We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice - would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, WI
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice choice - would stay here again”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My family stayed here in April 2012 during a basketball tournament. The hotel was filled with basketball teams but the hotel was prepared. The rooms were clean and ready. There was enough food and staff to work the breakfast area. The pool was clean and towels were available.

Our only "ding" was that the pull out sofa was lopsided and more uncomfortable than even a pull out should be.

It was fairly standard Holiday Inn Express rooms/food/pool etc. but it was clean and we had good service and would stay here again.

I also recommend Grizzly's restaurant a couple of miles from the hotel. They wood roast their chicken and it is really good in the various dishes as well as on their salads. Yum!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    52
    33
    14
    4
See reviews for
65
35
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

In general, I'm a sucker for a good HIEx. Not so much on this one. This property has a pretty face, but once inside my room, I was a little disappointed in the lack of cleanliness. The little throw/coverlet at the end of the bed was the first thing I noticed. It was in desperate need of washing, or perhaps even replacing. After that observation, everything else was suspect. The bathroom was so-so. I hate, no...make that HATE, to see someone elses hair in "my" bathroom, and there were a few offenders waiting to be discovered. The bed was comfortable and the linens and pillows were fine. The two young ladies at the front desk were very friendly and check-in was unremarkable. If ever in the area again, I might give it a second try.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Kate A ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with your room. I will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you in the future.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Went for the weekend for a Hockey Trip. Staff was great, standard rooms were very big, near many places to eat. We would stay again if in the area!!

Room Tip: We had a standard room with 2 Queen beds, it also had a pull out coach, fridge and micro. Was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockeymom1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My default would have been the Hampton, but they were full and this Holiday Inn had a room. Actually, it was a BIG room with 2 Queen beds and a large work area. The lobby and the young lady at the desk were great. Her advice for dinner was "Grizzlies" which turned out to be a very nice local find.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison WI
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We were here for a brief one night stay midweek. It's pretty much like Holiday Inn Express hotels everywhere, and everything went smoothly and we have no complaints. The location is on the north edge of La Crosse, in an area heavy with strip malls and chain restaurants, and adjacent to the interstate. Easy to get to and a convenient stopping point for trips in the La Crosse area. The hotel itself is on the edge of this area overlooking undeveloped/natural areas below, although there isn't a lot to see, it is quiet. We liked the double-headed, walk-in shower in our king executive room -- I often think tubs are a waste in most hotels, so glad to see this. Free wireless is available. Complimentary breakfast is adequate, but nothing exceptional.

Room Tip: rooms on the east/south side will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.5 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
1.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Onalaska
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites La Crosse/Onalaska
1.3 km away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
5.2 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
Address: 9409 Highway 16, Onalaska, WI 54650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,472 - ₹ 11,746
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in the Greater LaCrosse Area. Whether corporate or leisure travel brings you to our premiere location, our friendly and professional associates are sure to make you feel appreciated and welcome. The hotel is located just minutes from the Mississippi River, historic downtown LaCrosse and UW LaCrosse. Begin your day with our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our signature hot cinnamon rolls, and hot breakfast items such as scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and biscuits with gravy. All of this plus fresh brewed Smart Roast coffee, juice, cold cereal, yogurt and bagels .Our newly renovated hotel features spacious, contemporary guest rooms with complimentary high speed wireless Internet access and local phone calls. Work out in our fitness center or relax in our heated indoor swimming pool and whirlpool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel, Onalaska is located across the street (walking distance) from TGI Fridays, all guests receive a 15% discount with room key. For those who prefer to relax and dine in, Room Service is available from TGI Friday's Nightly 5pm-10pm On site meeting accommodations for up to 40 people. Stay 'smart' when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Pet Friendly Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) Hotel Onalaska
Holiday Inn Onalaska
Onalaska Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing