We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enjoyable Stay Though Really For Couples” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman Montana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay Though Really For Couples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I spent 2 nights right before St. Patrick's Day (we checked out that Sat. 3/17). The hotel was conveniently located near a relative we were visiting and is in a decent neighborhood although we did witness a burglary or the aftermath of a mugging which had police swarming the neighborhood and a helicopter buzzing overhead. This however can happen in any large city so it was not a big deal as far as I was concerned. The rooms are very nice although the room that we were in did not have a wall separating the shower and jacuzzi and sharing the room with my 20 something daughter was a bit awkward in terms of showering and such. The staff presented us with breakfast vouchers and drink vouchers which was very nice. The breakfast was actually pretty good - made to order omlet, Irish soda bread, coffee, juice, etc. The place was crazy on the morning of St. Patty's day but we still manage to use our voucher for an Irish Breakfast that they were serving which was fantastic. So overall, definitely worth a stay but more so for couples.

Room Tip: Our room faced the rear parking lot and there was a "banging" noise that we heard quite of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    111
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
40
208
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed over on a Friday night, taking advantage of their "Lucky Friday" special, which includes two free pints of beer and a free hot continental breakfast comprised of a deliciou made-to-order omelette, sausage links, seasoned potato patties, and a variety of breads and cereal. The room was cozy, with a comfortable bed and large open bathroom. The double whirlpool provided a wonderful, relaxing end to the day. We had a peaceful night's sleep, the only noise being that from the building's pipes (we think).

We would definitely stay here again! Everyone was courteous and the ambience was very nice--quintessential Irish!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
412 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was a nice place and in a great location in downtown Milwaukee. We arrived and was able to find parking in their lot, although they do offer to park your car if there is no space so it wouldn't have been a problem. Check in was perfectly efficient and we went up to our room. The room was as described and actually turned out to be quieter than I thought. The rooms were nicely appointed and clean. We went out to a few places we had wanted to see and came back for a late dinner at the pub. We found the service in the pub to be efficient but just a tad stiff rather than particularly friendly. I did not feel especially welcome; just another customer. The dinner food was very good; couldn't be better actually. I found the style for breakfast the next morning a little confusing but overall fine. The tables were not being cleared or cleaned off so there were limited choices to sit by the windows. Check out was a little slow, but overall no real complaints. I would stay here again. It was a nice place for a downtown hotel and a nice change from a big chain hotel for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeClaire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband & I were looking to get away for a weekend trip so we headed to Milwaukee and the County Clare. Very cute place! Very homey and Irish. The restaurant/pub had good food. We had lunch and we cameback in the evening for a drink. The little fireplace nook is so cute and we were lucky enough to get a small table and sit there while sipping our complimentary (part of our weekend package) pints by the fire! There was also an Irish music group playing. It is a smaller restaurant/pub area and we were afraid that it would get loud with the live music but it wasn't too bad. It was VERY crowded though. Our package also included free breakfast. I don't eat eggs so I was a little disappointed b/c the main thing they offer are omlets. There were some sausage, english muffins, juice, and yogurt too so I made due.My husband said his omlet was great! The only minor complaints: the beds weren't very soft, but in an older hotel like this we weren't expecting any different. Also, I think the heaters are set up somehow to not turn on when you aren't in the room. It was a co ld and snowy weekend. We'd leave to sight see for hours at a time and come back and it was SO COLD!!! Especially when we'd leave at night for dinner, then come back and have a drink in the pub, and come upstairs to open a bottle of wine and hop in the hot tub....super cold in the room! The last minor complaint is the parking! The lot is not large enough to accommodate all of the patrons & the pub guests so you have to turn in your keys to the bartender when you come back in the evening and they move the cars around later. It was never a problem for us, but leaving the keys to our luxury car with a stranger made us a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blakeberch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a great stay on our last visit!! The room was clean and nicely decorated. The whirlpool tub is just wonderful! We ate at the pub for dinner and the food was great! The breakfast in the morning was very tasty too.
We are looking forward to our next stay at the County Clare!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#37 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Property: County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,085 - ₹ 10,085
Hotel Class:2.5 star — County Clare Irish Inn and Pub 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan, gluten free, and dairy free options, of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your County Clare Irish Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing