We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly big rooms with kitchenettes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Pros:
* Room has lots of empty space, 2 desks, sofabed, and kitchenette, and very clean
* Free wifi, breakfast buffet
* Very close to Art Museum, Amtrak, right in downtown Milwaukee
* Heating system works well

Cons:
* Toilets are a bit noisy, could hear the neighbor's toilet flushing
* Parking costs $16

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prodigiouswizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnMke, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Prodigiouswizard, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. I know those who are looking for advice from past guests appreciate the feedback that you provided. We hope to be able to serve you again if your travels ever bring you back to Milwaukee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 333 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Ever do a cartwheel in a hotel room? Easy here, our room was huge! Perfect for an anniversary night away from home but with the toddler. Our two-room suite had a kitchen, stocked with everything we could need, and it was comfortable and clean. The location let us see the downtown area with a simple walk. As long as we didn't want to wait in line for a waffle at breakfast like most everyone else did, it was huge and delicious and most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueDanube2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnMke, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

I am so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy a night away for your anniversary even if you did have you little one with you. As a brand, Residence Inn suites are designed to allow travels to be able to eat, work and relax. I guess you also noticed that we could add gymnastics to that! Our location is great for exploring the city. I hope that we will be able to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel is in the old Gimble's Department store, and the developers did a good job of retaining a few of the old architectural details, which keeps it from feeling like a run-of-the-mill suburban hotel. This isn't old-world awesome like the Pfister Hotel, but for the money, and the room sizes, it's a nice clean place. Heated (paid) parking!! Soaring ceilings, nice kitchens. Some rooms have river views. I've stayed several times, and each room has been BIG. Complimentary full breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WILOHMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnMke, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

WILOHMN, thank you for being a loyal guest. We truly appreciate your business. We are very proud of the fact that we are a little different than the average Residence Inn. We take pride in the history of our building. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel to the housekeeping department. It is always encouraging to them to know that people appreciate all of their hard work. Hopefully, we will see you the next time you travel to Milwaukee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed three nights in January. This downtown hotel is a great home away from home. Hotel seems a little worn out but still in great condition. Room was spacious and well appointed. Easy access to many downtown sites. Underground parking a bit cumbersome but greatly appreciated on cold snowy days. Morning breakfast was well stocked and tasty as usual. Evening light meals included free soda, beer, and wine. Overall, great place to rest after a days work.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kokodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnMke, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others. We always like to hear that we can provide a comfortable environment for our business travelers after a hard day’s work. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our evening social hour. If your business ever brings you back to Milwaukee, we would love to be your ‘home away from home’ again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed here one night on a recent business trip and found that the hotel, while not particularly charming, covered the basics quite nicely. The hotel didn't impress me greatly upon arrival, set back from the street with a little half-circle drive that was a big empty space, quite unadorned and blank, the entrance shared with a couple of other commercial enterprises -- a bit confusing to someone who hasn't been there before. My taxi drove by it a couple times without realizing that's where it was. The check-in staff-person was kind of brusque and awkward. I had arrived after the restaurant closed (it was only 7:45 PM) -- unfortunate, because I was really hungry (luckily, Mo's Irish Pub a block away helped, with its excellent burgers!).

But on the positive side, my room was enormous, clearly geared to business people on longer stays than mine. I really appreciated all the space -- an entry, hall, large kitchenette, living room area, and a whole separate bedroom and bath area, really more of a suite than a room. It was on the corner, so I could look out and see both the lake, a couple blocks away, and the river -- lovely! The bed was comfortable and I slept well. The furnishings were basic but adequate. The coffee-maker, however, defied my understanding, and after 5 minutes of trying to brew a cup, I gave up and went down for breakfast at the very comfortable "Hearth" area where a full breakfast was available, included in the room fee. I also found the lighting system hard to figure out -- you had to flip the switches in a certain order in order to get them to work -- not so easy for a tired traveler to figure out.

My stay was short, but I would say that I found the hotel short on charm but good in terms of providing decent accommodations in a central downtown location. If you are a business-person in need of a place to stay for more than a day or two, the extra space, and business center on the ground floor, would no doubt be especially appealing.

Room Tip: The corner rooms with views of the lake and the river are particularly nice!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnMke, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Veever, thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Milwaukee. I am glad that you enjoyed the suite that you stayed in. I do apologize for the difficulty that you experienced with the coffee maker and the light switches. I will definitely pass this information on to our Maintenance department. It is valuable feedback like yours that allows us to grow and become a better hotel. As the hotel does not have a restaurant in it, we do offer our complimentary evening social hour from 5:30-7:30 Monday through Wednesday evenings. I am sorry that you were not able to take advantage of this amenity. If your travels ever bring you back to Milwaukee, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#17 of 56 in Milwaukee
279 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 648 N Plankinton Ave, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2900
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: ₹ 9,225 - ₹ 21,113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing