We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$335
View deal
Booking.com$335
Hotels.com$335
Travelocity$335
Priceline$335
FindHotel$335
Trip.com$335
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
978
214
60
28
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
978
214
60
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horseback riding zip lining plunge pool costa rica beach club our honeymoon pura vida main restaurant swim up bar howler monkeys liberia airport ceviche golf course rainy season bedroom villa dirt road remote location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2019

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights for our honeymoon. We didn't know what to expect but it was beyond anything we ever would have thought!

Upon arriving, we were greeted with lemongrass towels and a welcome drink at the bar. Marvin was the nicest man ever! He was fabulous and helped us get to our room and get our baggage together.

The food was some of the best food I have ever had. They have stone brick cooked pizza and really, it was one of the best meals. The breakfast was probably my favorite. They have a great buffet but you can also order off the menu (I recommend the Tito Burrito!) All of the food was so fresh and made to order. So good.

The activities being included was amazing. We went horseback riding through a pretty trail and on the beach. The zip lining was my favorite activity ever. Zip lining through a rainforest is definitely something you should check off your bucket list. Amazing.

All in all, Hotel Punta Islita is one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed at. Between the views, the activities, the pool - everything is just so serene. We will definitely be back! (Hopefully sooner rather than later!)

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kristynjanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MJCR2020, Outreach Manager at Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2019

Looking forward to sooner! Thanks for sharing your special life milestone with us :) We would love to help you celebrate many wonderful anniversaries. It was a pleasure to introduce you to the thrilling magic of the zip-line! Thanks so much for highlighting your favorite elements of the Hotel Punta Islita experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

Spent 8 nights with the family mid August. It truly is a remarkable hotel. I can’t say enough about the service. Everyone is friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Laurel room. A two bedroom villa down the hill from the main lodge. It was spacious (huge) and had a full kitchen. 2.5 baths. Stocked with everything you need if you want to eat in. I do think the furniture in the main area needs updating. The furniture it self was fine but the cushions are dated and warn. There was an outside plunge pool that was very relaxing after a day at the beach. We used the pool every afternoon before going to dinner. The 2 restaurants on property were very good. Food was prepared well and the staff was there for anything you needed. This property was everything we were looking for on this trip. Place to relax. It does have many activities for you to do and take advantage of if you want. All included. Thanks to everyone at the hotel that made our vacation a time to remember.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ron5980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MJCR2020, Outreach Manager at Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2019

Eliciting relaxation and fun is our feel-good hospitality objective. Thanks for letting us know that your stay was a wellness experience. Blending restful moments with active adventures is the best way to enjoy Costa Rica to the fullest. It was a pleasure to be your hosts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019 via mobile

Wonderful staff, beautiful views, high quality service. Activities were included and we loved seeing the local community. Beach was a little rocky - but we could hardly be taken away from the infinity pool!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank anneliserd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MJTravelCR, Outreach Manager at Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

Thrilled to learn about your marvellous experience anneliserd! We love to combine eco-adventures with authentic cultural immersion experiences. And... yes we must brag about our infinity pool. Stunning design, stunning views. Did you know that it was featured in The Travel Channel as one of the best-view pools on the planet? Thanks for highlighting it in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019

My review is of spa and restaurant services as I have been visiting this resort since 2007 and just returned a recent visit this August.
The lush tropical backdrop on this beautiful unspoiled mountain add to the seclusive nature and private ambiance that will be enjoyed for those that come to this resort.
The spa employees and the services offered are world class. Relaxation offered with untouched nature as the back drop. My wife and I had Swedish and deep tissue massages 80 minutes each and were both delighted at the relaxation and muscle relief provided after our journey over form the states. we had several meals at the restaurant for lunch dinner and dessert. Proper dining service with consistent food offerings. Seafood is locally sourced as it should be with delicious Ceviche,seafood,pasta and traditional steak dishes. I was surprised on our last evening to enjoy a fresh sushi buffet with traditional hand rolled spicy tuna,california, and Costa Rica roll. Outside dining at sunset will surely create some memories to cherish as you look at the mountains and ocean views while you dine and drink with your love or loves. I will continue to visit this majestic place and recommend you do too.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank adolfoc677
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MJTravelCR, Outreach Manager at Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

¡Gracias adolfoc677! Each visit is a wonderful opportunity to welcome you back in full friendship. Thanks for taking the time to detail your experience. Our seclusion and natural setting are uniquely cherished and we are honored to retain them as defining characteristics of the Hotel Punta Islita experience. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

Our family of four (kids ages 8 and 10) stayed here in the Higueron villa. It is exactly as pictured on the website. There are a number of villas located on the hillside (read: lots of stairs), but that was ok with us. There are also some set further back, closer to the restaurant, etc. but we loved our location, as it felt remote, but not isolated. The location is halfway between the resort amenities (restaurant, adult pool, etc) at the top of the hillside and the beach, so it worked great for our family.

I don't know what I loved more about this place - the actual accomodations (the private plunge pool was awesome), the beach (never very crowded, and great to have a pool with swim up bar nearby), the activities (more on that below) or the people.

Accomodations - the villa was incredibly spacious, with more than enough room for our family of four. The kitchen was well equipped (we cooked dinner a few nights) and the beds were extremely comfortable. It felt like relaxation as soon as we stepped in.

The beach - a bit of a walk to the beach, but we knew that and it was worth it. You do have to cross the road to get there, so it feels removed from the main property, but not a big deal. Lots of seating, and the pool nearby was also a treat. We dined beachside a few times and food was good. Service was definitely on island time, so if your kiddos are hungry, order fast! Service is superfirendly and we were in admiration of the poolside bartender making so many shakes for all the kids, all with a smile!

Activities - one of the huge pluses of this place is all the included activities. We did so many of them - ziplining, horseback riding and arts and crafts in town. It was our first time ziplining and there were 5-6 lines we did. I suspect that if you've been ziplining before, it might be a bit tame for you, but for us, it was perfect. We felt very safe and taken care of. Horseback riding was an awesome highlight, we went through the woods and out on the beach - is there anything more amazing than a horseback ride along the beach? My kids enjoyed the arts and crafts in town and I liked being able to meet the locals and learn more about the town. We also went on a kayaking adventure (extra cost), but it was worth every penny. Luis was our guide for both kayaking and ziplining and he was so knowledgable about the area, the ecosystem and really taught us a lot about the area.

At the last minute, we decided to take surf lessons - again, an extra cost, but SO worth it. None of us had ever been surfing before and it was so much fun. We each had a teacher that worked with us individually for over an hour and we all made it up on the boards.

The people - everyone was so friendly and so helpful. They definitely went the extra mile. My favorite example - I forgot to pack aloe vera for sunburn and of course, my family had a little bit of a burn by the end of the trip. They didn't sell any at the gift shop, so we called the front desk and they brought us a small bottle of aloe vera from the spa. I so appreciate the going above and beyond.

The food - breakfast every day was good, and varied enough that we didn't get bored with the options. We ate dinner at the main restaurant one night and it was also very good, enjoyed dining poolside with the live guitarist.

As an aside, they also have a decent workout room. They were in the midst of replacing some aged equipment during our stay, but the room was equipped well enough for cardio and a full body strength work out (weights, TRX straps and cardio machines).

We loved Punta Islita so much that we've talked about doing a repeat for this year's Spring Break!

Date of stay: March 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmgkchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MJTravelCR, Outreach Manager at Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

Looking forward to your Spring Break return tmm03! We love connecting bold families with Costa Rica's intense eco-adventures. Doing so in a manner that fully embraces our country's signature charm and hospitality is our goal. Thanks for letting us know that we fully succeeded in crafting a bonding getaway. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews