We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Enjoyable!!”
Review of The Audubon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Audubon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were at the Audubon in on Tuesday night for my husband's birthday on a Groupon special, and we found the place to be delightfully pleasant. The ambiance was fantastic as well as the furniture and remodeling. They have gone above and beyond to assure the historical value has not been compromised. We found it to be very relaxing! Everyone there was very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent too. I would recommend this establishment to others.

Room Tip: we were in the Jr. suites and found that to have ample room, which is their standard room. Since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathyrn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

Slept in a warm comfortable bed, the room was quiet. All the rooms have names and it is quite nice.

Room Tip: The Bald Eagle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnG229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

5 good friends went for a night away to celebrate 1 of the women's birthday. We had a wonderful time!

The rooms are delightful and clean. They are each unique and by having 5 rooms we were able to see the different styles. Gordon greeted us and he was helpful and fun. We explained that we were there to celebrate a birthday and he made it fun each time we saw him. He had some time when we checked in so he explained the history of the Inn and showed us some of the unique touches we may have missed otherwise. He is a great personality to be there and he was running his butt off during the busy evening hours.
The dining room and bar are gorgeous! We had a nice table in the back, which was good as we were lingering and can get loud, (5 women with lots to say). The food was great.
We spent some time in the bar after dinner and Mike the bartender was fun & interesting while being very professional
Breakfast was very nice, the coffee hot which is a plus in our group. It was a nice variety and enough for the morning start. We lingered over coffee until 10:30 and did not have any pressure to move on by the breakfast staff.
Overall a very enjoyable experience. In fact one in our group made a reservation to come back with her husband for the May bird weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milwaukee1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night last week with a deal we purchased through Living Social. For a very low price we received a Standard room, free appetizer, 2 flights of beer or wine (we chose beer and received 3 - 12oz beers each!) and continental breakfast. Everyone at the hotel and in the bar were very nice and helpful. We enjoyed the bar atmosphere and the dinner was excellent and very reasonably priced. Our hotel room was clean and the bathroom was recently updated. Overall we had a very pleasant stay at the Audubon Inn, but the town of Mayville is pretty sparse if you are looking for other restaurants or bars or any type of shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Audubon Inn this past New Year's Eve as we were looking for a different experience from the usual NYE festivities. What a great choice we made! The Inn is absolutely beautiful. We checked in without any problems (the owner Stacy was extremely helpful over email in answering questions and getting our room, dinner, and drink reservations all set up).

Our jr. suite was just lovely - tall ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, a beautiful four poster bed, and nice sitting area. The bathroom had a HUGE whirlpool tub which made for a wonderfully relaxing time. We had a great time reading the Guest Book in our room to see all the different people who had passed through the room since 2006! We also enjoyed the board games scattered throughout the main areas on each floor. It was fun to relax with a glass of wine and play a game.

The dinner at the attached restaurant was probably the best part of our trip....our server Gordon took wonderful care of us with prompt and friendly service. The truffle mushroom soup was out of this world....be sure you try it!!! After dinner we had drinks in the bar and enjoyed the live band. Wonderful music, but our only wish in that regard was that they had mixed in a few more 'upbeat' songs we could dance to, as it was NYE afterall!

Yes there are a few quirks as mentioned in earlier posts (room heat, water temperature, dated tv's, etc) but that is to be expected from a building erected in the 1800's. The little quirks are what make staying at a B&B what it is, and the owners have taken care to ensure that there are still some modern amenities to make up for this (dvd players in the room, jet tub, etc).

Overall we had an amazing trip. We do wish the breakfast was kept out until check-out at 11am vs being packed away at 10am (especially since it was New Years Eve and most guests were up quite late the night before). Also was a little disappointed in the toiletries in the room...would have liked conditioner to go with the shampoo.

We'd love to come back in the summer to experience the Marsh and walk the town. Thanks again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hummingbird Suite which overlooks the main road - there was very little traffic on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
22.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
13.6 km away
Country Hearth Inn and Suites Lomira
20.4 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, West Bend
29.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
30.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Audubon Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Audubon Inn

Address: 45 N Main St, Mayville, WI 53050-1637
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mayville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Price Range: ₹ 5,929 - ₹ 12,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Audubon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, The Audubon Inn is a boutique full service hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. We offer 18 elegant guestrooms with high quality amenities, signature destination restaurant NOLA North Grille, a full selection of spa services, and close proximity to internationally renowned Horicon Marsh, museums, artisan foods, shopping, sightseeing, and outdoor recreation - all in an atmosphere of relaxed luxury. We look forward to serving you and creating an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Audubon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Hotel Mayville
Audubon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing