We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected piece of paradise”
Review of Finca El Mirador

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tajo Alto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca El Mirador
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We traveled to Costa Rica to visit our daughter who is in an exchange program and we're looking for a place to stay close to Miramar. Initially planned to stay at Finca El Mirador only for a couple of nights but loved it so much that decided to extend our stay for 4 days and rather take day trips to points of interest like Rio Celeste.
The views from the property to the Gulf of Nicoya and the peninsula beyond are spectacular and the sunsets and night sky are breathtaking. It is so refreshing to get in less than 30 min from the heat and humidity of Puntarenas (convenient ferry to the southern beaches of the Nicoya peninsula) to the clean mountain air just above Miramar.
The managers of the property Adriana and Leo are very hospitable and accommodating. We had a great time relaxing and playing in the pool as well.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mc10292015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2015

We spent two nights here as it was very close to the Adventure Park up the road. The view from the pool area is amazing. One day we had clear views of the bay and an okay sunset. The next day we were in the clouds which was also nice to experience. Adriana was a great host. She would check in when we wanted breakfast and make sure it was ready, no set time for eating. She helped us find restaurants in the town of Miramar. When I booked this hotel, I had mentioned to Adriana that I would be getting engaged to my girlfriend while ziplining. She offered to help out in any way she could. They offered us a private dinner along the pool or have a cake prepared for after ziplining.

We took several walks along the hiking trail. We saw a monkey, which we were later told was the first one to be seen on the property. We could often hear howler monkeys in the distance. There was lots of birds in the area. And many species of butterflies fluttered around the bushes near the pool. The property contained many fruit trees but unfortunately none of these were included in the morning's fruit plate. At night time, it would be absolutely silent outside.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kwajdiverjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015

A smaller resort 8km into the hills near Miramar at elevation 600mt. With a great view of the valley from Miramar to Puntarenas and the Bay of Nacoya, this resort has a wonderful setting. From pool-side you could see the ships coming and going to the ports in Puntarenas, even more of a sight advantage with binoculars. We tried to be around at sunset to catch some pics over the Bay of Nacoya. The lights of Puntarenas were a sparkling view from pool-side at night.

The main lodge has an open dining area where you can get the included breakfast. There is a guest room attached to the main building, and slightly away a 2 ve3ry nice bungalows. They would accommodate up to 4 people for sleeping. They have a view of the pool, the valley, and the Bay of Nacoya. The pool was too cool for us, but other guests did use it. The bungalows have a small kitchen with a hotplate and a bar fridge. We were there for 5 days and did some meals. The kitchen was very spars for cooking utensils, and we had to borrow some from the lodge.

There is one major attraction about 2km away. It is Adventure Park, with a multitude of activities. Adriana and Leo can fill you in on other activities possible. If you are intending on exploring the local scene, likely a car rental would be best.

We did not walk the trails at El Mirador, but did walk the road, accompanied at times by friendly dogs. We visited a farm just down the road, that had brahama beef cattle. We recieved eggs and cheese from the farm.

Without a doubt the most interesting aspect of El Mirador are Leo and Adriana, the managers of the facility. Firstly, they are salsa dancers, and very, very good. Both teach dance. Have them put on a show while you are there. Leo is also a sculptor. You can see his work in the open dining area - very talented. Adriana teaches many facets of dance, including belly dancing, and is also an artist.

If you are looking for a quiet retreat, this is a great place. It is on a little-traveled dirt road, with no neighbors on top of you. It is, however, close enough to many of the tourist activities that go on throughout Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Finca El Mirador was a great place to begin our exploration of Costa Rica. Uli is one of the warmest, cheerful, and attentive hosts we have ever experienced. She really makes this place special, and our two daughters immediately felt comfortable with Uli and her beautiful dogs. She achieves a perfect balance between being attentive when we need it and also just allowing us to relax without intrusion... not an easy task.

As a Bed and Breakfast, we were impressed by the attention to privacy and relaxation. The bungalows are private, clean, and well maintained. Ours had a hot plate, fridge, kitchen table, comfortable beds, and outdoor chairs. The breakfasts were excellent and varied during our three nights there.

A highlight for our two daughters was the pool with amazing views. I enjoyed birdwatching and walking around the beautiful property. During our stay we experienced the nearby waterfall zipline which was exceptional, and a cloudforest tour arranged by Uli with a nearby biologist who is extremely knowledgeable. After the tour his family cooked us a wonderful lunch before our drive back to the B&B.

Although we were traveling as a family, this would also be a fantastic place for a romantic 'retreat'. We wish Uli all the best with maintaining this beautiful place and hope that we can one day return.

Room Tip: Our bungalow was closest to the parking area and main house... we found it to be very private and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I returned to Finca El Mirador this past February. Upon arrival I was instantly reminded why I fell in love with this place the first time! The staff (Uli, Gloria and Cesar) were so friendly and welcoming, making sure I felt right at home. The gardens were beautifully kept, rooms very clean and comfortable and food delicious! This place is truly a slice of heaven and I look forward to returning again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanti_seeker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Finca El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca El Mirador

Address: Calle Pavones, Tajo Alto, Miramar 5550, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Miramar > Tajo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tajo Alto
Price Range: ₹ 3,387 - ₹ 3,908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW ADMINISTRATION! Because of healthy reason I had to rent out my project to Adriana Ujica and Leo Gonzales. I wish them good luck and success! All my guests I had I thank them for the beautiful time together. Uli Heckmann ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing