We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“B&B with lots of personality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Case's Turn of the Century Bed and Breakfast

Case's Turn of the Century Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Case's Turn of the Century Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“B&B with lots of personality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

For anyone that has stayed at a few B&B's, you know that each one has it's very own personality. Well Case's does not disappoint! The owner, Brenda, was extremely welcoming, friendly and inviting immediately upon arrival. We were greeted with wine and snacks in the kitchen and encouraged to meet the other couple staying for the night. Brenda ushered us into the antique-filled dining area to sit and chat. The old Victorian-style home is filled from top to bottom with tons of antiques, no doubt from the several antique shops she used to own prior to the B&B, so she told us. I had called before arriving to ask for a dinner recommendation since my husband and I were celebrating our anniversary, and Brenda suggested a great little Italian place in a nearby town called Paisano's, which was very nice. Her breakfast was great - two types of quiche, bacon, homemade muffins, carrot cake, juice and coffee, plus homemade applesauce!

While there were many things we liked about this place, we felt overall the inn could use a little TLC. Our room, the Sir Michael Mitchell room, was ornately decorated with a great two person jacuzzi tub. That was definitely the best part. But we noticed several cracks and bubbling paint on the ceiling, the bed squeaked so loudly we were afraid we'd wake our B&B neighbors just by rolling over, and the bathroom had no shower. The sink was oddly placed in the bedroom rather than with the toilet. One window did not have a pull down shade and let in a lot of sunlight in the morning, unfortunately preventing us from sleeping in, which we were so much looking forward to since it was a night away from our two year old! And the windows and walls are very thin, allowing for a lot of traffic noise and very little privacy from the neighboring room (we could hear each other talking, and neither of us were being loud). Despite these issues, I did find the bed to be quite comfortable (however my husband woke up with a backache) and the linens, towels and plush robes were very nice.

If you can get past the areas needing TLC, I think this place is worth a visit. Brenda is very friendly and loves talking to guests, and she will make your stay memorable for sure.

Room Tip: The B&B is located 4 blocks from the lake, and about 5 minutes drive from downtown Lake Geneva.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Brenda and Bob were very friendly and accomedating with all of the guests needs! We didn't know what we were expecting (found the inn on the internet) when we arrived, and were a million percent over-whelmed how wonderful this B&B turned out to be!! Brenda's quiche and dutch pancakes, plus all the sides (fruits, wine, snacks, breads, home-made muffins etc.) were all bonuses to us! Her cooking was superb!!
The room we reserved had a beautiful jacuuzi for two that we really loved!!! A large four-poster bed that was just as comfortable as ours was awesome! The room was very large! Brenda decorated the whole house like an interior desinger would, with beautiful antiques displayed just right.
Brenda and Bob even treated our family who came to pick us up for jaunts around town just like family! We didn't want to leave, we were having so much fun!! I even had the great fun of teaching Brenda my "famous Manicotti recipe" and we all had a fantastic dinner together.
We will be there every year to visit our family in Lake Geneva and we will stay there each time!! We made new friends and we are so lucky we came across this great couple and their beautiful B&B!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyFreeSpirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, IL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

My husband and I stayed two nights over Memorial Day weekend. This bed and breakfast is tucked away from the downtown/main area of Lake Geneva, but it is only a quick 5 minute drive or so into town. The room was very nice and comfortable. Wine is available all day long which is really nice if you're a wine drinker :) The breakfast is excellent and you have a window of 9am-11am i believe to get it. They make coffee/tea available right outside your room from about 6-6:30am which is also very nice. This is a great, quiet place to stay close to all the activities!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_you73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

This place was a little piece of heaven. The room we stayed in was nice and cozy. It almost felt like home. It was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of things in town. Brenda was very warm, inviting and ready for a chat. Breakfast was delicious. Watch out for her quiche! It is dynamite!!!!

  • Liked — Breakfsst
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jmjcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
5.4 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.5 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
5.1 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.3 km away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.9 km away
SevenOaks
SevenOaks
#1 of 14 in Lake Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Case's Turn of the Century Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Case's Turn of the Century Bed and Breakfast

Property: Case's Turn of the Century Bed and Breakfast
Address: N1599 Hillside Rd, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-4312
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,478 - ₹ 13,296
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing