We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guests beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Villa, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Guests beware”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We came again for my birthday the weekend of St Patrick's day because the golf course was open. We were very excited. They had a huge event for snowmobiles that weekend. We checked in not knowing about the event and were given a room with a view of the golf cource. The refrigerator was not working in our room, there was hair in the sink. Called the front desk and they said they would send someone. No one ever came. To top it all off we were stuck with a bunch of party people next door that pulled the fire alarm at 11 pm and then partied on the patio until 2:30am Saturday am my husband left a note for the maid no bottled water, fridge not working, hair in sink. When returned from golf at least the room was clean and the fridge worked. The party people next door were going at it loud. We went dinner and came back to our rook to find our radio off the tv on and a bottle of air freshener left by the tv. I called the front desk to enquireer why someone would be in our room and was told it was turn down service, but the bed was untouched. A person from hosekeeping came and picked up the bottle of air freshener. Fast forward to 2:30am someone from the party rooms tried to get in our room from the patio, we had to call security and then things quieted down. At check out we were asked how everything was and we yold the gal and she did nothing to make up for a miserable expierience. Unbelievable, because at no time in all of our interaction with the staff did anyone offer to move us to a new room, appolgize or anything else. Best advice is to stay away or request a room with a balcony. We were very disappointed by the way the staff handled our complaints.

Room Tip: Lake view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikesbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your recent posting. My name is Brett Sundstrom and I am the Managing Director of the Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. I apologize that you encountered less than ideal service while staying with us. We pride ourselves on our room cleanliness and ability to cater to specific situations. Based on your review, it seems you were positioned in an undesirable location with rowdy neighbors. While sometimes we cannot move people due to booked weekends, we should have provided a solution to your problems more effectively.

Our priority is to provide you with a great experience, but it sounds as though we failed to hit the mark during your stay. I apologize for that. Your comments have been shared with my staff, so thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take your comments to heart, as your feedback will help us improve. As we continue to strive for excellence in service, I welcome the opportunity to speak to you more about your recent resort experience - I may be reached at 262-249-4713.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    442
    200
    119
    86
See reviews for
547
812
43
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rolling Meadows, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My family had a great time at the Grand Geneva! We had a beautiful view of the golf course and actually got upgraded to a suite, which had a fireplace. The only con is that there are no microwaves in the rooms/suites. With a small child, we really like this option. I'm still giving 5 stars because the service was phenominal and the grounds were kept up so nicely. For those who work out even when away, the gym was a 5 star too. They have an activity for anyone. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My friends and I (8 of us) stayed in 3 rooms; 1-suite and 2-regular rooms. We had plenty of room in the Premium Suite (4 people stayed in that room) and a great view of the resort. The check in process was easy and they called us when the rooms were ready. Usually you have to come back to check if the room is ready yet.
We were only there for 1 night but dined at the Cafe Restaurant and it was very good. The Spa was clean and the massage was great.
It's nice and close to the shops in Lake Geneva (not really walking distance, but no far).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbierer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our girls' group gets away once or twice a year, and the Grand Geneva is a favorite spot. We love the spa services -- enjoyed facials, massages, full-body aromaglow treatment -- and the spa and pool are great places for relaxing and chatting. The staff makes us feel like royalty. Then we eat in, usually at the Chophouse but sometimes at Brissago, and the food and service is terrific. I loved the crab cakes this time around -- better than many of the "seafood" restaurants! And the prime rib and tuna steaks were great, too. We also love shopping in Lake Geneva, and save our shoe list for The Bootery -- fabulous selection, service, and prices. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The rooms are lovely, and redone recently. I don't mind the parking lot view, since I spend time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My sisters and I arrived a lil late for our Massages & Facials BUT they were extremely accomodating at the SPA! We were able to get our appointments pushed back 30 minutes so we could enjoy our entire facial but not the massage. That was cut short :(. We really enjoyed the suite we were upgraded too! To top it off, we had Dinner in the Chop House and it was phenomenal!! I'm not a big steak eater but that was the BEST steak I've ever had! The bar with the fireplace outside was also very nice and posh!! We will definitely be returning soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missingran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
9.0 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
326 reviews
5.8 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
548 reviews
1.0 km away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
685 reviews
3.3 km away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
415 reviews
3.1 km away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,952 - ₹ 23,386
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing