We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Milwaukee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

There is really nothing bad to say about this hotel. Staff is great, food is great and the decor is unique and interesting. They are even dog friendly which is great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevensonec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for the review! We hope to have you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,154 - 1,158 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

What is better than being welcomed with a complementry cocktail upon check in? We went to Milwaukee to see the SF Giants play the Brewers but also to check out the local scene. The hotel is not in the middle of town which in my opinion is great as there is less hustle and bustle. If you are into Harley's the museum is a close walk and was visible from our room. The walk downtown was only about 15 minutes and we felt safe making the trek both day and night. The hotel has limited breakfast options but we recommend taking a short 7 minute walk to Zak's. After leaving the hotel entrance go left on Florida to 2nd street and hang a left. Zak's is at 231 S 2nd street. The food is fresh and the wait staff is very friendly. They are closed on Mondays but the rest of the week they open all day.

Our room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room overlooked the railroad tracks and there are trains that come through but the windows in our room did a great job of blocking the sound. If you are a light sleeper there are complementary ear plugs in the room just in case.

All the employees at the hotel were friendly and provided great information on what to do and where to eat. A great place to spend a few days in Milwaukee!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper don't get a room on the north side as that is where the trains come t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you so much for the review. I am glad to hear that you were able to try out Zak's restaurant. It is a great place to have breakfast and is another amazing neighbor to have in the 5th Ward with us. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

What a lovely hotel! My fiancé and I spent a getaway Saturday evening and we loved it, from the welcome cocktail to dinner at the bar while watching a game with other guests to brunch on Sunday. Comfortable beds too, we slept very well! Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthSider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you so much for the review. I am happy to hear that you had a great time duri g your getaway. We will be ready and wiring next time you come to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is now my favorite hotel. That honor used to belong to the Hotel Sax in Chicago but the Iron Horse is now tops on my list of coolest places to stay. The service was impeccable, the facilities excellent and my room was luxurious. Room service - yummy and of course the beer selection was mind blowing. Stay here if you have a chance!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duvibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

It is such a compliment to hear that we are your new favorite hotel! We hope to become the hotel of choice for all of our guests. Thank you so much and we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Every year we go to an American City to see a Baseball game. This year it was Milwaukee. Based on Trip Advisor recommendations we stayed at the Iron Horse. It was excellent. Every thing
from the service, attention to details, lovely meal at the Smythe and overall atmosphere. A great
restaurant in the area called Zaks. Went for breakfast and dinner. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brae86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

I hope you had a just a great of a time at Miller Park as you did with us and I am happy o hear you had a chance to visit Zak's. We have a great little community in the 5th Ward and we like to see our guests enjoy it. Thank you for the review and we would love to ave you back next time you are in Milwaukee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,953 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#8 of 56 in Milwaukee
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,685 reviews
Historic Third Ward
The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: ₹ 11,548 - ₹ 20,903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing