We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”
Review of Whitetail Lodge

Whitetail Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whitetail Lodge
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The rooms are not $120 a night rooms, if you are going to charge that at least be up to par with a Hampton Inn. The people there are rude, mainly the older tall guy with gray hair. Bad breakfast. We had a group of guys so having a bar and restaurant connected was key, their website says their "19th Hole" is on the same property, not so, its way down the road and was closed. Thankfully there are many other nice places in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DOO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Not sure where previous reviewer stayed but we states their for nights while they were there and has a great experience. The restaurant that is near the lodge its the Whitetail Inn not the 19th hole amass we opened out patio door several times and were never funded.. Lol. The hotel staff was great. They have a great spot right in front of the hotel to park your sleds it would bed unsafe. To park in front of your rooms in car of a fire. Maybe some people are to lazy to walk 50 feet from turret posting area to the hotel. I also had management ask me about trail conditions so they could keep incoming guests informed. This is a very nice place and we will stay here again. They are an easy 1/2 mile from a gas station and close to Sisters Saloon and Blink Bonnie's I get upset when I read reviews like the previous one that is false.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Living4theblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We staying here for three nights to go snowmobiling. We decided to pay their high rate of $120 per night because they claim to have a restaurant and bar on campus, figured that would be nice after a long day of riding. The fact is that the bar/restaurant, "The 19th Hole" is 3/4 mile down the road. Aside from the distance they say "The 19th Hole" is open 10am-11pm daily, NOT TRUE. It was closed at 7:45pm on a Thursday, the next night we went there (Friday) and they rushed us out to close at 9PM. While we were at The 19th Hole, we had to track someone down to get a beer every time, and the food was gross. When I asked the hotel manager about the advertised hours versus the actual hours, he gave me some cocky response advising me that those in the "Northwoods" aren't here to cater to tourist 24/7, wow.

All the rooms on ground level and they refuse to let you park your snowmobile by your room. They also will not let you open the sliding glass doors in the winter or they will fine you. Rooms are average, but way below $120 per night quality. The free breakfast does not include actual real food of any kind, unless donuts and stale bagels are what you crave - gross.

All in all, this hotel along with the bar/restaurant down the road are owned and operated by bitter, mean and nasty people who hate tourist. They are those types of people who we all know that really fail to understand who keeps them in buinsess, which is why I have no doubt this place will not stay in business. They have absolutey no understanding of how to take care of a customer, not can they even keep a customer feeling neutral. I ended up spending the ride hoem apologizing for picking this place. Aside from myself, my family and friends will never ever ever ever, stay here or go to their bar/restaurant ever again and I'd advise you don't waste your money here either - save it for a business who actually appreciates your business and wants you tyo come back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We recently returned to the Whitetail Lodge as it has been a favorite in years past. It's been a few years since we've been there and it was obvious that not much has been done to update the facility and the amenities for a "deluxe" resort certainly weren't apparent especially in the rooms. The furnishings and bedding needs to be replaced. The deluxe room that we stayed in no longer had a coffeemarker and only minimal toiletries and there are no complimentary beverages in the lobby until morning. The room and facility was clean. We did not use the pool. The other thing we noticed were several instruction sheets not only in the lobby but several in the room and we felt like the list of things not to do was excessive. We are wondering if there are new owners or new managers but there definitely were a lot of differences from years past. We've stayed in other deluxe resorts in the area and definitely would recommend checking rates before making this your first choice.

Room Tip: Wooded setting however the front of the building faces the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FL2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Germain
24.4 km away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
19.8 km away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
13.9 km away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
5.5 km away
Rustic Manor Motor Lodge
Rustic Manor Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Saint Germain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
12.8 km away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitetail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitetail Lodge

Property: Whitetail Lodge
Address: 8918 State Highway 70 W, Saint Germain, WI 54558-8965
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Saint Germain
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,856 - ₹ 8,856
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whitetail Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Whitetail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing