We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A perfect experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horicon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Horicon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
“A perfect experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Honeybee is a treasure discovered while planning a last minute winter getaway to the Horicon Marsh Candlelight Hike event. Everything about the Honeybee experience was outstanding. The hospitality was superior, the house and room extremely clean, totally comfortable and well-appointed, the private bath facilities are modern and high class, the breakfast was well-planned and perfectly executed. Feel very fortunate to have found a Honeybee vacancy on short notice; highly recommend this B&B and suggest booking well in advance so as to not miss the experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
150
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

The Honeybee is a delightful, gracious bed and breakfast. My wife and I spent one night here in November as part of our trip to view the migrating waterfowl at Horicon Marsh, and don't think we could have found more comfortable and inviting accommodations.

The early 1900's house is large, gracious and immaculately restored. The common rooms are attractively furnished with late-Victorian furniture. The large living room is stocked with books and games if you want to spend some time indoors. The large, darkly wooded dining room is set with two tables for four. On the morning we were there, a gas fire was burning warmly in the fireplace.

Our bedroom was high-ceilinged, spacious, bright, clean and comfortably furnished with a four-poster bed, side chair and table, dresser, and bedside tables. It had a flat-screen TV discreetly tucked behind cabinet doors above the fireplace.

Two bookcases on the large landing outside our room were stuffed with tapes and DVD's of movies both old and quite recent that you can borrow for viewing in your room. Also on the landing were a refrigerator with complementary bottled water, complementary popcorn and a microwave to pop it in, and a Flavia coffee and tea maker.

A previous reviewer complained about the Flavia machine as somehow being inappropriate or inadequate, but we found it to be a useful amenity. It's a high-end machine that rapidly makes single-serving cups. There was a wide variety of choice of hot beverages. As tea drinkers, we were particularly happy with it. The ubiquitous hotel in-room coffee makers are useless for making tea, because they infuse everything with the taste of stale coffee. This was a much better option.

In our stays at a dozen or so bed-and-breakfasts, we've found two distinct approaches to breakfast. Some provide a serve-yourself buffet with a wide time window for dining. Others offer table-service breakfast at a fixed time or times. Neither is better or worse, they are just different. The Honeybee is table-service breakfast, with three dining times to choose from. The service is wonderful, the food is excellent, and the atmosphere relaxing.

The owners are gracious and friendly, and truly seem happy to have you as their guest. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My fiancee and I stayed in the lodge room. It was so romantic and cozy. The Inn is gorgeous, your hosts genial, and the breakfast to die for.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeowDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I spent one night here with my son, daughter in law and daughter. My daughter and I had the Honey Pot Cottage, and my son and his wife had the Honey Dew Lodge. Both rooms were wonderful-the weather ws beautiful so they could enjoy a little quiet time on the shared sun porch off of their room. My daughter and I loved the canopy bed in our room--she loved the pillows! Barb also arranged for us to take a sunset cruise on the Marsh. It was interesting to see the "inside" of the Marsh-the White Pelican was my favorite, but there was also Blue Herons and Green Herons. The choclate covered strawberries in our room when we returned were soooo good! Thank you for giving us such wonderful memories. It was wonderful to see both you and Fred after so many years. You have done a spectacular job of restoring and furnishing this home--but more than that you have fill it with character, charm and love. THANK YOU AGAIN! ZELDA SHIMADA

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zelda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Honeybee. The owners are very cordial and very pleasant. We rented bicycles from the Inn and had a lovely ride around the marsh in Horicon. The breakfasts are amazing! Everything is homemade and fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whosgotme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horicon
8.3 km away
The Audubon Inn
The Audubon Inn
#1 of 1 in Mayville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
15.6 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
21.1 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
21.8 km away
Country Hearth Inn and Suites Lomira
15.8 km away
Super 8 Beaver Dam
Super 8 Beaver Dam
#2 of 5 in Beaver Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 611 E Walnut St, Horicon, WI 53032-1221
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Horicon
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horicon
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,467 - ₹ 14,916
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honeybee Inn is a Queen Anne/Craftsmen style home built in 1902, with 5000 sq. ft. Four individually decorated guest rooms have gorgeous fireplaces, whirlpools, feather beds and shower spas. Delectable, gourmet multi-course breakfasts, are served every morning. Honeybee Inn is located a few blocks from the Horicon Marsh National Wildlife Refuge, the largest freshwater cattail marsh in the US. People come from all over the country to birdwatch, canoe, bike and hike in this natural wonderland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeybee Inn Bed And Breakfast
Honeybee Hotel Horicon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing