We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Stone Harbor Resort(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Music Motel(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgeport Resort(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Dwellers Resort(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Harbor Resort(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snug Harbor Inn(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
331
46
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
331
46
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender roomchocolate cakeb bfresh flowersevening dessertcherry winedoor countyafternoon snackwonderful cookvintage rosecookiescherry french toastother guestsegg casseroleship yardthe perfect hostroom was beautifully decorated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed there in April and it was fantastic. Robin is a great innkeeper and cook! The location was perfect for getting around and seeing the sights. I highly recommend this B&B!

- Aaron & Andrea, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Room Tip: If you want a hot tub, make sure you pay the extra money and get it - it's mammoth!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We spent two delightful nights at Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast in Sturgeon Bay. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed extremely comfortable! There was a selection of movies on DVD for those who wished to watch and delicious treats in the evening. Coffee was available by 7 in the morning ~ a nice plus before breakfast which was beautifully served, plentiful, and excellent. She even foil wrapped the delicious muffins for any to take along on their day's rambles since there was so much else to enjoy at breakfast. They made for excellent snacks later in the day!
The first day, we arrived early and our room was not ready, but Robin had all the brochures we could want for the area and pointed out things that we would enjoy. We brought in our items needing refrigeration and were on our way to explore the area. Our room was ready when we returned, and we enjoyed the evening. Breakfast the next morning found 4 couples around the table and conversation was lively. B&B's are a wonderful way to go, and Garden Gate was a fine example of why. Thanks to Robin for the facility, the food, and the sharing! And special thanks for providing an early breakfast for us the next day when we had a ten hour drive ahead of us. She went the extra mile to make things easy for us.
Another point definitely worth the mention is that not only were the rooms attractively appointed and comfortable, they were also AIR CONDITIONED, a comfort that isn't guaranteed in the area! Between the air conditioning and the ceiling fan over the bed, we were delightfully comfortable though it was very hot outside. Robin has made sure that her guests are well taken care of.

Room Tip: If you want a tub, be sure to request. For us a shower was perfect!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRN_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband and I had just finished a 150-mile bike ride Saturday and Sunday and just couldn't face the drive home. We found a luxurious respite at the The Garden Gate. So relaxing, comfortable, cool, and the room and bath were so peaceful and charming. Breakfast food and conversation were just wonderful. Robin was the perfect host. The home is decorated beautifully, the room was not over-done, and had touches like chocolates and a candle. Created a lasting memory after the Scenic Shore 150 and will plan to stay again next year (and will bring friends along).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMGrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Garden Gate is such a pleasant place. Great location - as it's the first place on the island - and it's an easy out when you're wrapping up. My girlfriend and I stay in the Garden Suite room. And it's perfect. Spacious and not overly decorated like some B&Bs can be. Robin is so pleasant and is always there when you need her. Selections of frosted pound cake and the most AMAZING chocolate cake were on tap this particular weekend. Breakfasts of egg/potato/ham souffle on Saturday and cherry stuffed French toast on Sunday were both exceptional. Be sure to take your breakfast muffin to go - it's PERFECT for 2PM that afternoon - and no lunch needed as we squeeze additional savings out of the weekend (we did it both days). The movie selection is great as always - the new flat TVs have brought the property up a notch. Overall - this is the place to stay in Door County. Robin wasn't quite fully on her game with restocking the fridge, but I know she'll be on it next time. If you're looking to go to Door County for the first time, this is the place. And if you're looking for a better deal than some otherwise overly priced B&Bs, give this place a try.

Room Tip: The Lavender Room has an awesome terrace. . . But we stay in the Garden Suite and we love it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

All the reviews of this B & B are accurate! Robin is a fantastic hostess and makes a tasty, filling breakfast each morning. We never had to eat lunch while in Door County. We always took her muffins with us each day and ate them after hiking, biking, etc... Each evening there was always a different cake to snack on. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very clean. So glad we stayed here for 6 days,. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Door County.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CABurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews