We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Iron Horse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 152
US$ 141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 148
US$ 138
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Milwaukee - Park Place(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
US$ 94
US$ 77
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 128
US$ 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Metro(Milwaukee)
US$ 182
US$ 177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 184
US$ 120
Aloft.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 125
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 113
US$ 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 88
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
US$ 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,802)
Filter reviews
1,802 results
Traveller rating
1,464
252
48
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,464
252
48
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe harley davidson museumsmyth restaurantcorner alcovemattress factorywelcome cocktailoutdoor barrain showerboutique hotelexposed brickcool hotelfavorite hotelgreat barlight sleeperamazing hotelrooms are spaciousfrom chicagohigh ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,301 - 1,306 of 1,802 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Honestly i disliked my room as it had a large, strange mural painted on it that didn't seem to fit the vibe of the building.
It is a delicate thing to mix beat-up wood and other materials to create someplace where you want to relax and sip martinis.
Great place. The lobby alone is a great destination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the mural in your room. The women that are depicted in the murals are all natives of Milwaukee. They are meant to be a celebration of the people of Milwaukee, specifically the women. Thank you again for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We did not spend the night, but stopped in because I liked what I had read on line. We stayed at the County Clare so we were in the area. We had to pay 5 dollars to park for 30 min. We had a disappointing bloody mary, good beer cheese soup at the bar, and left spending more then half of what we spent the entire night before at the county clare pub. That being said the hotel looked awesome, a place that I can see myself visiting in the future.

Room Tip: Ignore my sleep quality rating. I didn't spend the night. I couldn't remove it from my iPad.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredstravelingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for stopping in while you were in town. I apologize for the quality of your Bloody Mary. It is always our intention to make sure that our guests leave happy, whether that is in our restaurants or hotel. I hope that during your next trip to Milwaukee you will stay with us. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

First trip to Milwaukee and the Iron Horse was perfect! Planned a birthday weekend for my boyfriend and this "manly" hotel had it all. We were there during Derby weekend of 2011 and were a little annoyed by the noise level in the bar from our room. After letting them know, they upgraded us to a great suite! It was like living in the lap of luxury! We are planning a return trip soon and this hotel is certainly high on the list.

The downfall to the hotel is the location to the rest of the city. The city is pretty small so it's easily walkable but would like it to be a little closer. Not a huge deal.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmoore929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

We appreciate the time you took to post this wonderful review. We do host an annual Kentucky Derby party that is very popular in the city and well attended. The Kentucky Derby Party is actually happening in just a couple of weeks and is looking to be just as large as last year. Should you be staying with us at the same time please let us know so we can be sure to have you on a higher floor. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a very nice property with a terrific bed, complimentary WI-FI (what a great thing compared to all the other hotels that rip you off for this must have) and great coat racks on the wall. The bathroom sink bowl is quite shalllow so be careful when shaving or you'll make a big mess! The shower (no tub in our room) is large with stone walls (great in that sense) but the overhead flow is quite light so you may feel like you want to have Seinfeld's Kramer put in that high flow device. There is a great plasma TV with true HD which is also nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BosoxKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to hear that you appreciated the complimentary wifi that we offer at the hotel. Wifi has quickly become an essential for most people. The owner of the hotel recognized this and wanted the wifi to be a complimentary amenity not one that should be charged for. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Went to the Iron Horse over St. Patrick's Day Weekend. It is an awesome hotel. Great decorating in the lobby and the rooms are nice too. We stayed in a corner room on the third floor, next to railroad tracks. We could barely hear the trains contrary to some reviews. Only weird thing is the shower. Has frosted glass so can see from the room. There also isn't a shower door. The shower is HUGE though and so is the bathroom itself. Fully stocked minibar and snacks. We had a good laugh at the "intimate" items in the snack basket. Bed was really comfortable, we slept great. Had a good time in the bar. It's open late and reasonably priced. Great atmosphere. Staff directed us to a nice area of town to hang out in that wasn't as crowded as Water Street. Went to a few cool bars there and had a good time. We will definitely be returning to the Iron Horse. Will definitely be adding one pictures to my review.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieLaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

I am so happy to hear that your stay with us left such a great impression! We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews