We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
26
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern amenities coffee maker relaxing weekend in town cottage microwave
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2012

A stay at this quaint, cozy cabin is a very unique experience. It's nicely furnished and has a bedroom loft. There's small bathroom and a very good shower. Settling down at night with a fire, wine and Wisconsin cheese was wonderful. The cabin is located next to the Cothren House and backs up to an open area. We enjoyed a walk around the neighborhood and nearby cemetery. Downtown is not far away where there is a restaurant with very authentic Japanese cuisine. We also had a good meal at the brew pub. The lighting could have been a little brighter for reading and having some tumblers for drinking would have been nice too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CothrenHouse, Owner at Cothren House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thanks for the nice review and for the input. I just changed the lightbulbs to a higher wattage so they'll be better for reading. And, I will add some tumblers for beverages. I appreciate your feedback! ~ Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in Cothren Cabin for a much-needed weekend away. It was absolutely perfect! I am a history fanatic, my husband loves antiques, and we both love Wisconsin so the cabin in Mineral Point was the perfect setting for a relaxing getaway. It was clean and cozy and the location was great - it was just a short drive downtown for dinner. We recommend Cothren Cabin highly and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Be careful on the stairs at night!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CothrenHouse, Owner at Cothren House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thanks for your positive review. Good point about being careful on the stairs!

Glad you enjoyed your stay and took to the time to write about it. ~ Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We just returned from a "girls" weekend in Mineral Point and stayed in the Cothren Cottage for the weekend.We all loved it, the cottage is cozy & thoughtfully appointed. The beds are wonderful and the living room is very comfortable. The cottage is walking distance to town and really a wondderful little place. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milwgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at the Cottage at Cothren, and had a wonderful time! My wife described it as being like staying at a friend's house, very welcoming and comfortable.

The cottage was once a summer kitchen, and sits a stone's throw from the main house. Both buildings are of the same stonework style that Mineral Point is famous for. (There's a little history on their website.) The cottage sports two bedrooms, a family room, and a small bath. The plumbing is all modern, with great water temp and pressure, as well as central air conditioning. There is a microwave, a small fridge, and a coffee machine. Several interesting books and knick-knacks line the shelves, and the main bedroom has a cute little shelf of chocolates. Out back is a little garden and beyond that is the Cabin at Cothren. Both have exclusive parking with direct access to the road.

The reservation process was great. We booked online, then the owner (who is very pleasant and sociable) contacted us to arrange payment. She processed our credit card through Paypal. A very easy transaction.

It should be noted that the whole town rolls up their sidewalks pretty early, so plan ahead if you want to eat out locally.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GMontag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CothrenHouse, Owner at Cothren House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Thanks for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Our stay at the historic and quaint Cothren Cabin was the most peaceful and relaxing weekend we've had in a long time! We stayed in the cabin all weekend, aside from a few dinners out, and kept a fire lit. The cozy couches and chairs, warm bed, and complimentary wine was enough to make a cold winter day seem magical. The little things (great shower pressure, lots of dvds to choose from, and books on cabin life) made the weekend even better. On Friday night we ate at the local Brew Pub and had the best burgers of our lives! Bought some Hook's cheese the next day and are still savoring the remaining pieces.

I have absolutely no complaints. If I could live in this cabin--I would :-)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rozzy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CothrenHouse, Owner at Cothren House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews