We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time to Door County AND Rowley's Bay Resort...FANTASTIC time!”
Review of Rowleys Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellison Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowleys Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellison Bay
Reviewed 15 June 2017

I stayed with my family from June 1-3, 2017 and we could not have been happier! From the moment we pulled up, saw the Bay, resort, and then my son spotted the basketball hoop in the back and said, "Mom, you did a great job of finding this place!" we felt right at home. My son is a young adult with special needs and as we walked into the lobby, we saw other guests with special needs, so we really thought this must be a great place.

The room (lakeside, with 2 Queen beds and porch) was reasonable, clean, and large. The buffet that night had Prime Rib and SO much delicious, homemade food that we thought our tummies would burst from all the goodies! But somehow we had room by the next morning for the best breakfast buffet EVER (and at $10.99, a true bargain). We didn't need to eat again until dinner. And that Friday night we attended our first fish boil, too. Now, my guys don't really like fish, but WAIT....the buffet offered with the fish boil takes care of that problem! Chicken, battered cod, au gratin potatoes, salad bar, and the DESSERTS...YUM! Grandma's Swedish Bakery is attached, and all those homemade buns, cookies, and desserts are worth the drive up from Chicago themselves. Bob, the storyteller at the fish boil, did a great job, as did all the staff. Even Jewel the owner was available for us to talk to. Say hello to the nice lady in the Pub after 4 for cocktails and bumper pool. We didn't have time to jump in the pool...next time, I hope.

For an affordable, quiet, down-to-earth and DELICIOUS stay in Door County, for my money, Rowley's Bay Resort checks off all the boxes. We are spoiled now and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Lakeside with the view are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank T2841CJbarbarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for your nice review! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we're so glad to know that you felt comfortable here at Rowleys Bay Resort. We love it when guests feel like they are "at home" when they are here as our guest. Glad you also enjoyed our restaurant, fish boil buffet, story teller and Grandma's Swedish Bakery (My Mom's recipes!) We hope you can visit us again soon! :) Jewel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

We stayed here 3x times and will return. We love the bakery, the rooms are updated and the Rowleys Bay is relaxing to sit down and watch the world go by. Rowleys is easy access to any restaurant, bar etc. We love it there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klapp0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for making us your habit! We love our relaxing waterfront setting and glad you are able to enjoy it with us as well. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Jewel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I was originally staying at this hotel because of the fish boil, but they did not have it in October, so that made the stay start off bad. The room was outdated, no fridge, no microwave and just old. Also, the room wasn't very clean, found some food under the bed. Pool was nice, staff at the front desk was very nice and accommodating. Overall it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sarahnicole691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Hello Sarah,

Thank you for your review. We're not sure when you were actually our guest but we served the fish boil Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights through October 23rd, perhaps you were staying here later than this date when we close our restaurant for the season. Sorry that you missed it; you'll have to try again this season when we start serving on Memorial Day Weekend.

From your comments we understand that you stayed in our most affordable accommodation which is the Woodside Room. All other units in our lodge have the microwave/refrigerator some units having full kitchens; many having views of Rowleys Bay on Lake Michigan.

We go to great pains to keep our resort vintage/retro and continue to redecorate in that style! People who think it is dated have completely missed the point. We feel that a sterile chic resort environment is boring and lacks character. Every lamp, accessory, fabric and piece of furniture is chosen to delight discerning guests. If you like the retro vibe, you will find plenty to like at our resort!

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

While this cottage offers a good amount of space for a group of 8, it needs some major TLC. The couch for one is BROKEN. We sat down in the middle and just about hit the ground, and the other seats were almost just as bad. It was beautiful weather while we were up so we wanted to keep the windows open and we were disappointed to see how filthy they were. It really doesn't take much to wipe down the inside of a window, so this just showed us that if they aren't doing something as small as that, what else aren't they doing? The house also wasn't stocked with some of the things listed on the website so we had to make a trip to the store. My family and I enjoyed our time up there, but for the money we spent, we really wish the house would have been kept up a little better and that the furniture wasn't so old and broken. Just think this house needs some extra care and attention.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lindsey792016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Manager at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate guest comments and have passed this information along to the home owner. As you may know we act as the partner rental agent for the home owners and will do everything we can to create a positive guest experience.

Glad you had good weather while you were here. We love October and the beautiful fall colors. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

My extended family (3 families total) rented a house and enjoyed Door Co for 4 days. Rowley's is beautiful and quiet, with great access to Lake Michigan, and had the lodge with wonderful bakery, bar/restaurant, pool, and other amenities right on site. Staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The lodge is an old, beautiful building kept up wonderfully, and the grounds neat. The house we stayed in (#21) was large and clean and more than enough room for 3 families with kids. We plan to come back again. Conveniently located outside of Sister Bay, it's close to many things without being in the center of the madness that can be the congested towns along the Peninsula. Highly recommend this place and wished we could have stayed longer!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Cate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you for your review. We love being off the beaten path and know that our guests enjoy our peace and quiet too. Hope you can start planning your next visit to us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellison Bay
12.7 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
840 reviews
8.2 km away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
416 reviews
27.1 km away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
82 reviews
18.8 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
247 reviews
8 km away
Scandinavian Lodge
Scandinavian Lodge
#10 of 17 in Sister Bay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowleys Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowleys Bay Resort

Address: 1041 County Road Zz, Ellison Bay, WI 54210-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ellison Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellison Bay
Price Range: ₹ 4,076 - ₹ 25,414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's Affordable Waterfront Resort Rowleys Bay Resort offers the best of both worlds-a waterfront destination with affordable lodging options. Whether you prefer a traditional room, suite, cottage or vacation home, all are just steps away from our 700 feet of shoreline. As the largest waterfront resort in Door County, we accommodate and cater to the needs of a wide range of groups. The atmosphere is casual, relaxed and friendly. With our restaurant, bakery, banquet hall, meeting rooms and other amenities all under one roof, families and groups feel safe and connected. 100 Acres of Solitude on a Pristine Bay Rowleys Bay Resort is situated on 100 secluded acres dominating a pristine, undeveloped bay on Lake Michigan. Think of our unique, peaceful setting as a cul-de-sac without noisy through-traffic and bumper-to-bumper people. Be as one with nature as you hike our five miles of trails and enjoy four-season bird watching on our never frozen bay and the unique Mink River Estuary. Nature's light show on the water at sunrise and sunset come at no extra charge!Water Sports Access at Your DoorIf you have a passion for water sports, you have to come to Rowleys Bay Resort. From canoeing and kayaking to sailing and fishing, you won't find a better place in Door County for aqua adventures. The marina and DNR launch are your gateway and quick getaway to Lake Michigan and the Mink River. It's like having your own private playground on the water. Kayak rentals and tours, as well as charter fishing boats, are available dockside.All-You-Can-Eat Restaurant OfferingsIn addition to an all-day full menu and bar, Rowleys Bay Restaurant features Door County's longest buffet and salad bar, providing you with variety, flexibility and tremendous dining value. On Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday night the generous buffet includes the area's only all-you-can-eat fish boil. The restaurant's famous Sunday Brunch buffet includes pecan rolls and other scrumptious treats from Grandma's Swedish Bakery. Historic Swedish Scratch Bakery For 40 years, Grandma's Swedish Bakery has been tantalizing the taste buds of Door County visitors and natives with homemade pastries, decadent sweet rolls and other from-scratch bakery items. Family recipes have been handed down from generation to generation, ensuring that you will receive the same authentic Swedish delights originally baked by Grandma. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowleys Bay Hotel Ellison Bay
Wagon Trail Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing