We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of Horsepower”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of Horsepower”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Iron Horse twice since its opening.
I have to say that it's a real treat to finally have some choice when traveling to Milwaukee and this hotel is by far the only establishment I plan to stay at next time in town.
This unique boutique hotel (housed in an old Harley Davidson factory) is thoroughly genuine, comfortable, green, friendly and lots of fun.
The lobby, rooms/suites, bar and restaurants are all well designed with a compliment of "harley" museum signature pieces that are perfectly placed throughout the hotel..
You feel like you are taking a slight step back in time but surrounded by all the modern day amenities.
The restaurant menus are "comfort" based, well balanced and the food is quite good.
The hotel sits adjacent to a train track but it only seems to add to the overall experience.

My congratulations to the hotel owner for developing such a great hotel concept, to the hotel management for their nearly flawless day to day execution and to the staff for providing some of the friendliest service ever experienced.

(The only one little negative comment I would make is that the perfume sprayed when entering the hotel lobby aggrevated rather than stimulated my senses).

I highly recommend that you drop in to the Iron Horse next time you are in Milwaukee....
It's well worth the experience!!

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the side of the hotel with the train track or near the outdoor bar area in the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
This has to be one of the best titles for a review that we have received and I'm happy to hear that you had such an amazing time. Thank you so much for the compliments on our staff and the hotel itself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    206
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
160
709
62
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but lots of attention to detail. They gave us cocktails when we checked in...I like that!

They have a library with cozy seating, fireplace, tons of books and games. We ordered beers and played uno and jenga on a Saturday afternoon.

The food in the lounge is unique and everything I've had has been good. Smyth was a typical fine dining resturant...nothing amazing.

Highly recommend staying here, drinking here, and eating in their lounge.

Room Tip: Beware it's by a train track...light sleepers request a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
I am so happy To hear that you were able to enjoy the Library. We love it when our guests go in there and hang out by the fireplace or setup the monopoly board. It really is one of my favorite spaces in the hotel. We hope to have you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Iron Horse for a very brief stay to present at a business conference. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer....this is one of the most unique hotels I've ever stayed in. From the original brick wall in my guest room, to the FANTASTIC barbecued rib "small plate" app that I had in the bar. The murals on the walls in the guest rooms are beautiful. Unlike anything I've seen before. Service was fantastic. And the bathroom...the shower head is the "rain" type head and is almost a foot wide. Plus you get robes to wear and relax in the room. Complimentary bath/shower amenities are top notch, as is everything else at this hotel. Don't bother going out for meals....the food at this place can't be beat. Every little detail is attended to....far too many to include in one review. Check this place out....you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchermerhornTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you so much for the amazing review! I am sorry that you weren't able to stay longer but at least it gives you a reason to come see us again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I took my boyfiend here for his 54 birthday we I rented the corner alcove king room, The decor was awesome, and the food, service and the way they treated you was impeccable any thing you asked for they would do what ever they could to get it for you, Yes it is pricey, but worth it. The only thin I would say. is if your a light sleeper and are bothered by trains rumbling and jerking in the wee hours either use the ear plugs provided or ask for a room not near the train tracks, our room was righ above the train and a few times it did make a pass and was a bit loud, other than than that there is nothing I can say bad about this hotel we will be back.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the rail road tracks if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldyfirefighter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
I am so happy to hear that you had a great time and that your boyfriend had a great birthday. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette Mich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very stylish decor in public areas and the rooms. Interesting art elements and theme. Easy access to downtown. However, for over $200/night with parking, taxes etc I was disapointed that the stylish shower was not clean. Housekeeping needs to actually bend over and scrub in the corners. Toiletries were not replenished on the second day. I signed up with "Desires" and promised snacks were not delivered. Was I supposed to be wowed by the decor and not notice the penny pinching in the details?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you so much for the review. I am so sorry to hear about your experience with the cleanliness of your room and not receiving your Desires Amenity. This is never acceptable. Please feel free to contact me directly at jvalona@theironhorsehotel.com. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,097 - ₹ 37,882
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing