We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go back to this s*** hole !!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkwood Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Manitowoc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will never go back to this s*** hole !!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

it was just awful we ended up getting the last room in door county this night and ended up here :( just awfull are room was dirty the staff were rude , there was a storm and we were with out power for over 10hr and all they took off our bill was 5%, just an awfull place we will never go back i would rather stay in my car .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atadych84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GStillman, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. The unexpected power outage was very trying, but with the quick response and hard work from the WPS crews and the Gibraltar Fire Department they were able to restore power in just over six hours following the tree knocking out the power lines. The majority of our guests were very understanding and made the best out of a less than ideal situation. We pride ourselves on providing a quality experience for a value price and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Door County is a busy destination on a Saturday night in late July. Advanced planning can assure you of obtaining accommodations that better suit your needs. We wish you well in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    38
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
46
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at Parkwood. I have also stayed here some years ago when it was the Beowolf. As the Parkwood it is an EXCELLENT value in Door County. Most all of the places in north Fish Creek on up to Northport are older lodges and motels froom the 50', 60's and 70's many of them charge twice the nightly rate and deliver less and charge extra for children. The Parkwood is a great family place, there is a large firepit, the game room as some older video games and a nice pool table (50cents a game where else can you find that). The pool is very good as is the whirlpool ( indoors unlike many other places). It's in a nice wooded setting. The entrance comes up quick on Hwy 42 so keep your eyes open. The folks are friendly and helpful. If you are coming up after the office closes they will make accomodations for you to get your room key no problem. the rooms I have had were clean and comfortable, maybe a little dated but then again you are in a northwoods lodge, it all works and fits very nicely. You won't be disappointed if you want affordable, comfortable and family friendly accomodations. If you want the latest and the greatest, buy a condo.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

we went without a plan, loved fish creek, ephraim, door county ...all of it... so decided to stay back the night. our elderly parents were with us too. the place is great...beautiful setting, friendly, helpful staff; we dealt with jennifer, gave us great ideas for the evening as we went during the 'fyr bal' (fireball) festival. didnt get to use the amenities (indoor swimming pool, pool table, board games etc.) since were there for a very short time. the stay was comfortable, the place clean. HUGE rooms (2 queen beds),.
our parents managed to lock themselves out of the bathroom as they were not aware of the self-locking mechanism. jennifer came in after we informed her and promptly transferred them to a new room, no fuss.
its a little away from fish creek city centre, but then its exactly located between fish creek and ephraim, so it depends on what you like! we loved being in the woods!
needs renovation, the rooms were great but looked and felt a little old.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aestho-nomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We had our wedding at the Gazebo on the beautiful front lawn of the Parkwood Lodge. We were with about 50 friends on a motorcycle weekend trip. The whole group stayed at the lodge. The staff was tremendously helpful in accommodating all of our requests. We put up tents and had the reception on the grounds too. It will always be a beautiful memory. Thank you Parkwood Lodge. We would definitely recommend this lodge for any special event.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkwalsh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Surrounded by woods, quiet, roomy, comfy, very clean. It had the typical 'upstate cabin musty' smell upon first arrival but it was gone soon after opening the patio door for just a bit. We stayed in the king-bed suite w/ the kitchen ammenities. There is no dishwasher and the kitchen area is not a full kitchenette - but it was fine for our weekend stay. They have a 4-burner stove, oven, small microwave, sink and small counter area - dishes, silverware, cups/glasses, dishwashing detergent, papertowels, and handtowels included - 4 person dining table. The bathroom does not have a sink and mirror in the bathroom / just a shower/tub - the sink/mirror is outside the bathroom - a little odd but again, it is an older resort and we made it work. They provided hand soap at the 'outside bathroom' sink; in the shower there was a dispenser for combo soap/shampoo - I didn't care for that too much, luckily, I suspected as much and brought our own shampoo/conditioner - you need to bring your own hairdryer too. There is a wood burning stove/fire in the room but we did not use it - they provide firewood and fire-starters. Campfire pit, tennis courts, very nice, big, and clean pool w/ pool floaties and toys - 3ft to 5ft depth - game room. This resort is just north of the Fish Creek 'main' area - and directly across from Peninsula State Park. We brought our bikes - parked closer to Fish Creek and rode into the park. We visited the Never Been Licked custard shop and took treats back to the room. They have a combo VCR/DVD so we could watch a movie. Very laid back, casual, comfy, roomy, clean, and friendly resort. No WIFI in the room but it is available in the office; who wants to be online anyway in a location like this - perfect place to disengage w/ technology. We will return next fall!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nekko95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
1.5 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
10.6 km away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.3 km away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
4.6 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
9.4 km away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Lodge

Property: Parkwood Lodge
Address: 3775 State Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9630 (Formerly Beowulf Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,671 - ₹ 10,375
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Lodge - Door County has all of the amenities and comforts that you expect at a price you will appreciate. Parkwood Lodge is conveniently located on the north end of Fish Creek, Wisconsin across from the popular Peninsula State Park property. Parkwood Lodge is situated on 10 acres and offers a variety of room types for travelers to Door County. Featuring affordable rooms, kitchenettes and suites with wood burning fireplaces. Resort has indoor pool, whirlpool, game room, tennis court, playground, grills, picnic tables and a bonfire pit. Free Wi-Fi. Located near Peninsula State Park on the north end of popular Fish Creek. We have 59 rooms and welcome tours, groups and reunions. Parkwood Lodge is open early May thru late October. NO PETS ALLOWED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Parkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Fish Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing