We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant stay but handicapped room is not WHEELCHAIR accessible” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay but handicapped room is not WHEELCHAIR accessible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

The staff was pleasant at this hotel and it was located in a convenient location. If you are looking for a room that is handicapped accessible and use a wheelchair, this is not the place for you. I called specifically to see if the wheelchair would be able to get around in the room and in the bathroom. They assured me they had the measuring tape out and it would be fine for a family member using a wheelchair. Upon arrival, not a chance the door on the bathroom could even be closed with the wheelchair in the room. So much for privacy! The reason for this is the door opened INTO the bathroom and the bathroom was not big enough to swing the door past the bathroom. VERY disappointing!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    151
    72
    25
    11
See reviews for
165
146
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

For starters, we were booking a weekend in Door County during the 4th of July. We spent most of our time in Egg Harboor and Fish Creek and this hotel is only about 30 minutes away, which isn't bad. The hotel is close to some restaurants, grocery stores and a Walmart (which comes in handy if you need supplies, snacks, bathing suits, etc). The rooms were ok and pretty standard, but must have recently became non-smoking because there was still an unpleasant odor. Also, the water pressure in the shower was kind of a let down. However, we enjoyed the pool and the extended holiday hours with the kids. The staff was also helpful in suggesting local destinations. When we needed a refrigerator in our room for our daughter's milk, they came through and delivered one to us. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast (especially the waffles!) The price was high because of the season, but reasonable for Door County, I'm sure. Overall, it was a nice experience that I would recommend to a family on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank playmaker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

My family and I stayed at this property for 3 nights recently - while visiting Door County. It made for a good home base, and at about $45 all in per night, was a super good value. The appearance of the property is average, could use some sprucing up. The rooms were clean and servicable - nothing special about them. The halls and common areas could have used a little more attention with cracker crumbs/etc laying around for several days. Matttresses were fairly hard so not the best there. Pool area was good, but nothing special. The hot tub was far too warm to be in it for more than 5 mins or so.
Breakfast was included, and was really pretty good. Nice selection of hot and cold items. A new item or two each day was a plus. Staff was very friendly for the entire stay, no complaints there. All in all, good stay at a great price.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdvoChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

A nice hotel, but the tub would not hold water, fire alarm went off in early AM and got a lot of people out of bed for a "malfunction" that occurred before and was not fixed. Parking could be better - trucks, campers should park along street side and motorcycles could park two to a space. Breakfast was good, people very friendly, but maintenance needs to be better or no one will stay there. This was our second trip and we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quietnites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Staff was very nice, no restaurant but there is a place across the street, pool and hot tub, free breakfast

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floyd06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.9 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
4.3 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
37.8 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
32.6 km away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
23.3 km away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
Address: 1001 N 14th Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,625 - ₹ 9,519
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Maritime Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Best Western Sturgeon Bay
Sturgeon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing