We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bernie the bartender is the best!”
Review of Grey Rock

Grey Rock
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Green Lake
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Grey Rock serves up a playful attitude with a timeless menu. Smooth, toe-tapping tunes and even smoother cocktails make for an urban flair feel in a relaxed, lakefront setting. Fine dining in Green Lake starts right here, lakeside to Big Green. Grey Rock builds on its traditional high standards of dining excellence with reborn classic dishes promising a delightful balance of the finest ingredients - all freshly prepared by the resort's award-winning chefs. Grey Rock has received the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence every year since 2002. With friendly, efficient service and lakeview floor-to-ceiling windows, Grey Rock ranks as the area's favorite every-occasion restaurant. Make it your favorite, too. Planning a romantic evening on the lake? You can dock on our pier and make date night fantastic with a lake view dinner right here at Grey Rock.
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a number of delicious cocktails and loved spending time with Bernie. We did not eat in the restaurant because it was booked, but Bernie was such a hoot that it didn't matter. The other patrons were fun, too. Bernie is one of the only good things this resort has going on. If you stay at the resort, make sure Bernie is part of your visit.

Thank JLHeiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Grey Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your five star experience with us! We are delighted that your visit was a fun one and you were able to enjoy a few cocktails. Your kind words to Bernie have been shared with him, who is pleased by your compliments. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016

I dined here with some friends on August 27th. The ambience of the dining room overlooking the lake was wonderful. I knew going in that the prices were quite high, but we wanted a nice night out so we tried it. We didn't have appetizers, so I cannot comment on that. I had the Caprese Chicken. It came on a bed of zucchini noodles with mozzarella pearls and grilled chicken. It was very under seasoned and very marginal. It costs $24 and really had no taste to it - very disappointing. It came with soup or salad so I upgraded to the corn chowder which was just okay as well. There wasn't much corn in it at all. The others in our party had a pasta special with shrimp that was okay - at least it was a generous portion. Another had the pork tenderloin that he said was good, but the portion was on the small side. Another had the filet which she said was very good, but the mashed potatoes with it were not good.
We left disappointed in our choice of restaurant and see no reason to return as the food is marginal and the price is on the high end.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Grey Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re pleased that you enjoyed the gorgeous views of the lake. It is regretful that your meals left you disappointed, however. Your concerns regarding your meals have been shared with our culinary department who is grateful for the feedback. Once more, thank you for your review. Whether constructive or positive, feedback is truly appreciated as it allows us to continually improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

My husband loved the Trout special but, now, it's probably off the menu. Do not get the Walleye. Mine was so hard, full of thick batter, don't think it was Panko, I would know the difference. Returned that and had the Scallops, a much better choice. Had the supposed Peach cobbler in a skillet and don't think the peaches were fresh, tasted like chemicals. Maybe don't bake it in a cast iron pan! Very disappointed in the food but,mother ambiance and decor was beautiful. Our waitress was good, as well!

Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Grey Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Sally, thank you for taking the time to review us. We’re glad to see that your husband enjoyed his trout special, however, we are disappointed to learn that the walleye dish and peach cobbler were not to your satisfaction. Your concerns regarding each have been shared with our culinary department. We are pleased your interactions with the wait staff were pleasant and that you were able to enjoy scallop entree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

The food was very good. Salad portions had about 10 little leaves and portions were small for the price. Much better for a celebration dinner or special date.

Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Grey Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

As was mentioned in a previous response to you, Deborah, we appreciate you taking the time to review us. We’re glad that you enjoyed your meal and hope to welcome you back soon, perhaps for a celebratory dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stopped per recommendation to check out the Happy Hour Specials and we enjoyed our visit very much! Bernie the bartender was entertaining and fun! The views from the bar were really peaceful - we relaxed and enjoyed our visit very much!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank HTCWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Grey Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Once more, thank you for your review. We’re delighted that you had a great Happy Hour at Grey Rock. Bernie appreciates your kind words and hopes you will stop by again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grey Rock also viewed

 
Green Lake, WI
Green Lake, WI
 

Been to Grey Rock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing