We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view!”
Review of Bella Vista Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Suites
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Great central location. We received a lake view and it was lovely. Bed was comfy. Room and fixtures are a bit dated. Took the one hour boat ride around lake. Glad we did that. Be sure to eat breakfast at the Egg Harbor Cafe. We all agreed that it may be the best breakfast we have EVER had!!! Had dinner the night before at the Geneva Inn. We had a very large party and frankly the meals reflected that. Steaks were overcooked etc. Civiche was nice. Had cocktails at piano bar, they were out of stock on alot of stuff, not ready for a crowd.

Room Tip: ask for lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lemon737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgruberBVS, General Manager at Bella Vista Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback - It's very important to our team! You'll be glad to know that although the property was last renovated in 2009 we are currently in the beginning stages of planning our next upgrade. We strive to ensure our suites stay updated and fresh for all of our guests! We can't wait to see you again when you return to the shores of Lake Geneva!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    81
    44
    9
    16
See reviews for
66
134
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We just returned from a 2 night stay at this charming hotel. We booked the Presidential suite and a park view one bedroom suite on the same floor. Our family included 5 adults and 2 little ones. We usually stay at another hotel in the area, but decided to go back to the Bella Vista as it had been several years since our last stay. I requested an earlier check in than the stated 4pm. We were able to get in early to both rooms. Something we sincerely appreciated as we had an infant and preschooler needing naps.

We have stayed in the Presidential suite before so knew it would be comfortable. The photos online do not do it justice. The room was spotless with comfortable furniture. There are 2 bedrooms, full kitchen, living/dining room. There was plenty of room for all of us to gather for meals and enjoy the large balcony overlooking beautiful Geneva Lake. The beds are very comfortable. Having an extra 1/2 bath was a bonus. An extra full bath would have been even better. The full bathroom was very large though with shower, double sinks and jacuzzi tub. The master bedrm has a king size bed, 2 closets and 4 bathrobes. Very nice touch. There is also a breakfast counter in the kitchen with stools and a fireplace in the living room. The full kitchen is far enough away from the living area and bedrms that getting up early with an infant did not disturb the others sleeping in.

We found the kitchen to be fairly well stocked with supplies, however no spatula, and a few forks/spoons appeared to be missing, but we managed and in fact ate all of our meals in the presidential suite. There is a large closet in the kitchen/entry area. The second bedroom does not have a closet, but you won't miss it as there is ample closet space throughout the suite. The second bedrm has a queen bed, 1/2 bath and enough room to accommodate a pack n play. There are 3 flat screen televisions in the suite. Having a vcr was kind of interesting - and retro. You can rent movies downstairs. We didn't, but nice to know they were available. There is a sleeper sofa in the living room which was deemed very comfortable.

The park view suite has a separate living area, wet bar with microwave, fridge, coffee maker. The bedroom with balcony overlooking the park was very pretty with king size bed.

Each morning a generous, continental breakfast basket and morning paper are delivered outside your room with bagels, muffins, fruit cups,orange juice and oatmeal packets. The breakfast is much more substantial than it was when we stayed years ago. We couldn't possibly eat all of it.

The hotel is very quiet. The rooms open up to a balcony around each floor overlooking a lovely lobby/courtyard with Koi pond. We didn't even know others were staying on our floor until we saw the breakfast baskets outside doors in the morning. I was surprised to see someone coming out of the room above us because we never heard them, not even when out on the balcony.

I appreciate that the management limits the number of room keys per room and judging by the other patrons of the hotel, rents to a quieter clientele than we experienced at another resort up the street. This made for a very restful experience.

There is a lounge on the main floor with a terrace overlooking the lake. There are specials every night. We took advantage of the buy one/get one Monday night special. The bartenders are very friendly - it was a very pleasant way to spend a few hours. Board games and cards are available and a pool table just off the lounge area.

There is ample parking onsite as well as covered parking below the hotel. The surrounding area is just beautiful.

There is only one thing that would make Bella Vista perfect and that is an outside pool. The pool downstairs is clean and pleasant with a hot tub (my kids said it wasn't hot enough). My grandson enjoyed the pool very much and in May you don't mind not having an outside pool. There is also a spa which we did not use, but another nice feature.

I originally made our reservations via the internet, but spoke to Drew to confirm. He was so helpful and pleasant to deal with. I was very happy to see Drew at check in. He was just as polite and pleasant in person. The woman at reception on the day of check out could not have been nicer. I'm sorry I don't recall her name, but an absolute pleasure to deal with. I requested a 1230 check out. She suggested 1:00. I have stayed at many hotels and have never had a hotel employee suggest a later "late" check out. We were thrilled to have more time to sit on our beautiful balcony and enjoy our rooms.

I don't think you will find a better view of Geneva Lake at any other hotel in the immediate area. This will go down as one of our favorite family getaways. My son said he felt recharged. I think we all did. We were sad to leave, but plan to come back to this very charming hotel.

Room Tip: Check out specials on the hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Illinois1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgruberBVS, General Manager at Bella Vista Suites, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
I am so glad to hear you and your family had a great time at our hotel! Thank you so much your sharing your experience. I’ll make sure to get with housekeeping and ensure the items in the kitchen are fully stocked! You’ll also be glad to hear that this week we are installing DVD players in every suite, as much fun as it has been to have the retro VCR’s...Again, it’s great to know that you and family enjoyed all our hotel has to offer and I’ll be sure to pass on your kudos to Drew and our morning girl, Angela… We can’t wait to see you again, please let us know the next time you’ll be returning to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Well I was very excited about our weekend getaway to the Bella Vista Suites. It was a special gift from my husband and he got me a spa package to go along with the stay. The staff were friendly, but the hotel definetly needs a renovation. The bed sheets and spread were threadbare and the shower was a little scary, they need to get rid of the jacuzzi tubs and just put in a regular one, I don't know who would use it anyway.

The spa services were a in basement room that had window treatments and furniture in it from the 1990's which when getting a spa treatment I know I want to be in a clean fresh new type of atomosphere. I would not reccommend you get the spa package there if you are looking for a spa experience, if you just need a massage to take the edge off go for it, but do not book anything else. Overall it is not a bad place, but not a really good one either. The friendly staff was the only thing that saved the trip, and the awesome location. Before I stay here again though they will need to do a complete re-model.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgruberBVS, General Manager at Bella Vista Suites, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your review. I am very glad that you enjoyed our location and friendly team. We are continually working to ensure we keep our suites well-appointed, I apologize regarding the condition of the linens in your suite, since your stay we have upgraded our linen package in every suite. I am also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Spa so many of our guests have given it rave reviews. We hope that you give us another try, please let us know that the next time you’re in town and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The hotel is across the street from Geneva Lake and is about 2 blocks from both the public beach and downtown. There are a few great restaurants within walking distance.

The room was clean, but outdated. For example, the bathroom used both gold & chrome fixtures. The wallpaper in the living area was done very poorly. The TV was LCD and had a good selection of cable channels, however, it also was attached to a VCR. There is a $5.99 per rental VHS machine you can get movies from. The pillows were terribly thin. Almost better to just not use one at all.

The room did have a nice balcony with 2 chairs overlooking a parking area and a city park. It was nice that they had a refrigerator with water ($2.50) and a microwave. The complimentary breakfast basket they provided had bagels, muffins, orange juice, granola bars and fruit cocktail cups.

The hotel has a nice bar that has windows overlooking the lake. The service here and at the front desk was prompt and friendly. Check-in and check out were fast and my reservation was accurate. The slightly bad experience with an employee was at night when we were told abruptly that the pool area was closed. Would have been better if we'd been told it was closed and asked to leave, rather than just told "pool's closed."

I'd go back, but may want to spend more on a hotel that has been updated and was a bit more luxurious.

Room Tip: Be willing to pay for a lakefront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coso333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgruberBVS, General Manager at Bella Vista Suites, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very glad you enjoyed our wonderful location on the shores of Lake Geneva. We are continually working to ensure we keep our suites well-appointed, since your April stay we have upgraded our linen package as well as just this week added DVD players to every suite. I apologize regarding the closing of the pool and I have spoken to security to ensure they are more courteous in the future. We hope to see you again soon so that you can experience the new upgrades!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed here for one night for a getaway in a corner suite with a view of the lake. The suite was large, but had an awkward layout that had some wasted space. It had a kitchenette area which is always nice. It had 1.5 bathrooms, but the half bath seemed unnecessary except for the fact the full bath doesn't have a door. The actual bedroom portion was pretty small and tight and the furniture was very outdated. The only heating unit in the suite was in the bedroom and b/c of the shape of the suite the heat doesn't travel to the main living room very well. Overall the hotel is nice, has a good location and good service, but have realistic expectations of what you are getting going in as this hotel isn't overly fancy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 km away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
451 reviews
0.2 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
774 reviews
6.3 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
567 reviews
0.3 km away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
431 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Suites

Property: Bella Vista Suites
Address: 335 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2034
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#5 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,514 - ₹ 29,970
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Geneva's classic all-suite boutique hotel features a four story atrium and 39 well appointed one and two bedroom suites. Each suite has a private balcony, wet bar or kitchen, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and a toaster. Special amenities include a $10 Breakfast voucher to certain local restaurants, wireless high speed internet access, fluffy bathrobes, 32&42" flat screen LCD televisions,Jacuzzi bathtubs and breathtaking views of Lake Geneva. The Aqua Health and Wellness center and On the Waterfront lounge are also located at Bella Vista Suites. The hotel is also conveniently two blocks from downtown and the Riviera boat docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Lake Geneva
Bella Vista Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing