We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
36
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We spent two nights here as it was very close to the Adventure Park up the road. The view from the pool area is amazing. One day we had clear views of the bay and an okay sunset. The next day we were in the clouds which was also nice to experience. Adriana was a great host. She would check in when we wanted breakfast and make sure it was ready, no set time for eating. She helped us find restaurants in the town of Miramar. When I booked this hotel, I had mentioned to Adriana that I would be getting engaged to my girlfriend while ziplining. She offered to help out in any way she could. They offered us a private dinner along the pool or have a cake prepared for after ziplining.

We took several walks along the hiking trail. We saw a monkey, which we were later told was the first one to be seen on the property. We could often hear howler monkeys in the distance. There was lots of birds in the area. And many species of butterflies fluttered around the bushes near the pool. The property contained many fruit trees but unfortunately none of these were included in the morning's fruit plate. At night time, it would be absolutely silent outside.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kwajdiverjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrike H, Propietario at El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello!
We wanted to inform that El Mirador U.L.I. has reopened again after being closed!
We are working with Airbnb, Booking and Tripadvisor.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you here again, trying to make your stay as comfortable as it was at former times- and /or even better!
Looking forward welcoming you here again!
Regards,
the new administration
Ulrike and Wladyslaw
(Uli and Wlady)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015

A smaller resort 8km into the hills near Miramar at elevation 600mt. With a great view of the valley from Miramar to Puntarenas and the Bay of Nacoya, this resort has a wonderful setting. From pool-side you could see the ships coming and going to the ports in Puntarenas, even more of a sight advantage with binoculars. We tried to be around at sunset to catch some pics over the Bay of Nacoya. The lights of Puntarenas were a sparkling view from pool-side at night.

The main lodge has an open dining area where you can get the included breakfast. There is a guest room attached to the main building, and slightly away a 2 ve3ry nice bungalows. They would accommodate up to 4 people for sleeping. They have a view of the pool, the valley, and the Bay of Nacoya. The pool was too cool for us, but other guests did use it. The bungalows have a small kitchen with a hotplate and a bar fridge. We were there for 5 days and did some meals. The kitchen was very spars for cooking utensils, and we had to borrow some from the lodge.

There is one major attraction about 2km away. It is Adventure Park, with a multitude of activities. Adriana and Leo can fill you in on other activities possible. If you are intending on exploring the local scene, likely a car rental would be best.

We did not walk the trails at El Mirador, but did walk the road, accompanied at times by friendly dogs. We visited a farm just down the road, that had brahama beef cattle. We recieved eggs and cheese from the farm.

Without a doubt the most interesting aspect of El Mirador are Leo and Adriana, the managers of the facility. Firstly, they are salsa dancers, and very, very good. Both teach dance. Have them put on a show while you are there. Leo is also a sculptor. You can see his work in the open dining area - very talented. Adriana teaches many facets of dance, including belly dancing, and is also an artist.

If you are looking for a quiet retreat, this is a great place. It is on a little-traveled dirt road, with no neighbors on top of you. It is, however, close enough to many of the tourist activities that go on throughout Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Finca El Mirador was a great place to begin our exploration of Costa Rica. Uli is one of the warmest, cheerful, and attentive hosts we have ever experienced. She really makes this place special, and our two daughters immediately felt comfortable with Uli and her beautiful dogs. She achieves a perfect balance between being attentive when we need it and also just allowing us to relax without intrusion... not an easy task.

As a Bed and Breakfast, we were impressed by the attention to privacy and relaxation. The bungalows are private, clean, and well maintained. Ours had a hot plate, fridge, kitchen table, comfortable beds, and outdoor chairs. The breakfasts were excellent and varied during our three nights there.

A highlight for our two daughters was the pool with amazing views. I enjoyed birdwatching and walking around the beautiful property. During our stay we experienced the nearby waterfall zipline which was exceptional, and a cloudforest tour arranged by Uli with a nearby biologist who is extremely knowledgeable. After the tour his family cooked us a wonderful lunch before our drive back to the B&B.

Although we were traveling as a family, this would also be a fantastic place for a romantic 'retreat'. We wish Uli all the best with maintaining this beautiful place and hope that we can one day return.

Room Tip: Our bungalow was closest to the parking area and main house... we found it to be very private and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrike H, Propietario at El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello!
We wanted to inform that El Mirador U.L.I. has reopened again after being closed!
We are working with Airbnb, Booking and Tripadvisor.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you here again, trying to make your stay as comfortable as it was at former times- and /or even better!
Looking forward welcoming you here again!
Regards,
the new administration
Ulrike and Wladyslaw
(Uli and Wlady)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I returned to Finca El Mirador this past February. Upon arrival I was instantly reminded why I fell in love with this place the first time! The staff (Uli, Gloria and Cesar) were so friendly and welcoming, making sure I felt right at home. The gardens were beautifully kept, rooms very clean and comfortable and food delicious! This place is truly a slice of heaven and I look forward to returning again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanti_seeker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I just returned from my second stay at Finca El Mirador and can't wait to go back. Uli is a beautiful person and knows so much about the area and she knows so many people. I love just hanging out in the gardens and walking around the area. If that is not enough, Uli can help find just the right activity for you. Gloria and Cesar prepared wonderful meals. The rooms are clean and the view is spectacular, including the sunsets.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews