We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely plush old factory”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Honestly i disliked my room as it had a large, strange mural painted on it that didn't seem to fit the vibe of the building.
It is a delicate thing to mix beat-up wood and other materials to create someplace where you want to relax and sip martinis.
Great place. The lobby alone is a great destination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the mural in your room. The women that are depicted in the murals are all natives of Milwaukee. They are meant to be a celebration of the people of Milwaukee, specifically the women. Thank you again for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,134 - 1,138 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We did not spend the night, but stopped in because I liked what I had read on line. We stayed at the County Clare so we were in the area. We had to pay 5 dollars to park for 30 min. We had a disappointing bloody mary, good beer cheese soup at the bar, and left spending more then half of what we spent the entire night before at the county clare pub. That being said the hotel looked awesome, a place that I can see myself visiting in the future.

Room Tip: Ignore my sleep quality rating. I didn't spend the night. I couldn't remove it from my iPad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredstravelingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for stopping in while you were in town. I apologize for the quality of your Bloody Mary. It is always our intention to make sure that our guests leave happy, whether that is in our restaurants or hotel. I hope that during your next trip to Milwaukee you will stay with us. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

First trip to Milwaukee and the Iron Horse was perfect! Planned a birthday weekend for my boyfriend and this "manly" hotel had it all. We were there during Derby weekend of 2011 and were a little annoyed by the noise level in the bar from our room. After letting them know, they upgraded us to a great suite! It was like living in the lap of luxury! We are planning a return trip soon and this hotel is certainly high on the list.

The downfall to the hotel is the location to the rest of the city. The city is pretty small so it's easily walkable but would like it to be a little closer. Not a huge deal.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmoore929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

We appreciate the time you took to post this wonderful review. We do host an annual Kentucky Derby party that is very popular in the city and well attended. The Kentucky Derby Party is actually happening in just a couple of weeks and is looking to be just as large as last year. Should you be staying with us at the same time please let us know so we can be sure to have you on a higher floor. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a very nice property with a terrific bed, complimentary WI-FI (what a great thing compared to all the other hotels that rip you off for this must have) and great coat racks on the wall. The bathroom sink bowl is quite shalllow so be careful when shaving or you'll make a big mess! The shower (no tub in our room) is large with stone walls (great in that sense) but the overhead flow is quite light so you may feel like you want to have Seinfeld's Kramer put in that high flow device. There is a great plasma TV with true HD which is also nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BosoxKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to hear that you appreciated the complimentary wifi that we offer at the hotel. Wifi has quickly become an essential for most people. The owner of the hotel recognized this and wanted the wifi to be a complimentary amenity not one that should be charged for. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Went to the Iron Horse over St. Patrick's Day Weekend. It is an awesome hotel. Great decorating in the lobby and the rooms are nice too. We stayed in a corner room on the third floor, next to railroad tracks. We could barely hear the trains contrary to some reviews. Only weird thing is the shower. Has frosted glass so can see from the room. There also isn't a shower door. The shower is HUGE though and so is the bathroom itself. Fully stocked minibar and snacks. We had a good laugh at the "intimate" items in the snack basket. Bed was really comfortable, we slept great. Had a good time in the bar. It's open late and reasonably priced. Great atmosphere. Staff directed us to a nice area of town to hang out in that wasn't as crowded as Water Street. Went to a few cool bars there and had a good time. We will definitely be returning to the Iron Horse. Will definitely be adding one pictures to my review.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieLaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

I am so happy to hear that your stay with us left such a great impression! We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,921 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#7 of 56 in Milwaukee
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: ₹ 13,453 - ₹ 28,847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing