your toes nibbled on by a snapping turtle!!! We ended up having to spend a significant amount of money (on top of what we paid for rental) to find other activities to occupy our time since we could not enjoy the lake. The other things I would like to point out are the cleanliness of the house. If you are expecting pristine - DO NOT rent this house! There were cobwebs everywhere which indicates that dusting and cleaning is not done thoroughly. Bathtub/shower had a least 4 spiders in the cobwebs above the tub surround. Also in the corner of the bathroom above the toilet. Bedside tables in the bedroom had a thick layer of dust. Another thing I found weird was the instructions to NOT strip the bed of bedding when checking out. Why? Very strange. It seems to me they may not change the bedding between guests if they don't want the bed stripped. Thankfully I brought my own from home. The hot tub outside was not great either. Most of the knobs/functions were inoperable so you could not reduce or increase the temp if desired. Very weird smell. May have been because of the water source. Also rust stains around the jets. Strict rules about showering in your suit before getting in the tub so we just didn't bother using it. I will say the deck that wraps around the home was nice and the view of the lake was pretty from afar. It was very simple to check in and the cabin was unlocked for us when we arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: The lake
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Wow!...sounds like we can't do anything right. I can't imagine how we get so many repeat customers. If you look at the many reviews on Birch Lake you will see that almost all of them are 4 to 5 stars. Those who are uncomfortable with nature and the beauty and peace and quiet that comes with it would be well advised to vacation at a motel with a pool in the city. All lakes get algae in the summer months but, unlike most resorts, we have a maintenance man and a boat with an algae plow. As soon as we get a bloom he sweeps it up and removes it from the lake. Yes, you will see algae for a couple of hours until he cleans it up. About the only way to satisfy guests like the one who wrote this review would be to kill all the plant and animal life in the lake, pave the bottom with cement and add chlorine to the water. (Turtles do not "nibble" on your toes or even get near you.) Many of our guests name them during their stay. The odor in the hot tub is bromine sanitizer. The accusation that we don't change the bed sheets is disgusting, vicious and insulting! I don't understand the writers intent. They never contacted us about any of these complaints except the wifi. Had they contacted us we would have had someone there within an hour. Read our reviews and you be the judge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanCan762...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Nice place to stay for a semi-private lake vacation”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Ranch House at Birch Lake was a nice place to stay and was accurately described and photographed in their ad on TripAdvisor. There are only four houses on a small lake and it was a quiet, nice place to stay, conveniently located between La Crosse, the Dells and a number of state parks. The house itself was equipped with everything we needed for our stay and we particularly enjoyed the decks (with no mosquitoes) and the hot tub.

The only thing that I would have changed was the noise coming from the aerator motor for the lake. Does it really need to run 24/7? It was loud and interrupted the peace and quiet. The Wi-Fi signal could have been stronger. It tended to come and go which made planning our day trips a little more difficult.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the property
Liked least: The noise from the bubbler
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewhale1...
Hartsburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Guessed Wrong”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

As soon as we stepped into the cottage we could notice a distinct smell of septic gases which left after about three hours of opening windows and doors but every time we left and returned to the cottage the smell was there again. Hot tub never got hot enough... Lake deck was down to steep of a hill to get to more than once... The lake was covered in green vegetation so it made it look like it was not safe to swim in.... Owners never came to introduce themselves... It is my assumption that the owners were to busy tending to their farming duties to take good care of the area....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: smell, hot tub, could not get into the water, could not get down to the deck without slipping and slidding, just overall did not care for it and the cost was way too high - No way was it worth $1000.00...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
After these guests left we also noticed the odor. It was not septic gas. One of the pilot lights on the kitchen stove had blown out but they never told us about it while they were here. They told us about the hot tub and it was fixed immediately. I called later to check and they said it was fine. Algae naturally occurs once we reach the dog days of summer but, unlike many resorts, we have a full time maintenance man and an algae sweeper that sweeps the lake clean every day. We don't own a farm, only the resort. We react right away to any problem our guests have but there is not much we can do when they don,t tell us about a problem until after they check out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing