We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelling clean!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Hortonville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smelling clean!!!”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Recently my husband and I stayed with our 2 kids. I was greeted by a very friendly cleaning crew. My room was spotless. I stayed there for a week and my husband and I always came to a clean, aired out room, the sheets were crisp and clean. The breakfast was hot and plenty of it. We were in need of extra towels and I forgot my deoderent and Mary was more than happy to get me one. I would recommend this place to any parent, quiet, clean and a kid friendly enviroment. Upper mangement, should concinder a pool!!! Also, the rollawys were new and very comfy for the 3 year old!! Heres to Mary the cleaning lady for our spotless room, Go Mary!!! We will be back soon and requesting your professionalism.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny59973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 La Crosse WI, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We have an excellent housekeeping staff here at the Howard Johnson, we receive a ton of compliments on their work and friendly personalities. Unfortunately there are no plans for a pool in the works, but we try our best to be as accommodating as possible to families. We are always happy to provide our guest with a free swim pass to our local YMCA pool. We would be honored to have you and your family stay with us again. Thank you for your compliments and kind words, we always love to hear what our guests think.

Guest Services

Tony Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    69
    66
    23
    23
See reviews for
70
55
32
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This Howard Johnson is ok for a night stop over, but not anymore for me. The room is small, no refrig/microwave, and since we live on the road, thats essential for us. Like I said ok for a one night stop over. The rate I paid $ 84.00 for a one double bed, I thought that was pretty high for this very simple, basic room. Room did appear clean, and I checked everything, it is dated a little but didnt really fine no issues with the workings of everything. The front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant! Would I stay here again, probably not due to the actually size of room and layout.

Room Tip: Try to get the biggest room and/or suite they have available. Basic rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6 La Crosse WI, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for the compliments of clean rooms and friendly staff. The Howard Johnson La Crosse staff loves to hear those words, as this is what they strive to achieve every day!

Motel rates are based on room availability. As less rooms are available the rate goes up. Perhaps you stayed with us on a busy evening. If you are ever in the area again and are able to call ahead, we do offer special corporate and commercial trucker rates, etc. as long as we are aware. Advance reservation will also increase the chances us being to accomodate your need for a microfridge, as 80% of our rooms have them.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and would be happy to better accomodate your needs in the future!

General Manager


Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 9 weeks and I was extremly happy with the Hotel, the price, the service. I travel alot and stay in another hotel a block away and the place was more expensive but in was not as nice as the Howard Johnson Lacrosse Wi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eantripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0J0GM, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 La Crosse WI, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Howard Johnson La Crosse, we thank you for your stay and positive words! We are extremely pleased you were happy with your stay, as well as our staff! Our friendly front desk staff are always here to help and readily available with information and input- from local dining to scenery- and we hope when you return to the area you will allow us to accommodate you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here with my two teenage daughters for a weekend leisure trip. I was pleasantly surprised by the amenities provided by this budget motel. Nice soaps/shampoo, coffee in the room, and the TP and tissues were good quality. This place wasn't sparkling clean or updated, but it's comfortable and surprisingly quiet. In fact, quieter than many mid-level hotels we've stayed. The front desk staff was very polite, and offered that if we found that we'd forgotten to bring any toiletries, we should call them, as they have replacements available. USA Today available in the lobby. We didn't sit down to eat breakfast in the morning, but were able to grab a wrapped muffin in the lobby at check out. More than enough!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 La Crosse WI, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
We are glad that you and your lovely family enjoyed your stay here in La Crosse and we are honored that you chose to stay with us. Do come again and if you ever need an activity to do in while in La Crosse, one of our friendly concierge desk staff would be more than happy to set you up. Thanks!

Guest Service

Dennis Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My husand and I stayed here after a concert. It was a Priceline bid so I guess we got what we paid for this time. Very small and basic room, had one double sized bed, I would at least expect a queen! The room was OK, definately could see the age in some of the furniture, flooring, A/C unit etc. The plus, the room did have a microwave and fridge. Otherwise nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbberven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 La Crosse WI, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
"Thank you so much for staying with us at Howard Johnson, La Crosse!
Priceline is a great website to find lodging and other accommodations. I highly recommend verifying your reservation with the property after booking online, in case room upgrades are desired - our staff loves to please the guests! As I write this, measurements are being taken to resolve the carpeting issue that guests have commented about. Its voices like yours that help us get things done, and I cannot thank everyone enough for the candid blogs."

Guest Service

Adrian O'Dell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.1 km away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
0.8 km away
Super 8 La Crosse
Super 8 La Crosse
#13 of 20 in La Crosse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.7 km away
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
0.6 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 La Crosse WI? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 La Crosse WI

Property: Motel 6 La Crosse WI
Address: 2150 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-2003 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,196 - ₹ 6,395
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 La Crosse WI 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 La Crosse is conveniently located near Riverside Amusement Park, La Crosse Queen Cruises, and dining. All guest rooms are Non-Smoking and offer free Wi-Fi. Coin laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 La Crosse WI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing