We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B & B in Sturgeon Bay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Az
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B & B in Sturgeon Bay”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We spent 2 nights here in July. For the $$, this place takes the cake. I mean it really takes the cake. Robin puts out a freshly baked cake every evening at 7 pm for her guests. This is just a small part of what makes this B & B a great place to stay. The rooms are well appointed, clean, and have that Victorian feeling. The dining room is beautiful and the breakfast is wonderful. Coffee is available at 7 am and soft drinks are available for your taking at any time. Robin is friendly and accomodating. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Garden Gate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the2kerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    42
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
264
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed there in April and it was fantastic. Robin is a great innkeeper and cook! The location was perfect for getting around and seeing the sights. I highly recommend this B&B!

- Aaron & Andrea, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Room Tip: If you want a hot tub, make sure you pay the extra money and get it - it's mammoth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We spent two delightful nights at Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast in Sturgeon Bay. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed extremely comfortable! There was a selection of movies on DVD for those who wished to watch and delicious treats in the evening. Coffee was available by 7 in the morning ~ a nice plus before breakfast which was beautifully served, plentiful, and excellent. She even foil wrapped the delicious muffins for any to take along on their day's rambles since there was so much else to enjoy at breakfast. They made for excellent snacks later in the day!
The first day, we arrived early and our room was not ready, but Robin had all the brochures we could want for the area and pointed out things that we would enjoy. We brought in our items needing refrigeration and were on our way to explore the area. Our room was ready when we returned, and we enjoyed the evening. Breakfast the next morning found 4 couples around the table and conversation was lively. B&B's are a wonderful way to go, and Garden Gate was a fine example of why. Thanks to Robin for the facility, the food, and the sharing! And special thanks for providing an early breakfast for us the next day when we had a ten hour drive ahead of us. She went the extra mile to make things easy for us.
Another point definitely worth the mention is that not only were the rooms attractively appointed and comfortable, they were also AIR CONDITIONED, a comfort that isn't guaranteed in the area! Between the air conditioning and the ceiling fan over the bed, we were delightfully comfortable though it was very hot outside. Robin has made sure that her guests are well taken care of.

Room Tip: If you want a tub, be sure to request. For us a shower was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRN_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband and I had just finished a 150-mile bike ride Saturday and Sunday and just couldn't face the drive home. We found a luxurious respite at the The Garden Gate. So relaxing, comfortable, cool, and the room and bath were so peaceful and charming. Breakfast food and conversation were just wonderful. Robin was the perfect host. The home is decorated beautifully, the room was not over-done, and had touches like chocolates and a candle. Created a lasting memory after the Scenic Shore 150 and will plan to stay again next year (and will bring friends along).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMGrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Garden Gate is such a pleasant place. Great location - as it's the first place on the island - and it's an easy out when you're wrapping up. My girlfriend and I stay in the Garden Suite room. And it's perfect. Spacious and not overly decorated like some B&Bs can be. Robin is so pleasant and is always there when you need her. Selections of frosted pound cake and the most AMAZING chocolate cake were on tap this particular weekend. Breakfasts of egg/potato/ham souffle on Saturday and cherry stuffed French toast on Sunday were both exceptional. Be sure to take your breakfast muffin to go - it's PERFECT for 2PM that afternoon - and no lunch needed as we squeeze additional savings out of the weekend (we did it both days). The movie selection is great as always - the new flat TVs have brought the property up a notch. Overall - this is the place to stay in Door County. Robin wasn't quite fully on her game with restocking the fridge, but I know she'll be on it next time. If you're looking to go to Door County for the first time, this is the place. And if you're looking for a better deal than some otherwise overly priced B&Bs, give this place a try.

Room Tip: The Lavender Room has an awesome terrace. . . But we stay in the Garden Suite and we love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
4.3 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.6 km away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
25.5 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.1 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.6 km away
The Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
The Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,461 - ₹ 10,056
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing