We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snooty pretentious place- skip it!”

The Vine Wine Beer & Cocktail Lounge
Ranked #14 of 57 Restaurants in Minocqua
Cuisines: American
Description: Come to The Vine for our extensive wine list, full service bar & huge beer selection. View original, abstract artwork while indulging your tastebuds with our tasty Tapas including seared tuna, prosciutto wrapped dates, caprese salad, seared beef, baked Brie and more. Pair an espresso or coffee drink with our award winning desserts; chocolate Guinness cake, cheesecake, bananas fosters-just to name a few! Get the feel of the Mediterranean while enjoying a Martini on our outdoor patio, which is pet friendly. The Rock Star bathrooms are a must see. Come & "unwined" at The Vine.
Restaurant details
Description: Come to The Vine for our extensive wine list, full service bar & huge beer selection. View original, abstract artwork while indulging your tastebuds with our tasty Tapas including seared tuna, prosciutto wrapped dates, caprese salad, seared beef, baked Brie and more. Pair an espresso or coffee drink with our award winning desserts; chocolate Guinness cake, cheesecake, bananas fosters-just to name a few! Get the feel of the Mediterranean while enjoying a Martini on our outdoor patio, which is pet friendly. The Rock Star bathrooms are a must see. Come & "unwined" at The Vine.
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We came in for drinks and were initially pleasantly surprised there was live folk music. When we ordered wine, the young man who poured our drinks, very much under-poured! When asked, and compared glasses, he was snippy and told us "I'd say I was generous!" but did add a splash to one of the glasses. We paid and there was no "thank you", "enjoy" or any welcoming pleasantry of any kind. We went in the back to listen to the performers and it was unpleasantly overcrowded, too small and uncomfortable.We asked someone to put down their umbrella so we could see and they actually said "no"!! Mind you, this was about 8pm! No sun! Listening to the conversations between staff and patrons was over the top snooty. After coming from days of stopping at at least a dozen bars and restaurants in the northern Wisconsin area, I can say there was no other place that turned us off more than this one. When we came back to the bar area, the stony unfriendly look on the staff faces definitely told us we need to go elsewhere. Then we find out one of these ladies is actually the manage.owner? Really lady- get over your fake sophistication! We went to the Minocqua Brewing Company which was way more friendly.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank LorettaH274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magmcm, Owner at The Vine Wine Beer & Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your time. Our music nights sure do get busy...which is why you only found seats on our stairway (which we do not prefer because they are a fire exit and not an actual seating option). The 3 tables you kept asking to drop umbrellas were unwilling to do so because they were being kind to the tables behind them...when an umbrella is dropped nobody at ground level can see. We had to give preference to people at our actual tables. We had to step in when several tables said they were being harassed by your group. You were asked to leave after the man in your group began insulting our customers, using profanity and name-calling. We're happy you enjoyed the brewing company...we like them too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped in for a glass of wine and ended up staying 3 hours listening to fantastic music and enjoying the eclectic decor of The Vine with our out of town friends! This place is a must do when you are in Minocqua!! Margaret and Scott are the best! Great tapas and friendly servers!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 700kirbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We stopped in at the end of our evening to have dessert. The atmosphere is very relaxing with trendy artwork. We ordered cheesecake, bananas foster, and the chocolate cake. There were 4 of us that shared the desserts. We ordered 3 because they all looked so good and we wanted to try them all. We all thought they were excelllent! The service was fast and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely come back if we visit Minocqua again. The wine and beer menu looked like it offered quite a variety.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 728deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

The food, wine, games and live music what else do you need! Outside patio is beautiful with flowers and a stage for live music. The dates and tuna tapas Is amazing. Love love love this place.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Beth0223_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

What a great experience!! The wait staff was very accommodating and gave us a wonderful visit. We will be back

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vine Wine Beer & Cocktail Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Vine Wine Beer & Cocktail Lounge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing