We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Excellent Location, Friendly Owners”
Review of Welch Motel

Welch Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welch Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I stay here for a long time, as I moved to La Crosse for my Job. The place is very clean, close to many good restaurants, a walgreen's nearby. The owners are very friendly and can always be seen chatting with the customers. The place doesn't look that attractive from outside, but the rooms are of very good quality. I would definitely recommend this to you, for whatever purpose you are coming here at La Crosse..

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deep_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

The owner is great and made sure we had what we needed. The room is basic but clean, had a large window so we could look out on our vehicle. Very convenient to stores, etc. The street it's on is actually Highway 35 the River Road, so very easy to find as you come up into LaCrosse, on the right hand side. This was our second stay there and we'll go back in the fall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

First of all, you need to have reasonable expectations - This is not a 5 star hotel, more like a 2 or 3 star. Considering that other hotels in the area were charging $150/night on the 4th of July weekend, and this was half the cost, I was quite happy with the 2 rooms we booked. The motel is a typical 1970's style motel - run by a young couple. They were very friendly and nice and willing to help out in any way. I found it clean, which is the most important thing to me. It didn't have the frills of a chain hotel, but I didn't expect those things. I recommend this hotel if you want a clean, quiet place to sleep and won't be spending all day in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTCTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I must have gotten the only bad room at the Welch?!?! Seems like my review is in the minority here. We are not a picky family, we just wanted a clean, inexpensive place to crash at night after we attended a wedding at Goose Island. The room smelled terrible, like mildew and sewer. The carpet was so dirty that the bottoms of our feet and socks were black...NO KIDDING, we took pictures! The bathroom was filthy, grime and dirt in the corners, toilet has urine under the lid from the previous guests and hair in the sink. My husband approached the owners (they are very friendly by the way) about getting a different room, but they were full, so no dice. Anyhow, it costs us about $75 when it was all said and done and we left asap in the morning, and looked for a new place. Sorry, it was too dirty and expensive for me.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miranda77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

this is one of the best small motel in la crosse, wi. very friendlly service, very spot clean place. affordabel price. excellent location and very quiet. for entire our stay we felt like we were home. friendlly staff always took care of our special needs and there were always there for any questio or any help. overall this place is very very and very cleaner than big chain hotels i have been too. we will definetlly stay again at welch motel in la crosse.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelchicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
8.5 km away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
8.6 km away
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
#15 of 20 in La Crosse
246 reviews
4.7 km away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
8.2 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
9.6 km away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welch Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welch Motel

Address: 3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601-7335
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range: ₹ 3,559 - ₹ 6,925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Welch Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, affordable. Scott & Rae Ann Elvin welcome you to La Crosse! We offer you the convenience of at-your-door parking, wireless internet, cable TV with HBO, family hospitality at a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Welch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welch Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing