We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel yet”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Waupaca, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“best hotel yet”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have stayed at ths hotel twice and both times have been awsome. the staff are very friendly very helpful. the rooms were spotless. the pool and hot tub were very well taken care of. these people know how to treat their guests. i go to drill weekend once a month in merrill and this is the only hotel i will stay at. and the only hotel i recomend to people and fellow soldiers. also the price was the best. very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob2716, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for posting your review, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
24
2
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for his 3-day work engagement. I was happily surprised to find the staff to be so friendly and helpful in spite of the very late check-in (it was nearly 2:30 am). The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and had a comfortable bed. I don't really sleep well in hotels (who does!?) but it's worth noting, had a pretty sound sleep. The sheets were clean (a big one for me) and overall looks like the hotel is maintained well. You can tell the staff really cares and is willing to help. Not only that, the first day in we realized the microwave included in the room wasn't working properly and the manager replaced it right away without making us wait (good service considering we were staying for more than 1 night.) We'd definitely stay at this place if work calls for another trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mena19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob2716, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Dear mena,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bob Mehta
General Manager
econolodge
715-536-9526
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had stayed at a horrible hotel the night before. The owner was able to squeeze our family into a room that he usually keeps open. They were very clean and quiet. We had a great nights sleep. Very accomodating. Also had a breakfast in the am! I would recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob2716, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here, and we thank you for letting us know that we are doing a good job at making our guests feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirksville, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We found the owner of this hotel to be very friendly and accommodating!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Like lots of Econo Lodges, this is an older hotel that shows quite a bit of wear. The location is very handy being right off of highway 51, just north of Wausau, WI.

This was a busy weekend at the hotel, it was almost full. The first room we were given was very smokey smelling, even though all rooms are non smoking. The lady checking us in said they have replaced all bedding, repainted etc, but can't get rid of the smell. We were given a second room that smelled a little bit better, but still had the smoke smell. When my wife and I went to bed, we could smell the smoke smell coming from the mattress.

The other problem was the internet was down in all of the rooms (I talked to other guests who had the same problem). The wifi seemed to work only in the lobby.

The rooms were reasonably clean and the staff was pretty good. I would hesitate to stay at this hotel again unless I could be assured that all of the smoke issues have been cleared up.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merrill hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrill
0.4 km away
Badger Hotel
Badger Hotel
#3 of 4 in Merrill
41 reviews
35.0 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
35.4 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Rothschild
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
434 reviews
34.9 km away
Super 8 Tomahawk
Super 8 Tomahawk
#2 of 4 in Tomahawk
173 reviews
24.6 km away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 200 S Pine Ridge Ave, Merrill, WI 54452-8814 (Formerly Pine Ridge Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Merrill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,328 - ₹ 5,167
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Ridge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing