We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“White Gull Inn= First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Gull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fish Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Gull Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“White Gull Inn= First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

First time staying at this fabulous inn. Everything was first class. We stayed in the Weckler house, room was super clean, bed very comfortable. Bathroom was huge with jacuzzi. Room was very comfortable with lots of places to store your clothes, etc. Very comfortable sitting area with sofa and 2 chairs in front of fireplace and tv. Great outdoor patio perfect for just relaxing and listening to the birds chirp. Each morning they delivered coffee and a newspaper right outside our door. Don't miss the great breakfast, you can order anything off the menu. My fave was the cherry stuffed French toast, it's to die for! It's also a great location right in the middle of door county, very close to most of the popular spots. We will be back for sure!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cubs_Fan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    25
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you're looking for a charming, well kept, hospitable stay--the White Gull Inn is for you. My boyfriend and I just returned from a 3 night stay for our 2nd year in a row and already miss the coffee cake and great breakfast food. We stayed in the Cliff House B this year and the Welker House last summer. Both rooms are clean, spacious, and very floral, but nice. The staff is friendly and accommodating. One of the major bonuses is priority seating for breakfast/brunch, for which non guests are usually waiting for tables at length. You call in the morning to request a table 15-30 minutes before and they reserve your table. Great location near the "town square" of Fish Creek, close to the state park, and near many other restaurants and stores. We recommend the White Gull Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmebf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I took a family vacation to Door County in May for my mom's birthday. We stayed in one of the standalone houses, the Olson House. The house did not have the charm of the main house -- it's a ranch house probably from 1960s -- but it was still a great option for a larger group. The house had 2 bedrooms plus a sofa bed. The service in the main house was great, and the breakfasts were outstanding. Plus, the location right in town was very convenient -- it was nice to be able to walk to all the shops and restaurants. The inn was a bit of a splurge, but should I ever return to Door County, I would return for a stay here in one of the main rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenmore4828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Picture the perfect inn, and that's the White Gull. Four-poster beds, feathery pillows, window boxes filled with flowers, comfy chairs, pretty wall paper, coffee and hot chocolate at your door each morning along with the newspaper, and a to-die-for complimentary breakfast. To the right of the inn is a charming town full of shops, across the street is the woods, and to the left is the lake. We just got home and already booked our visit for next summer.

Room Tip: Go hungry to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenliebenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, WI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Where does one begin? This is truly an "Inn" and the owners are truly hospitality folks and this philosophy is reflected in the staff, the ambiance, and the overall quality. Everything is done right.

The property sits at the edge of the Village of Fish Creek, nearly equidistant from the attractions of the Village and the Bay of Green Bay. Very convenient, but also sort of secluded. There is a main lodge with a wonderful restaurant and shop surrounded by renovated old time cottages/houses. The area is largely forested and the landscaping is beautiful.

We stayed in the Cliff House and the room was wonderfully decorated and appointed as well as immaculately clean. A very relaxing and elegant Door County/ New England feeling.

The staff is wonderful and very competent. When you check in, you receive a tour of your room and a complete run down of the amenities. Very helpful and friendly, you feel like a true guest.

Included with the room rate is whatever you want from the breakfast menu (some of which has been nationally recognized), coffee or tea and a newspaper of your choice delivered to your door step in the morning.

A side note: we registered on line and received a confirm the next morning. A day or two later, we received a "snail mail" letter with all the details of our reservation and additional information.

I thought this a nice touch in this day and age..

This combination of big and little things makes the White Gull Inn a must visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJDMonticello_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
7.0 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.3 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.7 km away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
9.3 km away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
8.6 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Gull Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Gull Inn

Property: White Gull Inn
Address: 4225 Main St, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,784 - ₹ 19,281
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1896, the historic White Gull Inn has been providing lodging and dining to generations of Door County visitors. Located in the bayside village of Fish Creek, the 17 rooms, suites and cottages of the White Gull have been meticulously renovated and decorated with antiques. Most rooms have working fireplaces and many have double whirlpool baths. Full breakfast, voted America's favorite in 2010 by viewers of Good Morning America, is included with every stay. Lunch, dinner and traditional Door County fish boils are served. Restaurant open to the public year round. Member of the prestigious Select Registry of North American Inns. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Gull Hotel Fish Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing