We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B&B”
Review of The Audubon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Audubon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay, room was clean, hot tub was great. Common areas were interesting to walk through. Attached restraunt was good. Free wifi was fast at 6+meg.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 242 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband and I booked this for a birding trip to the Horicon Marsh because we had a Living Social deal. Everything was wonderful--the hotel itself had wonderful antique character, the staff was friendly and the rooms were nice and clean.

We ate at the adjoining restaurant for dinner and the food was AWESOME, although the service was slow. That wasn't a big deal to us, however, as we had all the time in the world. The complimentary breakfast was good and my husband LOVED the pancakes!

Overall, a great stay and definitely hope to stay again next year when we visit the Horicon Marsh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookievb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

After a very long business day, I pulled up to the Audubon Inn in Mayville, WI. I wasn't sure what to expect. I was graciously welcomed by the Inn owner Stacy, who immedialtely took charge by helping me in with my bags and getting me settled in my room. As it was already late in the evening, I headed to the resturant for an adult beverage and dinner. Again, I was graciously welcomed by Rosie, the Inn's bartender who makes the best Lemon Drop martinitis ever while she filled me in on the history of the Inn and the town of Mayville. The meal and hospitality were amazing. Off to bed and the best night's sleep I have had in a very long time. The big question remains: "is the Inn haunted?" If so, even the ghosts were gracious! Do not miss this vintage location for a special occasion or business. I am definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I and my girlfriend stayed in the Bluebird suite for a single Saturday night and found the staff to be some of the best we have had the pleasure to encounter. While some of the amenities have not been updated (tube TV instead of flatscreen) and there is no pool, this is exactly the sort of place I hope to find when I go looking for a quiet, off-the-beaten-path B&B with all of the cozy, homey qualities you might see in a charming small-town retreat. The whirlpool bath was comfortably big enough for two (I'm 6'1" & 300 pounds), the bar was reasonably priced, and the decor in the hallways includes a small library and antique furniture (early ~1900s). It's a nice, quiet little town but not so far off the beaten path that you can't find a choice of watering holes and food, and the post office is literally a block away. Otherwise, the area is quiet and relaxing, and the bartender is a font of information and a pleasant source of friendly conversation. Everything in our suite and in the hallways appeared clean and well-kept, and we heard no noise from adjacent rooms or the hallway, despite the inn being fully booked.

This is a perfect getaway unless you're a tech-head and need your digital fix (they have wi-fi, but I can't comment on that, since we didn't use it), or simply must have a pool or wild night life.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Charming, affordable, comfortable. Reasonable dining, quaint parking arrangements, great sleeping, free and generous breakfast.

Room Tip: Each room is different. Enjoy the stairs - allows you to see more of the architectural detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
20.4 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
22.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
13.6 km away
Country Hearth Inn and Suites Lomira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
20.7 km away
Gateway Inn & Suites Waupun
25.4 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Audubon Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Audubon Inn

Address: 45 N Main St, Mayville, WI 53050-1637
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mayville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Price Range: ₹ 6,170 - ₹ 10,846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Audubon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, The Audubon Inn is a boutique full service hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. We offer 18 elegant guestrooms with high quality amenities, signature destination restaurant NOLA North Grille, a full selection of spa services, and close proximity to internationally renowned Horicon Marsh, museums, artisan foods, shopping, sightseeing, and outdoor recreation - all in an atmosphere of relaxed luxury. We look forward to serving you and creating an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Audubon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Hotel Mayville
Audubon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing