We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“For our families to meet the basswood was an excellent gathering place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff Dwellers Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliff Dwellers Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
1 review
“For our families to meet the basswood was an excellent gathering place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

Our families reunited here from Michigan and Minnesota. The reception at the Cliff Dwellers was warm and inviting. We stayed at the Basswood, which met our expectations. Even though the cottage was newly constructed, the decor gave us the old world cabin feel we were looking for. The layout was wonderful for gathering. We used the fireplace nightly with the cool July evenings we were having. Our families would meet here again for a future family reunion.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegirlsMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    21
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

We were pleasantly surprised by The Cliff Dwellers. Everything seems to have been updated recently - the Townhouse we rented for a reasonable price appeared almost new. There is a nice small pool on the edge of the water and beautiful flowers everywhere. The staff was nice too.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank willerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

This was our first trip to Door County. Sturgeon Bay is south, at the entrance to Door County, not centrally located but it is not a long drive to anywhere - we went all over. We stayed in the Cedar cottage. It was newly remodeled, very cute and clean and plenty roomy for the two of us. The cottages are fairly close together, closer than they appear on the website. The pool is decent and there is a nice indoor hot tub and sauna for guests but we did not use it. The resort is adjacent to Potawatami St Park, you couldn't be closer. They have free bikes (including tandem) for the use of guests. All the rooms seem to have a nice view of the Lake. Ours was across the street from the lake - our LR and BR windows overlooked the lake and there was a cute little patio as well. We looked at the rooms in the actual motel part and they were nice too. The flat screen tv is small and there was no DVD, we watched a movie on our laptop. They do have cable though. They do not have internet access, which I would have liked.

  • Liked — clean, nicely decorated, amenities
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RILtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

My husband and I decided we wanted to go to Wisconsin for a weekend getaway without the kids because neither one of us had ever been there. After extensive online research, we decided to go to Sturgeon Bay. After research on Sturgeon Bay hotels, we decided Cliff Dwellers sounded like a great place for us. I made a call to Cliff Dwellers and the only one-bedroom cottage available was the Cedar Cottage, so we said we'd take it. We were hoping it would be nice and we wouldn't be disappointed. As soon as we walked in the cottage my husband said "I could live in here!". It was REALLY nice - recently refurbished/redecorated with nice kitchen appliances, furniture, area rug, comfy bed, great bathroom, vaulted ceilings with exposed beams, Pella windows and doors, nice wood cabinetry thoughout. It was actually a very small (I think 320 sq. ft.) cottage, but every inch of space was well utilized. The view of the water was great, and we really enjoyed the little stone patio off of the living area. I should mention it was a studio cottage, so there was no seperate bedroom, just a bedroom area off to the side. But it was fine for the two of us. Sturgeon Bay is a really pretty area, and we found plenty of things to do for the weekend. If we would ever return to the area, I would definitely stay at Cliff Dwellers again.

  • Liked — The privacy of the cottage.
  • Disliked — The price - $180 per night.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hev1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Bay Cottage at Cliff Dwellers Resort from July 12th-15th, 2007, and had a great stay. The Bay Cottage is RIGHT on the water, and it was wonderful to fall asleep to the waves each night. There's also a great landing and chairs outside, and it's secluded compared to the other cottages. It was very clean and updated, and we found the cottage to be more than spacious for the long weekend.

Cliff Dwellers also provides free bike rentals, which we utilized each day. The Potowatomi State Park is about 5 minutes away by bike, and we were also able to rent canoes and jet skis near the hotel.

My only warning is that this hotel is about 15-20 minutes away from the "cute" parts of Door County (aka Fish Creek and Egg Harbor). Cab rides are EXTREMELY expensive and hard to come by, so please keep this in mind if you plan to have a few drinks after dinner and you don't want to drive.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B.G._Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
4.1 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
39.3 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
25.2 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Dwellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Dwellers Resort

Property: Cliff Dwellers Resort
Address: 3540 N Duluth Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-9088
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,998 - ₹ 15,391
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Dwellers Resort is nestled between the serene moss and cedar-covered cliffs and the deep blue waters of Sturgeon Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff Dwellers Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing