We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
68
49
23
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
49
23
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rowleys bay fish boil pecan rolls breakfast buffet indoor pool swedish bakery door county on site story teller get away lake michigan family reunion off the beaten path friday night fish bay resort potatoes fitness room
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I was originally staying at this hotel because of the fish boil, but they did not have it in October, so that made the stay start off bad. The room was outdated, no fridge, no microwave and just old. Also, the room wasn't very clean, found some food under the bed. Pool was nice, staff at the front desk was very nice and accommodating. Overall it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sarahnicole691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Hello Sarah,

Thank you for your review. We're not sure when you were actually our guest but we served the fish boil Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights through October 23rd, perhaps you were staying here later than this date when we close our restaurant for the season. Sorry that you missed it; you'll have to try again this season when we start serving on Memorial Day Weekend.

From your comments we understand that you stayed in our most affordable accommodation which is the Woodside Room. All other units in our lodge have the microwave/refrigerator some units having full kitchens; many having views of Rowleys Bay on Lake Michigan.

We go to great pains to keep our resort vintage/retro and continue to redecorate in that style! People who think it is dated have completely missed the point. We feel that a sterile chic resort environment is boring and lacks character. Every lamp, accessory, fabric and piece of furniture is chosen to delight discerning guests. If you like the retro vibe, you will find plenty to like at our resort!

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

While this cottage offers a good amount of space for a group of 8, it needs some major TLC. The couch for one is BROKEN. We sat down in the middle and just about hit the ground, and the other seats were almost just as bad. It was beautiful weather while we were up so we wanted to keep the windows open and we were disappointed to see how filthy they were. It really doesn't take much to wipe down the inside of a window, so this just showed us that if they aren't doing something as small as that, what else aren't they doing? The house also wasn't stocked with some of the things listed on the website so we had to make a trip to the store. My family and I enjoyed our time up there, but for the money we spent, we really wish the house would have been kept up a little better and that the furniture wasn't so old and broken. Just think this house needs some extra care and attention.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lindsey792016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Manager at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate guest comments and have passed this information along to the home owner. As you may know we act as the partner rental agent for the home owners and will do everything we can to create a positive guest experience.

Glad you had good weather while you were here. We love October and the beautiful fall colors. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

My extended family (3 families total) rented a house and enjoyed Door Co for 4 days. Rowley's is beautiful and quiet, with great access to Lake Michigan, and had the lodge with wonderful bakery, bar/restaurant, pool, and other amenities right on site. Staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The lodge is an old, beautiful building kept up wonderfully, and the grounds neat. The house we stayed in (#21) was large and clean and more than enough room for 3 families with kids. We plan to come back again. Conveniently located outside of Sister Bay, it's close to many things without being in the center of the madness that can be the congested towns along the Peninsula. Highly recommend this place and wished we could have stayed longer!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Cate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you for your review. We love being off the beaten path and know that our guests enjoy our peace and quiet too. Hope you can start planning your next visit to us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the resort several times now and we could not be happier with our experiences. The resort is very accommodating and everyone makes you feel so welcome. The cabins we have stayed in were very clean and comfortable. The food is delicious and the flavored coffee offered in the morning is a great way to start the day. All of the employees and the owner of the resort are extremely helpful and friendly. I encourage anyone that is looking for a vacation spot go to Rowleys Bay. During our most recent visit this month, we were able to get to know some of the staff better. We came as strangers and we left as friends. My boyfriend and I will definitely be returning to Rowleys and we cannot wait to make more amazing memories. Thank you to everyone at Rowleys Bay for everything you do, and don't change a thing.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you so much for being our guest! We love making new friends and glad that you enjoyed your stay along with great memories to cherish. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

A quiet and serene stay wi a good view of the bay and lake. Close to the attractions at the far end of Door county near Washington Island. A great place for a peaceful reprieve from the hectic and fast moving.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Glad you had a "peachful" experience with us :) We love being on Rowleys Bay with a view of Newport State Park and the quiet places. Hope you can come again soon to slow down and get away from the fast pace and enjoy some peace here at Rowleys Bay Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews