We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowleys Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
Parkside Inn(Ellison Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Open Hearth Lodge(Sister Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 151
US$ 142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Little Sister Hill(Sister Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
60
47
22
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
47
22
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrowleys bayfish boilbreakfast buffetswedish bakerydoor countycinnamon rollsget awaybay resortfamily reunionout of datepeace and quietpulled upsalad barwashington islandhistorystorytellertrail
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I have been to Rowley's Bay (also known as Wagon Trail) many times, but it had been quite a few years since I was last there. I had stayed in the cabins and at the campground, but I had never stayed in the hotel area before. I booked a couple-day trip for my family and myself and we enjoyed our time. The rooms have an old charm to them, the fish boil was so good (one of the best I've had in Door County) and the scenery over Rowley's Bay is beautiful! One of the only things I'd change is how stuffy the pool room is - it could stand to have some doors/windows that open and a little more light. But it definitely works for what it is.

Room Tip: The lake-side rooms have a beautiful view of the bay, worth the extra $20 for the microwave and fridge that the wood-side rooms don't have.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badger_State_of_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your nice review! Sounds like you have been visiting us for a few years since you remember our "Wagon Trail" name. We love being the vintage resort that our guests return to year after year. Hope to see you again soon! Jewel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Great selection, Swedish meatballs were excellent. Large selection of fresh fruit. The bakery was awesome, especially the cinnamon rolls. Good quality for the price. Staff was very friendly and accomidating

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank jdpillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Glad you enjoyed our brunch! The half pound cinnamon rolls are one of the favorites at Grandma's Swedish Bakery, breakfast buffet and Sunday brunch. Hope you can come back again soon! Jewel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We had 25 family members for a Sunday brunch. The food was excellent. The staff is very nice and accommodating. What a great place to sit and relax and watch the boats, birds, etc. We have been coming here for over 35 years. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The bakery has fantastic - make sure you get a pecan roll.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Glad to hear that you had such a great time together with your family reunion enjoying our brunch and yummy bakery! The pecans rolls are our favorite... but we have lots of favorites here. We're honored to discover that we have become a 35 year habit! Hope you can come back again soon! Jewel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

I stayed with my family from June 1-3, 2017 and we could not have been happier! From the moment we pulled up, saw the Bay, resort, and then my son spotted the basketball hoop in the back and said, "Mom, you did a great job of finding this place!" we felt right at home. My son is a young adult with special needs and as we walked into the lobby, we saw other guests with special needs, so we really thought this must be a great place.

The room (lakeside, with 2 Queen beds and porch) was reasonable, clean, and large. The buffet that night had Prime Rib and SO much delicious, homemade food that we thought our tummies would burst from all the goodies! But somehow we had room by the next morning for the best breakfast buffet EVER (and at $10.99, a true bargain). We didn't need to eat again until dinner. And that Friday night we attended our first fish boil, too. Now, my guys don't really like fish, but WAIT....the buffet offered with the fish boil takes care of that problem! Chicken, battered cod, au gratin potatoes, salad bar, and the DESSERTS...YUM! Grandma's Swedish Bakery is attached, and all those homemade buns, cookies, and desserts are worth the drive up from Chicago themselves. Bob, the storyteller at the fish boil, did a great job, as did all the staff. Even Jewel the owner was available for us to talk to. Say hello to the nice lady in the Pub after 4 for cocktails and bumper pool. We didn't have time to jump in the pool...next time, I hope.

For an affordable, quiet, down-to-earth and DELICIOUS stay in Door County, for my money, Rowley's Bay Resort checks off all the boxes. We are spoiled now and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Lakeside with the view are awesome!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank T2841CJbarbarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for your nice review! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we're so glad to know that you felt comfortable here at Rowleys Bay Resort. We love it when guests feel like they are "at home" when they are here as our guest. Glad you also enjoyed our restaurant, fish boil buffet, story teller and Grandma's Swedish Bakery (My Mom's recipes!) We hope you can visit us again soon! :) Jewel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We stayed here 3x times and will return. We love the bakery, the rooms are updated and the Rowleys Bay is relaxing to sit down and watch the world go by. Rowleys is easy access to any restaurant, bar etc. We love it there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klapp0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for making us your habit! We love our relaxing waterfront setting and glad you are able to enjoy it with us as well. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Jewel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews