We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good getaway”
Review of Mill Creek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill Creek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What I would call a very small Residence Inn without breakfast. Front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful.. Rooms were nice size, good appliences and a skylight on the third floor where we were. Clean rooms, good bed and overall very comfortable. The elevator is small and VERY slow. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Much quieter on the creek side but you give up the lake view. Kind of a toss up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for staying with us. Our front desk personnel are so friendly that many of our guests just love to stay and chat. You will be happy to know that The Mill Creek Hotel is now offering a light continental breakfast on weekdays for our guests. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 387 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Mill Creek Hotel has 33 suites. We had room 311 which faced the wooded park. The Hotel is downtown - only 1 minute from downtown & the Lake. The hotel is very clean. Each room has a full kitchen, small living room, bathtub with jets, and a separate bedroom. Our room had a small porch with chairs that faced the wooded park. A TV in the living room and bedroom. I understand policies but could not check in till 3PM. At 3 PM - five couples were waiting to check in. I had called and asked if we could check in at 2:30 and was told yes but "check in is at 3PM." We did stop by at 2PM to ask a question and definitely got the impression - no check in till3. The written policy does state you could be charged an additional fee if checked in sooner. I would definitely stay here again. The price was very reasonable. There really is no lobby - just a small area to check in. That didn't affect us. We only stayed one night but would like to come back for a few days.

Room Tip: we had room 311 which faced the wooded park - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindak07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
We try to make help out with the check-in time as much as possible, it helps to let us know as soon as you can what time you will be arriving.
We welcome your next visit to Lake Geneva and The Mill Creek Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Mill Creek Hotel 3-10-2012-a Staurday night. I found this Hotel by looking at other reviews. It was a pleasant surprise to see that it was a smaller Hotel and find that the room was So beautiful and even more beautiful was standing on porch and looking at the stream that runs alongside the Hotel. The birds were busy singing and it was like being all alone even though you were in a Hotel.
The Hotel is close to everything and you can see Lake Geneva from the balcony too.
We had such a nice peaceful stay-our mini-vacation. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: The even side rooms are on the stream and nature side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here with my wife and 1 year old daughter and was impressed. The lobby can be deceiving by its size and dated look but the room with its amenities is another story. We rented a suite and it surpassed expectations. Very clean, large and comfortable. Bathroom is great and my wife loved the tub. Location is right downtown so no need to pick up car keys once checked in.

Will be returning in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chi-Couple-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Mill Creek Hotel was a very nice place to stay. Above average. Extremely impressed with the size of the Suite and the modern amenities (as compared to our first impression of the lobby). My husband & I walked to the front desk and when a gentleman with a baby stroller walked through the front doors, the lobby was instantly crowded. The very slow elevator ride had us nervously giggling. We hovered at our 3rd floor stop for a good few seconds before it settled in and the doors finally opened. So if your clausterphobia makes you weary of elevators, take the stairs or stay on a lower floor. We'd booked on-line and chose a Bronze Suite, the least expensive of the types of suites. When reading through all the booking notations, it makes it absolutely clear about their fees and policies. This is a boutique hotel not a predictable, huge chain. Through recommendations read on-line, I'd requested a high floor and received room 304. I loved the skylight in the living area and with the room set up, I could watch tv in the living area while soaking in the ginormous, tub. We turned on the fireplace, via a windey, timey thingey on the wall, and it made the place cozy. So cozy that we had to open the door to the balcony to cool the place off. (We thought of turning down the heat, but the marker-written notes on the heating/cooling unit had clear instructions not to stray passed the "comfort zone" marked off on the dial). The cute balcony, furnished with 2 comfy looking lounge chairs, was overlooking the back of a low building and parking lot (as bronze was the least expensive, but we weren't here for the view). I'd read that if it wasn't busy, I could ask for a view of the creek, but I wasn't sure if I'd then be charged the Gold or Platinum rate for the view and I didn't feel comfortable enough at the check in to ask for a free upgrade. (I'd already felt I was putting the Front Desk person out for the higher room). There was another nice sized tv in the bedroom nook but since it wasn't too far off the living area, it tended to turn on/off when powering up/off the tv in the living area with the remote. The bed was very comfortable and supportive. Loved the extra available pillows & blankets and was pleased to see a soft, knitted blanket as well. Slept like a log. I wish I'd packed some eggs, bacon & toast as the kitchen area made me want to cook! It had a full sized fridge, electric, glass cooktop, microwave, sink & dishwasher. Came complete with pots & pans, dishes, glasses, tableware, coffee pot & toaster... it was too bad we were only staying for the 1 Sunday night (if we booked for Saturday night, it would've been a 2 night minimum). The jetted tub was huge, lavish and indulgent & filled quickly. But make sure you fill it with hot water & run the jets a bit before actually using it because when we turned it on, there were little, flakey bits of flotsam & jetsam that spewed out (although not too much). With all the little quirkes aside, it really was a nice getaway with very nice amenities. We didn't have much interaction with the staff (checking in was fine enough and checking out was super quick). The small parking area is free to guests and a good portion of it was covered (as it's partly beneath the hotel) and I appreciated the elevator access from the lot. I can definitely recommend this for adults and check the column as a romantic stay. I've paid more for a bland Comfort or Hampton Inn so this is really getting a LOT for the value. I must reiterate the convenience of the location, just off of Main street shopping and so close to the lake. All in all a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roxy_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
636 reviews
6.2 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
466 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
968 reviews
7.1 km away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
123 reviews
0.4 km away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Creek Hotel

Address: 123 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range: ₹ 5,962 - ₹ 19,872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Creek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location in the heart of downtown Lake Geneva, WI.Nestled near the magnificent lakefront, the many historic parks, and the prestigious Main Street, The Mill Creek Hotel offers overnight visitors to Lake Geneva the best of all possibilities.You may view the vastness of beautiful Geneva Lake. You will enjoy the peaceful Donian Wetland Nature Preserve, and you are within steps of Lake Geneva's prominent Main Street.Mill Creek is the only hotel in Lake Geneva situated in a beautiful wooded nature preserve in the heart of it all and only steps from all shopping, restaurants and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mill Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Creek Lake Geneva
Hotel Mill Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing