We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Stay”
Review of Bay Point Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egg Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Point Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Egg Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at Bay Point Inn. Miles and his staff made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The room ( room 13) was clean and well stocked with items that we may have needed. We also returned to our room, New Year's Eve, to find a chilled bottle of sparkling wine, chocolate fondue, and fresh strawberries. Very seldom do you find an Inn that pays attention to details as what Bay Point Inn does.
We will return soon and encourage others to visit this Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be well attended to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kroberts5182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

I have been to Door County several times and Bay Point Inn has the most amazing lakefront view of anywhere I have stayed. It was breathtaking! We had a beautiful balcony and great living room window overlooking the water. I booked my room online and assumed it had a whilrpool tub which it did not. However, I was able to upgrade to a room with whirlpool once we arrived at the resort. The staff was very helpful and nice. This is definitely more a condo type resort instead of a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We recently returned from a one night stay here in Oct. 2011. Our room had a great view, completely furnished and very clean. The bathroom was a spa in itself. The fireplace was very nice, as well. A nice deck area with chairs and table was also very nice. Breakfast was warm with waffles and eggs/mini omelettes. The staff went out of there way to meet our needs. The ice machine in our freezer was not making ice, but a staff member ran to town to get us some. The flowers were beautiful and the staff was friendly, Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you opt to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelWithSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The Bay Point Inn feels new in most aspects, and therefore lacks some of the warmth and charm of many of the B&Bs scattered around the Door County Peninsula. But the view more than makes up for it. The inn is located on a high point that overlooks Green Bay, and the view from most of the rooms is jaw-dropping. In fact, this kind of view is relatively rare around Door County, where many of the hotels and inns are on lower ground near the harbors.

We stayed in a suite, which included an elegant bathroom with all the bells and whistles including a hydro-jet tub and separate glass-walled shower. The sound system was excellent and piped music throughout the suite, but it lacked a separate port for an iPod, which was a minor disappointment. The king-sized bed had high-quality linens, and was so comfortable that we fell asleep instantly both nights.

The housekeeping could have been a bit better. There was a dead moth near the doors opening onto our patio when we checked in. When we checked out two days later, the moth was still there. When I started to make coffee the first morning in the thoughtfully supplied coffee maker, the previous guest's used coffee packet was still inside.

The breakfast was set out buffet-style every morning in an upstairs room. It was OK, but nothing to write home about. The coffee was weak, but the two waffle makers were perfectly heated, and the batter was perfect. We enjoyed making our own waffles both mornings.

The pool and the grounds were well-maintained, and the flowers and planting were impressive. The view from the rear of the property was astounding, however, and so unexpected. It almost made us want to set up camp and venture no further into Door County, though we love to explore. We would love to have commented on the big whirlpool spa located just behind the check-in desk, but the heater was broken when we were there, and all we saw was an empty pit during our time there.

One small footnote: The internet service was very choppy with a generally weak signal, though the password-protected administrative internet router was putting out an excellent signal. Made us wonder why they didn't bring the guest amenities up to the standard of their own internal service.

Room Tip: Room 13 is fabulous -- quiet and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pfbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The view from our room was fabulous. The room overall is great with modern kitchen, comfortable bed, couch, TV, furniture, and balcony. However, the water pressure of the shower was too low though, making taking a shower not so much a pleasant experience. The tub was also a bit clogged. The video library is not up to date with only a few DVD available.

What made us really disappointing is the service. The staff that helped us checked in told us that because we're the only guests for that night, the said buffet breakfast is not provided, instead, she gave us a menu to order drinks and entrees so that they will make for us and deliver to our room at the desinated time. The menu instruction stated that each guest can only order 2 drinks and 1 entree. Because we thought we should not be punished by the fact that there are only two of us and the variety of the breakfast is suffered, I asked the staff to see if we can order more for free. She said we can order whatever we want at any quantity. Therefore, we did order more than what was instructed on the menu (but not overly) . In the morning, what we ordered was delivered, which is good. However, for the second morning, we're specifically required to only order 2 drinks and 1 entree for each person'; if we order more, they will charge to our account. We just did not like the inconsistency. The buffet breakfast is supposed to be ALL YOU CAN EAT, but today it is just because we're the only guests, so we could only order a limited amount of food. On the third day, when we checked out, it was the owner that is checking out for us. My husband asked him if anything other than the room rate was charged, and he did say yes, the food. If my husband did not bring up the question, we will not know that he charged the food we ordered for the first morning which is promised by his staff to be free. Although after our complaint, the owner did remove the charge, we still did not fee comfortable about this.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hsuxx064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myles D, Owner at Bay Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Hello there,

We pride ourselves on personal service and do our best to meet every request, so please accept our apologies if your experience was not up to standard. In the off-season, we simply can't provide a full breakfast buffet on mornings when we only have one guest, as it would create a lot of wasted food. Instead we offer alternatives, such as breakfast in your suite, catered to your requests. In this case it seems that myself or another member of the staff mistakenly billed you for the service, and I'm glad you caught it and we were able to rectify the situation.

I hope you had a wonderful stay regardless and were able to take advantage of the view, the suite, and our other amenities, and we hope to see you again in Door County!

Best,
Myles Dannhausen
Owner, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
1.0 km away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
219 reviews
0.1 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
406 reviews
0.4 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
240 reviews
14.2 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
806 reviews
6.9 km away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Point Inn

Address: 7933 State Highway 42, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Egg Harbor
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular water views dotted by Egg Harbor and the islands of Green Bay, secluded by the woods atop the bluff of the Niagara Escarpment. Each modern one-bedroom unit includes amazing king beds, patio or balcony, comfortable furnishings, full kitchens, and beautiful decor. Spacious remodeled bathrooms include hydro-massage whirlpool bathtubs and Italian porcelain tile. All of this set amidst gorgeous gardens, with an outdoor patio with grills and a pool overlooking the bay. Mornings include a gourmet home-cooked continental breakfast in the lounge, with seasonal items fresh from our garden. The Bay Point Inn is the perfect romantic retreat or getaway for couples and small families seeking a relaxing getaway that's in the heart of the best of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Point Hotel Egg Harbor
Bay Point Inn Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing